Ratings based on 708 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Everything was fine and spent great days. Only the issue was a little bit cold room, however, when I told it to the front, they brought a heater and it worked pretty well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Perfect!

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Perfect location and perfect price right in the heart of it all! So easy to get anywhere in NYC from this hotel. The breakfast and wine and cheese in the evenings were an added bonus that you won't find too many places. It feels like you are staying in someone's home. Rooms and bathrooms are small, but that has never been of concern to me. Rooms are clean and charming. Staff is friendly and helpful. I will stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Excellent customer service

Posted Jan 25, 2017
This hotel is superb! Having been to NYC 4 times this is by far the best I've experienced! Great room, great location and excellent customer service. I will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: It's central location and that it was small and personal
Cons: Paid for a deluxe room, which we were a little disappointed with, very small for 5*, and a little dusty - we didn't complain however, so not that bad!
Location: Ideal for Times Square, Grand Central etc. Catch a bus tour which gives more interesting facts, but remember to hop on & off to explore more of NY
The Casablanca is in a prime location and is extremely central to most attractions. The hotel staff are exceptionally friendly and nothing is too much trouble for you. The cheese and wine each evening is a lovely touch as is having a buffet breakfast on offer each morning before a heavy day of sight seeing. I could not say anything negative about the staff or hotel it has such character and on a Friday night has the film Casablanca playing in the lounge with a piano player - perfect. Thank you for such a great 4 night break, would high recommend it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to Times Square

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: ..
Cons: ..
Location: ..
We felt very comfortable ------------------------------
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again!

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Location and friendliness of staff
Cons: see above
Positives - great if you want to be right at Times Square, Very friendly staff and clean and cozy inside Negatives - Street noise is prevalent all night, no view of the outside. There was fabric covering the window from outside, solitary confinement comes to mind....lastly, small old radiator to heat room and it just could not do it....Hotel must be aware of these issues as they make sure to tell you they have ear plugs and portable heaters upon request...no joke! In 2016, this is inconceivable...oh well, live and learn!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by John Taboada, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We were all so sorry to hear about your experience. We strive to make everyone's stay special, and we thank you for the compliments about our staff, as their aim is to ensure each guest’s satisfaction . Regretfully, there were several circumstances that diminished your experience, some within our control and others outside our control. We welcome thousands of guests to our little hotel each year; however, everyone’s tolerance to noise is different and to ensure the comfort of everyone, we offer a multitude of sleep aides within our Escape to Serenity Program to equip our to assist those who are having difficulty adjusting to the hum of Times Square. The majority of our guests experience no difficulty but for those like yourself, we offer we offer earplugs, Sound Machines and the SleepPhones system designed by a Doctor to block environmental noises while helping travelers fall asleep naturally. Room temperature like noise, again depends on the individual, some find our rooms to cold, others too warm and the majority, find the temperature just right. This is why we offer space heaters and fans to achieve that Goldilocks zone of comfort. Did you alert our guest service team to allow us the opportunity to correct any of the issues you described? Indeed we face many challenges as our hotel was constructed over 100 years ago before the advent of modern HVAC systems. Because of the many positive reviews we receive on review websites like Expedia and Tripadvisor we seem to be succeeding at satisfying the majority of our guests and for those who may not be entirely happy, we ask that you to give us the opportunity to correct anything that may be amiss, as my staff and I are available 24/7. I would enjoy the opportunity to discuss your individual concerns personally. I hope to have the pleasure of speaking with you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Lovely hotel and right next to Times Square!

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean room and the extras!
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location is perfect!!! Its near EVERYTHING.
My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Casablanca! We were greeted by very friendly staff at the door and the desk. Our room was lovely. The complimentary breakfast was very nice. As an added bonus there was coffee, tea, juice and cookies offered in the afternoon AND wine and cheese at happy hour! This was a very special place and will now be our first choice of places to stay in NYC! And the location? Couldn't be better! I highly HIGHLY recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Times Square

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Excellent hotel, attentive professional staff at all levels! Substantial breakfast to set you up for the day and excellent cheese and wine reception on an evening! Close to Times Square!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location

Posted Dec 27, 2016
This hotel was in a fantastic location, only a few steps away from Times Square. The staff were very helpful, the breakfast set us up for the day and the wine and cheese offered in the evenings was lovely. I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort and Good location

Posted Dec 27, 2016
The hotel design is tailored for the tourists with the style: 1 The hotel located at the central position, where you are easy to access everything, eg. Shopping, Ice-Skating, Transportation, Broadway for the shows during the evening. You can maximise your time spending jnNew York. 2. The hote offers free breakfast and evening drinks, which is so handy - have the breakfast before heading out and unwind your excitement of wholeday activity by having a couple of tea/coffee before the bed. 3. The room settings are comfortable and staffs are friendly. We enjoyed the stay and will book the hotel next time return to New York.