Ratings based on 404 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from .

Overall good.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Nice, quiet, clean. Close to Subway transaction. Cold air conditioning. Don't use computer in lobby for printing. It is a rip off and not part of hotel. Printer doesn't work and there is nothing letting you know ahead of time. You are charged per minutes used.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Staff were very impatient .. the toilet in the room was clogged and wasn't fixed even after reporting twice .. the elevator got stuck and opened the door on a brick wall ! The rooms were decent and clean
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wannabe Hostel done WRONG

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Location I guess?
Cons: Everything. For startes, add bunk beds, figure out the bathroom situation... if you want to turn it into a hostel,do it right
"Just take whichever bed available" said the guy on the front desk, and up I went (sloooowly). When I entered the room I've found 3 beds, and rolling beds coming from under them. The room was small and there was barely any room for walking. All the beds were taken. I was lucky that there was another bed somewhat hidden that nobody saw/took before and had some privacy. The thing is, the room wasn't tiny, but the beds and people's belongings were taking all the floor space. This hotel is clearly a former Hotel that is being used as a Hostel... In the wrong way. I don't have a problem with hostels, I use them all the time, so that's why I've booked although I've seen some reviews mentioning the shared space. But... Hostels have BUNK beds, not rolling ones. Many also have lockers... you know... for safety?. And they have big common bathrooms. This was 1 in-room bathroom for 7 people. 7 WOMEN. There was barely any power outlets available for them (nearby my bed I had plenty, but again, pure luck) I've booked this hotel to use some Expedia credit that I had available, otherwise I'd be very mad I've spent my money here. I would never go back or recommend this hotel, it was terrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from providence

Just a really nice place

Posted May 29, 2017
Nice room, interesting neighborhood. A bit too far from Times Square so you should supply a subway map to explain which lines go where. Otherwise I had a wonderful experience and definitely would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Adorable hotel close to up and coming neighborhood

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, friendly staff, centrally located.
Cons: Nothing, great stay!
Everything was so cute about this hotel. Upon arrival, there is a nice cafe located in the lobby. The staff was extremely accommodating to my request to not be in a bunk bed. They were able to move me to another room in the hotel. The room I stayed in had a very clean bathroom, tons of space, and a very comfortable bed. Very quiet as well. Close to the hotel there is a ton of cute bars and restaurants, walking distance to Chinatown to explore, and a quick jaunt to the closest pharmacy and subway stop. I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good inexpensive option for single traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Convenient
Cons: soundproof windows
I was there for bike NY, and just wanted a clean convenient place to sleep the night before the ride. Nice location on lower east side. Clean and comfortable. I stayed in a bunk room and it satisfied my expectations. My only negative comment is that there is a very loud nightspot just outside the bunk room, and the pounding beat kept going into the early morning hours.
4 out of 5
by Claude

nice stay

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was clean and a quiet yet close to all amenities.
4 out of 5
by Deborah

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
We again enjoyed our stay at Blue Moon. The room was a bit hot and we had to open the windows but overall it was fine!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Blue Moon was not what I thought

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
This was not what I expected. The lobby is a coffee shop. We could not check in before 3p and there was no secure place to store our bags. We just left them in the corner of the back room. I did n't feel very safe about that. They charge a $100 deposit that will not be refunded for 5-10 business days. They charge 50 dollars for each additional person so make sure when you reserve- you put the number of people that will be staying in the room. No glasses or cups of any kind could be found in the room. The windows had no screens on them. The noise from the street was horrific- honking until 3:30am. Just a sketchy experience all the way around.
4 out of 5
by Michael j

A lovely hotel in a vibrant neighbourhood

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
We checked in late on a Thursday night and the desk staff, while not overly cordial, was pleasant and efficient. The room was lovely and very clean. We had a view of One World Trade Center. The bathroom had period decor but modern plumbing and was very clean. The beds were quite comfortable and the duvets were very plush. Even though we were on the street side of the property, the room was very quiet and we slept like rocks. The front desk also recommended an overnight parking facility just two blocks away. We would definitely stay here again.