Ratings based on 2,409 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under Construction

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Hotel is undergoing rennovation, so I was woken up by jack hammers every morning. It's NYC, so I expect to hear jack hammers, just not inside the hotel. They've tried to update the rooms, but everything has a problem. The desk was chipped up, the decorative pillows were threadbare, the valance above the TV was broken and askew, the mini fridge cabinet was broken and crooked, etc etc etc. There was a little something wrong with everything. There were weird noises in the night. The heating and cooling in my room made a loud bang when it shut off, which woke me up a few times in the night. Staff was super nice and friendly. I didn't see any rats or bed bugs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Poor quality, smelly furniture

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The location is great.
The hotel is in a very convenient location and has high ratings on Expedia. What could go wrong with this? The problem is that the interior of the hotel is very outdated. You can see that from the reception area, from the cracked fake leather panels, to the very dirty carpet in the hotel's hallways, and the faded mirrors in elevators. Worse however was the furniture in our hotel room. The couch and armchairs had a persistent smell, and looked really dirty. Every time I wanted to sit I'd cringe and put a towel under me. Even so I got some rashes on my skin, likely caused by the dirty couch or the armchairs. They are supposedly renovating the hotel, and as a result they didn't serve breakfast. No biggie since you're in NYC and there are plenty of good places to eat around. Still, very inconvenient, especially in the middle of the winter when you need to bundle up before you go for breakfast. The room however didn't have a coffee maker or anything else really besides the very expensive snacks and drinks. I've stayed in a lot of places around the world, in rooms ranging from inexpensive to very expensive ones. For the price you pay you can do a lot better. Even inexpensive ones offered better conditions and accommodations than this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Good location

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location - have family that lives in Brooklyn... short walk to Union Square to catch the L Line.
Cons: Update bathrooms / water pressure, etc.
The hotel is located in a nice location... unfortunately during our stay it was under construction. Nothing on Expedia indicated that at reservation... no bar area, fitness, or restaurant available. Rooms was just okay... it is clean but bathrooms need updated. Probably worth spending extra money and upgrading to an alternate location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Way too loud, no amenities

Posted Feb 26, 2017
It sounded like I was sleeping directly outside on Madison Avenue, the windows were so thin and I had to get earplugs to get through any of the nights. Also, the gym, bar and restaurant were all closed, and there was no breakfast, just a small coffee machine near the entrance. For the price, I've stayed at many nicer places with more to offer and quiet rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Was good nice hotel and staff are nice too .............
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Not as expected

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Hotel is within walking distance from train station and other points of interest.
Cons: Rooms need updating. No coffee machines in rooms.
Location: Close to train station, Empire State Building and shopping.
The pictures of this hotel online were deceiving, beginning with the lobby, which was much smaller than expected. I wasn't aware that the hotel was going through renovations. There was no lobby bar, restaurant, or gym, which made our stay disappointing. The rooms didn't look like the pictures. They were very outdated, and the curtains and walls were slightly stained. On the positive side, the room size was ok and the bed was comfortable. Hotel staff was friendly. However, there's lots to be done. May or may not come back after renovation.
3 out of 5
by siobhan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boca raton fl

Not a luxury hotel - middle of the road $150/night

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: double bedroom was large, cleaning staff did well
Cons: everything could be improved - chipped paint everywhere, upgrades needed This hotel is just really really small
Location: near madison square garden
This hotel is worth about $150 a night for NY. It needs upgrades. It is super small. The restaurant, gym and everything was closed for renovation (but also super small). The one or two people at the front desk staff are way understaffed and they are the jack of all trades. If you call room service, it is them. If you need anything, it is them. I would only go here if you are on a budget. I had already booked a hotel part of the autograph collection in Europe and now that I stayed here - I want to change the reservation because this is a middle of the road hotel with middle of the road service. Pictures on the site are very deceiving. This is not a luxury hotel at all.
5 out of 5
by victoria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not recommend

Posted Jan 18, 2017
I was quite shocked that this hotel had a 4 diamond ranking because it does not live up to the expectation. The location was good, close to ktown and easy access to metro and the lobby is super pretty. When I walked in i was like this is going to be a great experience. But the staffs were wearing casual clothing, the rooms are really small and the facilities are ancient. The heater in my room could not be turned off and the bathroom has a tiny mirror, tiny sink and a tiny shower space. I was told that it would have a river view but there was nothing. The experience was just not very pleasant.