Ratings based on 2,194 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Great location, very clean, nice staff, subway in front
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from DFW, Texas

Nice hotel for the cost with a good location.

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Pros: The amazing free breakfast. Best I have ever had.
Cons: Adding microwaves to the rooms and maybe reworking the furniture so there is room for two people to sit down and work on laptops.
Location: Easy access to the New York subway system means everything is effectively nearby, but there are quite a few delicious food places nearby with delivery
The Chelsea Savoy is a nice hotel. Not opulent but not bad either. The accommodations were about the size I would expect to see in a reasonably priced hotel in a place where there isn't a huge premium put on space like Texas or Mississippi which I believe makes it downright luxurious in downtown Manhattan. Also the bagels and muffins they had were the best free breakfast I have ever had at a hotel ever. They are both huge and delicious. Obviously fresh pastries provided at no additional charge every morning definitely was a huge plus. I actually looked forward to breakfast every morning. The only real downsides were that there was only one place to really set up a laptop so either me or my wife could use one at any given time in comfort and the street was so close to the building that you could hear all the noises of the city clear as day while trying to sleep. That said, we had no problem sleeping. I'm not sure if that is because we exhausted ourselves every day or that the noise just kinda blended in together after a while and we could ignore it. Also while the hotel had a mini fridge in each room, a microwave would have been a very welcome addition so we could easily heat up leftovers. The staff at the front desk were always very willing to answer stupid tourist questions and were very friendly. They even got us an extra blanket. Given the need to go back to Manhattan at some point, I would definitely consider going to the Chelsea Savoy again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Good hotel, nice location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Great price for good experience.
Cons: Nothing we needed.
Location: Great 24-hour breakfast spot, the Malibu Diner just down the block. Fabulous reasonably priced Persian dinner at Pars Restaurant a short walk away.
We arrived here when we needed an emergency place to stay. Wondered about the 2- star rating, but were very pleased with the size of the rooms, cleanliness, feeling in the halls, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Stranded in NYC

Posted Mar 16, 2017
We were stranded due to the storm so we had to find a hotel unexpectedly. The staff was very nice and the hotel was in a great area. Well worth the value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Quiet place good location

Posted Mar 15, 2017
The hotel was nice, there is a nearby subways, and a variety of stores around
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and location.
Cons: For our purposes, it was fine.
Location: There is an Irish Pub next door and a comedy club. It is a block away from Whole Foods, which was very convenient. Very close to the subway.
This hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was nice. It is located close to several convenient shops and restaurants. We were very pleased with our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for a place to sleep

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: convenient to Flatiron
Cons: Update finishes and furniture
Location: easy walk to Washington square and Flatiron area
Bed was comfortable, bathroom clean. Furniture a bit tired. Not a bad place to just sleep and shower
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Clean and convenient to shopping and restaurants. No frills. Great price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for Chelsea hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Clean, comfortable room accommodating staff and convenient Chelsea location = great value!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Well located, Manhattan oasis

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Personally, I like the convenience, location and simplicity.
Cons: While the hallways have been updated with new carpeting and fresh paint, the rooms I stayed in the last couple visits would benefit from same.
Location: As noted, everything is at your disposal but you feel like you're living in a neighborhood instead of a hi rise in midtown manhattan.
This hotel is located in NY's Chelsea neighborhood making it an easy walk to midtown as well as Greenwich village. Also, immediately outside its doors, you'll find an entrance to the subway. The Check-in process was smooth and very efficient and the staff was professional but also genuinely friendly. I have stayed at this lodging on more than one occasion and the Check-in process went equally well on each visit. My room was simply furnished but quiet. Coffee, tea, muffins and bagels were available each morning. Again, simple not elaborate or fancy in any way.