Ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

WORST HOTEL!!!!!

Posted Feb 10, 2017
After I checked in I got a room on floor 7th and the guy told me the elevator was out of service. I asked for a room at least on the second floor because I was with my mom that has her medical conditions and her service dog. The guy said there was "nothing" available, but the elevator were gonna get fix the next day. They had a sign on every floor which it looks it's been out of service for a while. Rooms are very hot, the mini fan doesnt help at all. Beds are worst that sleeping on the floor. Rooms dont have TVs or refrigerator. Bathrooms are share with everyone else on the same floor which it's very unsanitary and they are very dirty. We ended up leaving before we were supposed to because my mom wasn't feeling well specially going up and down they knowing she was sick they didn't care. It was a waste of money and a really bad experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but noisy

Posted Feb 9, 2017
The hotel location was good,very close to the university and the central park.We stay there for 3 nights.The day when we arrived we are informed that the elevate is not working and our room is at six floor. It's ok. We understand that.But as it close to the street,the night is very noisy and we couldn't sleep well. The heater is so high and we feel like that we are almost dried out.Sick after the first night stay at the hotel.Terrible. For a budget stay,it's ok.Not recommend for long stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Good location and price

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Price, location, staff
Cons: Lift was out of service
Location: Close to trains and central park
Had everything we needed. Nice room and staff were good
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Cheap hostel

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Facilities are not good but enough to live so if you want to pay less for your stay it is good hostel. Room is so small and dark, a lot of bathrooms are available on hallway but most of them are not clean or too old. Sometimes hot water is WHITE. They said that is usual so if it is usual for you too it's ok. Sometimes they put man and woman together in the room (2 beds) so I recommend you to make sure your room is for women or not if you don't want it.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Close to transportation

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Hotel was OK. Rooms could be better. Broken down elevator.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, clean rooms, heating issues

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: perfect location helpful staff clean rooms and bathrooms
Cons: There cannot be periods without heating in January! The elevator should be fixed if they provided rooms up to 7 floors.
Location: The hostel is very close to Central Park and the subway is near. It takes you only about 20 minutes to get to Times Square. The neighbour seemed safe.
The hostel had a great location and provided clean rooms and bathrooms. The staff was excellent. There were smaller inconveniences - like an elevator constantly out of order when you were staying on the 7th floor - but the only real problem we had to face was the lack of heating during two nights of the six we spent there (January). That was very unpleasant indeed. Nevertheless, in exchange for the uniquely low price in NYC it was bearable. We would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Nice staff, everything was great except for the heater not working one night. They even offered to hold my suitcase until my flight.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Budget hotel, nothing more.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
I booked what I thought was a private room which turned out to be a shared room. The staff were extremely helpful and accomodating however the room was tiny and the radiator was extremely hot and uncomfortable. The bathrooms were clean on occasion but not always. If you are fine with sleeping in a room with random strangers and having anxiety about your belongings being left there during the day, then it's fine and very very cheap.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Great for what we wanted

Posted Jan 7, 2017
The hostel itself was fine, rooms clean enough, bathrooms we're a bit grim, staff really helpful and friendly. The only complaint that I have is regarding our actual booking, we booked through e pedi a and when we arrived were told that we had only been booked for 1 person so would have to pay double, my email confirmation said 2 people and had a price breakdown. The lady on reception was really nice & phoned her manager who offered us $20 a night discount off the full price (not our booking price) but after tax it worked out about $6 less per night, if we had been able to book elsewhere for similar we would have moved but we didn't really have much choice! Paying double wasn't obviously something we budgeted for and for something that wasn't our fault at all...we felt because they knew we wouldn't be able to get anything else we wouldn't have a choice but to pay up, when really our booking price should have been honoured.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Awesome Stay

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: the staff and location
Cons: maybe a little updating of the building
Location: great location in Manhattan
This a great first experience at a hostel.. This was the best experience I could have had for the first time I've ever stayed in a hostel. The place, staff and location were awesome. And right in the middle of Manhattan!!! KUDOS to everyone at the Broadway Hotel and Hostel. We'll come back to see ya!! Thank you so very much.