Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Good choice with kids or long stay

Posted Feb 1, 2010
Rooms are we equipped and comfortable. Kitchen had basic dishes and cooking equipment. Nice TV & Stereo. Lots of space for NYC. Very convenient location 1 block from the subway and central park. If you have kids, there is a playground 1/2 block away. Rooms could use a fresh coat of paint. They need to enforce that no smoking rule. The 3rd floor guests seemed to be ignoring it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

not clean no hot water

Posted Dec 10, 2009
We were able to check in 2 hours early, but that was perhaps a mistake. Our unit was 4R, no elevator, and the bathroom had clumps (not a few strays) of hair on the floor and in the shower. I am not a complainer, so I NEVER write bad reviews, but I had to in this case. The folks we met and talked to were very nice and accommodating, but I don't think they finished cleaning the bathroom before letting us in. Linens were clean, room was spacious with a fold out sofa and ottoman, but the sofa sloped downhill with a a bar in the middle. Water was never more than lukewarm. Number to call for off hours service was blacked out on phone. We were only there one night, over a holiday, so we didn't bother. Location is safe and quiet, convenient to the park and restaurants on Columbus Ave. If the bathroom had been clean, I could have managed all the rest. Others in my party were not so forgiving.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not fancy, but the best deal for the location.

Posted Dec 7, 2009 on Hotels
Our family of four stayed at this hotel for a couple of days. Here is what I liked about the hotel stay: -hotel room was spacious like an apartment (separate one bedroom and living room with pull out couch) -the room had a kitchen (fridge, microwave, stovetop) complete with plates, cups & glasses, pots & pans, silverware & cooking utensils, coffee maker and cleaning products. -the hotel was a stones throw away from central park (great for going to the zoo, ice skating, carousel, park theatre etc) -Across the park is 5th Ave-Broadway and Times Square not too far away either -the hotel was two blocks from the Natural Museum of History & Hayden Planetarium) -convenient if traveling around by subway (take the 81/Museum on B or C line) -Television with built in surround sound in ceiling Apart with our general satisfaction with the hotel, there were a few things that I did not like: -The heat/fan was on all the time and could not control -The room did not feel clean and smelled like smoke when we got there -No staff or housekeeping onsite (unless staying for more than 5 days you will get housekeeping)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great Location

Posted Nov 11, 2009 on Hotels
I stayed here with my wife and kids. We enjoyed being close to the park and the UWS neighborhood is vibrant and full of great retail, food, and amenities. I would recommend this option to friends and would definitely look to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Loved My NYC Apartment

Posted Oct 23, 2009
I was a little concerned after reading the negative reviews, but I really enjoyed staying at the Central Park House. It's true, there's no onsite staff, but I had no trouble being "buzzed" into the building & using the keypad & finding the key. The room was clean, modern, & friendly. We had plenty of towels, although I brought a set of my own after reading all the complaints about "too thin" towels. My daughter used the CPH's towels. The master bedroom was nice. The mattress was pretty thin and we had trouble opening the 2 sleepers - couch & chair - in the living room; but after all the rushing around we did in NYC, we were dead tired & had no trouble "hitting the sack" & sleeping well. The 1st nite I was a little nervous because there was no chain latch on the door, but after an incident free nite, I was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York

Happy efficiency

Posted Oct 18, 2009
I really liked this affordable townhouse apt. It is in a great convient location. Near affordable shops and museum and a planetarium. There is a great space with full access for dining and cooking. Great place in the wash area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Place.

Posted Sep 14, 2009
I had an express check in, nothing to complicated. The room was large, and beautiful. Very clean, the staff via intercom was very helpful. I would be looking forward to another stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Sep 4, 2009 on Hotels
Great hotel and great location! It's right next to a metro station and a supermarked! The only thing that needs to improve is the bed in the living room, so if you stay more than two people in 'The Central Park House' bring a air mattress if you want a good night sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Home Away From Home!

Posted Jul 30, 2009
I must say I had a very beautiful experience! The check in was EXPRESS, very quick and simple. This location was very convenient, close to the Shops at Columbus Circle, Fifth Avenue and Lincoln Centre. I had no problems, everything was working great. My room was very big, and properly cleaned. This will not be my last time visiting this great property!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Well-traveled from Boston

Great location near Central Park and Museums

Posted Jul 15, 2009
It was nice to feel as if we were 'residents', not hotel guests...the downside - we saw no one during the whole of our 4-day stay, and the only contact with any type of 'help' was through the door intercom...Our stereo system didn't work, which was a shame, and neither did the microwave oven...! We didn't bother reporting this as it seemed too complicated via the intercom...Also, nowhere to leave luggage later than 2pm on check-out - and we had a train at 7pm, so we had to lug around our suitcases all afternoon. The intercom guy did allow us to leave luggage in the room until 2.30 pm when pressed,even though when we came back to remove it, it was obvious no one was coming in after us that day, as no room service had been done at all...They have been could be a bit flexible in that case...Having said that, we were able to put our suitcases in the room on our arrival day before the check-in time of 3 pm (they gave us access to leave the bags at 11 am)...so we can't complain too much! They were also a bit tight with the towels - we had only one small one per person...