Ratings based on 2,280 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from København

Dårligt familie værelse og uacceptabel morgenmad

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Et familie værelse til en familie på fire kan absolut ikke anbefales. Værelserne er ganske enkelt for små og i øvrigt nedslidte og dårligt placeret på hotellet (op af elevatorerne eller i den fjerneste og mørkeste del af hotellet). Værelset var booket inklusiv morgenmaden og var dermed en del af prisen, men det skal man undlade, idet morgenmaden har et uacceptabelt lavt niveau. Så spis i stedet morgenmad ude i byen. Fandt halvspist ulækker gammel pizza i køleskabet på værelset.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by M Sooklal, Hotel Management
Dear Nils, apologies for the pizza in the fridge. We do offer a larger suite which would accommodate a family of four better. Thanks for your review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Anniversary Trip

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The location, the quality of the finishings, the comfort of the room and the bed, and service.
My wife and I visited NYC for our anniversary, and wanted a comfortable, convenient hotel that would also function as a bit of pampering as well without breaking the bank. The Carlton fit the bill perfectly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Mid-town; close to everything

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Great location; quiet rooms; free Wi-Fi that was fast.
Location: Times Square; Empire State Building; Korea Town; Byblos Restaurant (Lebanese cuisine)
- Great check-in experience (Phil); front desk staff were polite, professional and attentive to needs. - Room was clean and quiet. No street noise; didn't hear our neighbors. - Hotel is centrally located; 5 minutes' walk (2 blocks) to the subway and within 20 minutes of many attractions, restaurants, and within 10-15 minutes walk of Empire State Building and 20 minutes' walk to Times' Square ( 5 minutes' subway ride). - Concierge staff (Mike) were knowledgeable and helpful; called me back within a day of my leaving a voicemail message before my stay. - Free coffee and tea in the business lounge; nothing fancy but convenient and much appreciated. - The free guest Wi-Fi was fast and the signal strength strong. Much better than a lot of hotel Wi-Fi I have experienced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Very safe, comfortable and affordable. I loved the autograph aspect - that it is an old hotel built in 1902, but has been enhanced, but kept a lot of the old features - loved the old marble staircases. Hallways creepy and cool!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dejligt hotel, ligger centralt

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Beliggenhed, super serviceminded personale
Mødte et super service minded personale, hotellet ligger dejligt centralt med let adgang til spisesteder
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hartford

Quality hotel in Manhattan on Madison Ave.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The room was smaller than I expected. However, it was modern with a nice flat screen. The staff provided excellent customer service and was also helpful when I needed directions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ny

I've been staying here for over 10-15 years.

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The hotel has not changed in all this time. Wires with no smoke alarm hanging from ceiling. Wall paper peeling off walls, wood work in room and halls banged up, carpet stained. Staff is casual. Bellmen not dressed in uniform. Front door men having conversations with friends, taking time out for a moment to open the door for you. Used to be classy. Bills it self as a boutique hotel. I've stayed in chains & boutiques in NY for 26 years. This hotel is on the down side of the hill. Needs a physical make over with new management DESPARATELY
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by M Sooklal, Hotel Management
Dear Chris, thanks for your review. I will share your comments with our doorman team as this is something that is very disappointing to read. The hotel will undergo a full renovation later this year which will address the conditional issues your mentioned. Hopefully we will welcome you back once completed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Hotel staff very nice and accommodating. For the price in NYC it was defintely worth it. Rooms clean and up to date and good size room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Bon séjour

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Nous avons passé un bon moment, la chambre était agréable et jolie. Seul bémol les fenêtres sont mal insonorisées! La dernière nuit le réveil était brutal avec une alarme incendie et des hauts parleurs à fond on a faillit faire une crise cardiaque ! Le personnel n'est pas super sympathique mais ça va ! Le breakfast compris aurait été cool pour une chambre a 200€ la nuit ....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in NYC

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
The Carlton is my favorite place to stay in NY. Close to everything I need, excellent service and the beds are extremely comfortable.