Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Great friendly hotel for a great price

Posted Jan 15, 2017
This was our second visit to The City View Inn and as always we had a great stay. Unfortunately I got sick and the day we were checking out the hotel gave us extra time so I could visit urgent care and be able to get back, shower and pack. They were very understanding and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hackensack, NJ.

It's alright.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
It's a cool low key hotel to stay for a night or two. Nothing spectacular just alright.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for the price

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Nice place for the price workers there were very quick on calling your car to bring you anywhere and it was a free ride a nice car to the subway and free pick up. The morning of checkout I asked if I could leave my vehicle there to go into Manhattan and they had no problem with that also a nice Irish pub just a two minute walk
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfort and peaceful

Posted Dec 12, 2016
I expected comfort and got it plus more. I had a peaceful stay. A great breakfast and staff was beyond their duty. I recommend it's easy access to city and NY airports LGA & JFK
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Great, the hotel staff was awesome.Close to the city and metro station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel for visiting

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Friendly staff, clean rooms. Could use a little updated, especially in the bathroom but it was overall nice. Nice breakfast. Wish it was a little closer to a subway stop.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel with friendly staff and great value

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Large rooms and a nice free breakfast. We couldn't get the free wifi on the 5th floor but they were more than happy to move us to the 3rd. Free shuttle to the subway and back so Made it convenient getting into the city. We have rebooked we were so impressed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Affordable hotel close to Mahattan

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Clean room, helpful staff, tea making facilty, fridge and microwave in rooms. Good sized room. Breakfast included. Luggage storage. Good wifi.
Cons: It's a ten-minute brisk walk to the nearest subway, but you can use a free shuttle once a day. The hotel is a bit run down but it didn't worry me because things were kept clean. The breakfast is the same every day and not great if you are on a low-carb diet because it't bagels, donuts, jaffles and cereals, with only scrambled eggs as variety. But they also supply bananas and apples.
Location: It is opposite a cemetry and close to a very busy road. The noise didn't worry me inside with the window shut. There are a few small grocery shops too
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Older hotel, but close to the action

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: It's close to everything, and a good choice if you plan to stay out more than in. Rooms are spacious, price was low. Hot breakfast every morning.
Cons: Exactly as you would expect an older hotel to be. Elevators may be the slowest I have ever used.
Location: Shuttle to the 40th St. subway runs at the top of every hour. Only a few miles to LaGuardia. Very cool cemetery across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long Island, New York

The hotel's location is the reason we like it.

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Our son's and his family live about 1.5 miles from the hotel so the location is ideal.