Ratings based on 1,692 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Excellent hotel with large and clean rooms

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Not a lot ... everything very satisfactory.
This is the second time I stayed at the Chelsea Hotel and it was again a very good experience. Having been used to postage stamp-sized rooms at various hotels around Manhattan, it was good to return to a room with plenty of space and, believe it or not, plenty of cupboard space - all at a very reasonable price, both for the size and condition of the room and the location. Reviews tend to emphasize how well-placed this hotel is to transport, and this is absolutely true - close to the 1 and E (the one to the airport) subways among many others. And easy walks to the Flat Iron district and of course south to the West Village, etc., as well as North to mid-town. But the room and the cooperative and friendly staff should also rate highly. The breakfast - included in the price - consists of coffee (always topped up by attentive staff) and a range of bagels and muffins, and a large dining area so that one can usually get a table. Only criticism would be that it would be nice to have some fruit, but there is an excellent delicatessen just down W23rd street in the direction of the Flat Iron. The room was cleaned well and bed clean and comfortable and, yes, again, space to put your suitcase(s) and to hang your clothes, and a spacious and modern bathroom. This would again be my first choice on my next visit to New York City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Breakfast was simple yet filling, the room was clean, the bathroom was modern, and our stay was stress-free! Will come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upstate NY

A great location: easy walk from Penn Station

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Staff, Location
Cons: Bed a little hard
Location: Highline, Chelsea Market, Penn Station
Great location for walking the West Side: Highline, Chelsea Market, Meatpacking District locals.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2016
next to the subway,good good ,except the air conditioner seems doesn't work
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great location and everything else was okay

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: location and price were the two things that we liked the best
Cons: The rooms were clean but boring. The shower curtain rod in the room was a damaged.
We came up for a conference during the MLK weekend. This hotel was just a couple of blocks away and the price was reasonable. The pictures showed the rooms to be clean. We gave it a try and in the end, we would come back to the hotel if we were in the area again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 大阪府

リーズナブル

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: 立地が良い。地下鉄の駅がすぐ隣。24時間オープンの感じのいいレストランが近所にある。
夜10時半にチェックインし翌朝9時半にはチェックアウトしたので、本当に寝るだけの滞在でした。遮光カーテンを閉めなかったために、夜通し交通のある角部屋だったこともあり、ヘッドライトの明るさでしばし目が覚めましたが、遮光カーテンをちゃんと閉めたら問題なかったと思います。15歳の娘との宿泊で、軽い夕食をとりたいと受付に相談すると、すぐに近くのレストランを教えてくれました。朝食はマフィンとベーグル数種類にコーヒー、紅茶というシンプルなものでした。入り口は24時間開いていて、夜間は強そうな男性二人がつめていました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel clean cheap and convenient.

Posted Jan 10, 2016
There is no better place to stay in New York City. Rates were very reasonable subway station is at the base of the hotel which is super convenient and it is in a fantastic area. I can't say enough about how great our experience was at this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel on the edge of the action.

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Hotel staff not particularly friendly. Firstly given a room on the 2nd floor which had noisy air conditioners outside the window. When we requested a change we got a good room on the 6th floor. Rooms quite spacious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lünen, NRW

passendes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: perfekte Lage
Location: 23rd Ecke 7 AV... bis Central Park und Financial District alles zu Fuß erreichbar. Für einen Erstbesuch auch unbedingt zu empfehlen.
sehr freundliches Personal. Ein sehr einfach ausgestattetes aber sauberes Haus. Kein Luxus, keine Sterne. WiFi funktioniert, kein deutsches TV, genau auf die Beschreibung des Frühstückes achten, das verhindert eine Enttäuschung. (Ist halt NY und nicht Deutschland) Low Budget... empfehlenswert
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Hotel staff great. Great location subway stop in front of hotel. You can also walk to many attraction and restaurants .