Ratings based on 657 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Green Bay, WI

Easy to get into Manhattan

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Overall, this was a good place. The floor in the room needed to be vacuumed. There was stuff on the floor. The shuttle to get to the ferry was easy. There was one morning where the shuttle didn't come, my husband got into a fight over it with the front desk clerk, but I calmed them both down and asked for a solution. The clerk got us a taxi paid for by the hotel to get us to the ferry. The rooms are smaller than average, but still plenty enough room. I think it seems small because there isn't a recliner type of chair. There is a wardrobe to store clothes so it works well. We did have a mini fridge in our room. Breakfast has the typical hotel type of offerings. Good to get the day started.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Had to wait a long time for breakfast. Too many people, not enough tables. Had to wait to sit down and eat. Tv didn't work and shower knob was stripped. Took forever to get shower to turn on. Staff was friendly. Free shuttle to the ferry was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Double booked our room and people walked in our room in the middle of the night. After they left staff calls us and wakes us up again to see who was in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful room

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Our room was so small I couldn't even walk in it..The noise from other people in halls was ridiculous, the elevator took forever so people used the stairs and our tiny room was next to stairwell and we heard door slam all night. The city also houses section 8 and welfare cases there while waiting for their permanent homes to be ready so there were savory characters hanging out. I hated my whole trip because I hated where we were staying..try somewhere else people!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel...basic but fulfills needs

Posted May 24, 2017
Very nice breakfast staff and room always clean front desk very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: 1. Clean room 2. Room service 3. Price 4. Shuttle to SI Ferry
Cons: Front desk service.
Location: Location is not convenient, but that shuttle help a lot, also bus is available...
Everything was good. Nice and clean. I really like this hotel... Location is not convenient but shuttle to Ferry helped a lot. Breakfast was very good too. I think I made good choice to stay there !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rochester

Not too satisfied

Posted May 15, 2017
In comparison to the Hampton Suites this room is extremely small for the same price and the towels were not fully dried they were damp
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jackson Heights, NY

A decent place

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Staff was very friendly and room fit my needs
Cons: nothing
Location: just across the street is an exercise club...don't know about it...a bowling alley an Italian restaurant / pizza place
Basically the hotel provides all that is needed at a reasonable price....free is great but you have to serve yourself which I don't mind...omelettes with bacon or scrambled eggs and sausages, waffles (you make them ...it is easy) etc...room is spartan but all you need is a bed TV and bathroom ...it has free internet and WIFI
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

4 day stay

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Staff, breakfast
Cons: Clean room rugs more often or switch to tile.
Staff very obliging and friendly. Erica our girl for the stay was so great. Constance in cafeteria did above for our breakfast. Took a 2 queen bed room, still a little tight, but not so bad for 4 days. One complaint, rugs in room should be cleaned more often.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very tight rooms, in a motel poorly situated

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Breakfast being included, pleasant and accommodating staff, reasonable rates.
Cons: 1) Giving guests the room rate originally quoted 2) Available maps of Staten Island 3) Sample menu of adjacent hotel, i.e. Holiday inn 4) Printed Dirx
Location: Location adjoins a landfill sanitation facilities. There are 'no things to do' within 5 miles of CI. It's in a blacktopped unappealing spot!
Comfort Inn on Staten Island is bare bones . . . very small lobby w/ no amenities. 1) Elevator is extremely slow and not worth waiting for. 2) Room is undersized; bed takes up most of the space. Room is perfect example of bare bones . . . few furniture pieces, zero amenities. 3) Breakfast is good, BUT the waffle irons were shorted out on our stay. 4) Cost is reasonable, BUT we were charged more than first attempt to register. Choice Hotels must need that mere pittance more than guests! 5) Auto access to CI is indirect and circuitous . . . have to go several blocks off Rt 440 past CI and then circle back through 3 residence blocks. 6) Front desk had no maps of SI; had no menu for the adjacent hotel where CI guests were directed w/ a discount coupon.