Ratings based on 4,499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not 4 ⭐️

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Free wifi for guests
Formerly an office block converted into a hotel! On the plus side. Good location easy to walk up to Madison Ave, Lexington, 5th etc. Pleasant staff. On the down side RIDICULOUSLY noisy air conditioning you could not sleep through this in the summer when you would really need it. Paper thin walls, you can hear you neighbours thinking. Awful and tired decor. I mean black crocodile skin lined elevators. Awful like walking into a morgue. NO FREE WIFI,! What century are you guys in. Not only that but they charge per device and NOT even per room. The bar is small and way overpriced! And don't even think of eating in the restaurant overpriced rubbish. In Europe this would be a two star boardering 3. I have stayed in better premier inns.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A little too far

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Nice interior
Cons: Staff training.
Location: The hotel is a little walk from the subway lines, so you do find that it can take a little longer than you might expect to get around
The hotel is relatively nice, but a little off the beaten track for easy access around the island. I had a problem whereby the iron in the room made two of my white shirts dirty when using the steam function. Admittedly, I foolishly went to iron a 2nd shirt after being uncertain whether it had actually been the iron in the first instance. When I complained to the counter, the manager seemed more inclined to have that view that on my first day in New York, from Scotland, that I had already had stains on the shirt and was out to swindle them. I quote "how do we know they weren't like that already". I invited her to come to the room and use the iron, which she declined but said somebody would investigate the iron. When I returned later that evening the iron was gone. A day or two later it (or a new one) returned but with no note about contacting the desk etc. I raised it upon leaving, with no notes on my account and a half hearted apology from that reception staff covering that day. I never had time to press the issue, I was getting up early to leave. I was extremely disappointed with the customer service and the natural inclination of the staff to assume that somehow I had schemed some elaborate swindle to get a free shirt. I think an offer to dry clean the two shirts and replace the iron was all that was necessary. I was on holiday and chasing up the reception desk for a response around this wasn't in any way what I was going to do. I wouldn't return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thin walls

Posted Feb 1, 2016
The main issue with the hotel is there is no sound proofing. You can hear EVERYTHING in the room next you as well as what's going on in the street. New York drivers honk about every second and you really need a hotel that has sound proofed walls. Although the hotel itself is clean, comfortable, and the staff are friendly, it's very difficult to sleep when you can hear people's conversations and all the street noise outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value, very nice staff

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: good value, good location clean and outstanding staff
Cons: some furniture needs to be updated
I stayed in the Bentley during the recent snow storm. The staff was accommodating and very nice. My room was clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay in this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great hotel with a view of the city and the bay!

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: I liked the location, the room and the convenience of the parking. The decoration was impressive and very much my taste!
Cons: It'll be great if they offered free wi-fi.
Location: It was convenient to my child's school and a block away from restaurants where I could get free wi-fi. I was only there for a short time.
The room was updated,clean and everything worked. It was within walking distance of some all-night diners, this came in handy when my daughter and myself arrived late at night to check her back into her dorm the next day, we were able to have a full meal before turning in for the night. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, very welcoming. I rented a car to take my daughter back to the university and worried about where I was going to park in Manhattan, that ended up not being an issue because there was 24-hour parking right under the hotel. I had a truly amazing experience and wished I was able to stay longer, no worries i will next time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: carpeting worn out
Location: nice clean area of the city
was ok - needs some upgrading or remodeling xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx would stay there again because of the staff xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect port in a storm

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Cons: We would have liked to have had a small refrigerator, a microwave, and free wi-fI. In this day and age, these amenities shouldn't cost extra.
We were staying at the Bentley when the blizzard of 2016 shut down the City. The staff was extremely helpful during our stay, and we would definitely return to the Bentley on our next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Flawed Room with a view

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Decent view from room if on top floor
Cons: the bathrooms need to be updated, the rooms need to be ready on time or close to. staff need to know what they are doing when billing
Location: Hotel was pretty far out of the way and probably need to take cab or bus to get to most attractions in the city
Excellent view from the room if your on the 20th floor and have a corner suite like we did. Decent size room and ok bed, but nothing special. Bathroom was small and not updated, did take a long time to get hot water and wasn't even that hot. Front desk staff not overly helpful as noticed they have processed the deposit instead of just putting a hold on my credit card, not big deal only $100 but still had to make sure they refunded it, not sure if they would have if i didn't mention. So watch your bill. Also was ready to check in for 3pm and lady at desk told us they were busy, would call us when room was ready, received no call, came back at 6pm and still room not ready had to wait another 30 min before room was ready. Overall ok experience but will try something else next time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

good hotel-Jan/2016

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Great staff, good room. Heat control not working properly, I let the staff know. It was never fixed. I stayed a week. Some furniture showed it's age. Overall I was pleased and would stay her again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Hotel room interior was old and dated. Not what I expected from a 4-star hotel.