Ratings based on 3,054 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very poor maintaince inside

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Good location, close to subway our room carpet was super dirty, bath doesn't feel clean at all, old towels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
It is good to hear from you, though I'm sorry to learn that you did not fully enjoy the service, accommodations finding the status of clean sub par. We will do our best to make your next visit a better experience. Kind regards.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from queen Ny city

No parking and not near to anything interesting

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: nothing
Location: nothing
No parking even when i ordered from Expedia that said on the bill free parking. i showed the bill to the hotel clerk but they were not willing to help. Free breakfast but very limit items and you needed to come early to get them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I am very sorry to hear that you did not find our staff accommodating and helpful during your most recent stay here in our hotel. Your feedback is escalated, our key people will evaluate your review and will surely implement necessary corrective measure. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Cheap motel close to Manhattan

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Toilet had a dirty mark. TV was not functioning when I checked in. There were only two small pillows on bed. The color of towels were almost grey, too old. The hotel is located in a mixed area. A worker at a store near the hotel warned me "do not walk around after 9:00 p.m." When I checked out the hotel, I asked my invoice but a hotel staff refused to give to me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I'm sorry to hear that your most recent stay with us did not meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. Your review will be called to the attention of concerned staff for corrective measure. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Manhattan

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Very comfortable sized hotel rooms that very close to Manhattan. Excellent prices and staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience so that we can benefit from your perspective of our hospitality and services. Your voice matters to us and we hope that you will continue to make us your primary choice of hotel in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

no parking and very small room

Posted Mar 16, 2017
At first when we arrived the person at front was so weird and not professional at all. When asked about parking he said did you got it through Expedia website, and I said yes then he said you should call them and ask why they said free parking. After parking at paid parking we went to the room but it was too small to fit in an extra bed . And I went downstairs and inquire about getting different room or even one small mattress or crib but he was so unhelpful said no. So on two queen size beds we have to manage 5 people sleeping and all my three kids are 15 , 12 and 11 so it was very hard to manage. Not happy at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 1, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are disheartened to hear such inconvenience during your stay with us. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are addressing these issues to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel. Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will consider staying with us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn NY

Never again

Posted Mar 16, 2017
After working a 16 shift at work due to the snow storm I opted to stay at a hotel near work since I had to be back in less than 12 hours. I waited 15 mins in the lobby for someone to check me in, to arrive at my room and find a dirty bed with a hole in the comfortable. The bathroom had water stains all over the ceiling, the mirror was broken and held together by electrical tape. I called the front desk and three women came to change the linen on the bed. One of the ladies said oh my grand kids some time touch the sheets and leave a mark like this... wow I didn't know I was staying at someone's personal home. The front desk person stated the hotel was booked and he didn't have another room. Then when I go to watch tv it doesn't come on I call the front desk again a man comes and pulls the tv away from the wall plays with the wires and turns to me and says is that all as if I'm being a pest.... I slept a few hours and retuned to work tired and annoyed by my experience it was the worst $130 I've spent in a long time
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. Your detailed feedback on the services you received from our staff on duty is escalated, our management team will verify what took place during your visit and call the attention of concerned staff. I assure you that your review will not go unnoticed. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

The bathroom had mold in the corner in the shower.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
The TV had certain channels for children to watch the shower curtains in the bathroom with ripped up
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your bathroom. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Overall nice hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Location: Close to a subway station that directly leads you to Manhattan
Upside: The hotel is close to a subway station while the rate is fair. The room is clean, the staff is nice, and the breakfast is not bad. Downside: Some inner facility is disappointing. E.g. black-out curtain cannot fully close; The shower is designed too inconvenient to wash away the shampoo; Air conditioner is a little bit loud. Given the price, the hotel is definitely OK. But still, there are a bunch of things can be improved.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback, I apologize for the oversight in ensuring the amenities in the guest room you stayed in are in good working condition. We will check on this and address accordingly. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again. Kind regards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I will never stay again at this hotel

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Not safe for families, they STOLE our stuff we changed our room 604 to 606 , And when we found out that we forget our stuff at room 604 We talked to reception desk, they told us (once when the guest check out from the room, there no responsibility to us ) However we didn't check out because we are still in the hotel. We just changed the room They guy there was so rude and doesn't know haw to talk to the guest in professional and polit way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The Country Inn & Suites New York City in Queens and the Carlson Rezidor Hotel Group will work diligently to ensure any situation is fully investigated. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fla/Ga

Nice,Affordable, Comfy, Quality, Contnly Improving

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: maid service was willing to re make our beds when we found what looked like a hair on our beds that did not belong to us.
Cons: more seating options in lobby, bathroom with easier access in lobby, WAFFLE MAKER IN BREAKFAST ROOM
Location: not too far from subway, about two or three blocks around the corner. and near a Chase bank, Duncan Donuts, Mobil gas station... etc.
My mother and I had a great stay. There were MANY stains on the carpets and on the furniture, but I only needed the room to sleep, not entertain, so it was fine. Just felt unclean. Bed was VERY comfortable! HOT water, even on the 8th floor was instant& stayed for what felt like FOREVER. It was low water pressure at 11 pm on Sunday night, but other than that, great HOT water. AC/heater worked great and room came w/shampoo, conditioner, lotion. In room you can use the 3wash cloths, 3towels, and 3hand towels, plus a floor towel for your feet. If you need more, they are a bit stingy even in off season.TV was of good quality. pillows-really nice.Breakfast was HOT &yummy. No waffle maker- even though there is one in pics and reviews- but there are REAL eggs- hard boiled and scrambled- and sausages or other animal protein. Lots of BIG rolls to choose from- they look like they're from a gourmet bakery. They're the size of your face or bigger! and that's the danishes and pastries, too! The juice machines don't work, but they have Tropicana in pitchers on the side, instead. and the coffee machine has a lot of flavors to choose from- but it doesn't work either, so you just have plain coffee- but that's fine for me because I drink mine black anyways. They don't have a dairy alternative for milk or creamer and they don't have a waffle/pancake maker, but rest of breakfast makes up for it. I wish there were more fruit options,they did have bananas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing your experience at our hotel taking note of the aspect that need our attention. Your comment about the stains in the carpet will be checked and corrected, I apologize for the discomfort it has caused you. We will do our best to make your next visit a better experience. Kind regards.