Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham,NC

Great part of town, great hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Spacious apartments
Cons: The elevator can be slow at times but it is not unreasonable.
Location: Central park, restaurants on 2nd avenue, shopping on fifth avenue
Although the finish of the hotel is not trendy or 5 star , the size of the apartment more than compensates for this. We loved it. A full size kitchen with a dish washer , a LR approx. 15x18 with a separate bedroom the size of most other hotel rooms. There is construction occurring on a building behind the hotel but , I did not find it to be intrusive. The breakfast is great and I look forward to staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Rob, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest recently. We appreciate you taking the time to complete the survey regarding your recent experience at our hotel. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey, for your patronage and your kind consideration. Warmest Regards, Robert
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from athens, ga

Amazing deal! Large space

Posted Mar 11, 2017
This hotel was such a great deal. 10 minute walk to Times Square and very close to grand central. The room was perfect, with plenty of space to relax. The staff was amazing. They even had free breakfast and checked our bags in early. Only complaint was that we sometimes had to swipe the key 6+ times before it would work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Rob, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay with us and for your review of our hotel. We are working on improving our key system replacing all the equipment that reads and programs the cards. We hope to see you again in the future. It was an honor to serve you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, England

Apartment style suite close to everything

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Location and price, a lot of added value
Location: Very close to most amenities and attractions. Everything is in walking distance e.g. Chrysler Building, Grand Central, Time Square.
Our hotel suite was larger than an average UK one bedroom flat. It even had a fully equipped kitchen. Complimentary basket of snacks and coffee as well as a daily newspaper. The hotel is unusually in that it offers breakfast included in the room rate. This is a real bonus. Also there are only four suites per floor so no noise from other guests. The staff were excellent and very friendly, if you didn' want to eat in the breakfast room it was no problem to take food to your room. The only potential downside was the noise from a construction site behind the hotel, it didn't bother us as we were out all day
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2017 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and review of our hotel. We are glad you liked the hotel. We will use your commnets to make improvements as mentioned about the fruit. We hope to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochdale

Daughter's 21st

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Stayed for 4 nights, staff excellent can't do enough for you, reception staff very helpful, breakfast staff went the extra mile especially Anthony who got my daughter some chocolates and a card when he found out it was her 21st, rooms huge especially for New York but lovely and clean and spacious and if anything too hot, we knew about construction site next door and didn't find it too bad overall will definitely use this hotel again
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and feedback. Happy Birthday! We are glad you had a nice experience. We hope you return one day soon. Warmest Regards, Robert
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Great location

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: Great location and room size, lovely breakfast and great selection of toiletries!
Cons: Rooms could do with a new lick of paint and bathrooms updated.
Location: We took bus from Newark airport and hotel was under 10 minutes walk away from drop off which only cost us $58 round trip
Excellent location, we were given a two bedroom suite which was massive! Complimentary breakfast was brilliant with really good selection. Would not hesitate to return, my only other comment would be that the rooms could do with freshening up but it was clean and that was the main thing. Hope to return next year with my family for son's 21st birthday as this suite was idea for families. Thank you Best Western for most enjoyable stay!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2017 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay with us and your feedback. We use that to improve. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and will return for the 21st birthday celebration! We look forward to being part of those festivities! We are constantly refreshing our furniture and rooms. This month we are ordering all new sofa beds for example and redoing ten wood floors. Soon we will be replacing kitchen floors as well. Last year we added stone countertops and renovated all the bathrooms. Just as an example. Thank you again! We look forward to seeing you next year! Warmest Regards, Robert
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bel Air, Md

Very nice!

Posted Jan 14, 2017
The gentleman who was staffing breakfast was AWESOME...So friendly, and was so helpful to all the guests...a great example of customer service done excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Rob, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay with us and for taking the time to post this good review. We will thank Anthony for his service to you. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Comfortable!

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Best Western was clean, spacious and breakfast had many options. It was snowy & 19 degrees the day we checked in. We we were extremely happy to find our room was warm & comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and stay with us. We appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WARNING - MAJOR LOUD CONSTRUCTION SITE NEXT DOOR!

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
I travel about 100 nights per year and have experienced virtually every type of hotel and situation imaginable. This is the worse experience in memory. The hotel itself is nice, but it's located next door to a huge construction site that starts up at 7am (see photo - taken from my bed). If waking to a chainsaw 25ft away is your thing, stay here. To make matters worse, this hotel has radiators which are not controllable, and the room is about 80+ degrees (windows can not be opened). The breakfast is terrible (eggs are so hard I managed to break my plastic fork trying to pierce one). Cable TV service was intermittent (down for 24 hours, spotty after it came back). And I learned it was impossible to change rooms or terminate my stay because it was prepaid. Hotels.com should remove this site from its listings and as a longtime loyal customer with GOLD status I feel duped and reluctant to book through this website again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
First and foremost, I must express our sincerest apologies for the neighboring construction noise. We appreciate your business and feedback. I am sorry your experience was not as enjoyable as it could have been had the neighboring construction not been taking place. The situation is not something we wished for either. We do hope you would return one day when the construction is completed. It is an unfortunate circumstance and by product of visiting such a vibrant and ever evolving city such as ours that construction can be ill timed to coincide with your visit. It seems our entire city is in an unprecedented period of growth and expansion of late. There are new buildings going up on almost every street it seems when walking around NYC recently. Part of what makes NYC great is that it is always changing and growing but be that as it may it also can come with some undesirable disruptions. I wish there was more we could have done to lessen your discomfort than we already did do but their project is something we have no control over. People that live here are also subject to it during the day. Please understand that this is something totally our of the hotels control or doing, is off property and has to do with a neighbor. We would hate to lose you as a customer for something we could not stop or have any say over, as a result. When we first became aware of that the construction would commence we posted to all agencies including Expedia and on our own website. We posted that work was ongoing. We also installed noise reduction windows at great expense to the hotel once we became aware in all of our facing windows. Their work meets all state and local regulation. Again we have done all we can to minimize the effect, double glass noise reduction windows and we made full disclosure to all reservation channels about it. I don’t believe we could have done more to alleviate the disruption to our guests. Our windows do open and our radiators can be adjusted to suit upon request. Had we known we could have taken care of those items and even perhaps moved you away from the nearby construction. We have a centralized heating system that can be adjusted by our engineer had we been aware that you were hot in the apartment. Again we are truly sorry for your experience. We hope that perhaps you would re consider staying with us again. Warmest Regards, Robert Gaeta
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lad in charge of breakfast room is very pleasant.

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
At the moment area beside the hotel is very noisy because of building work being carried out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for your stay with us. It was nice to read about Anthony at the breakfast.. Thank you for the four stars! I apologize for the outside construction. We have no control over that. They meet all regulations and it is common in NYC to have new buildings being erected in the various neighborhoods. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again one day soon. Happy New Years. Warm Regards, Robert