Ratings based on 581 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close and convenient to parking

Posted May 18, 2017
Excellent. Clean and nice amenities, toiletries and staff. Parking was a bit confusing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from southeast pa

Replacement hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Originally booked hotel through Expedia for visit to Statue of Liberty, biggest request was for an indoor pool. We were booked in different hotel whose pool happened to be closed for renovations. Expedia did change us to Crown PLaza. They were great, confirming reservation was slow for 1 room and they gave us the one ready so the grandkids could go swimming.. Mission accomplished. Also the restaurant was very good with nice bartenders and wait staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel for the price

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Room was in bad shape with sagging bed and uncomfortable pillows.
3 out of 5
by Jean-Claude

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Lamesha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Not much going for this hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Very little
Cons: Almost everything,
Location: It's in a rough part of town, with no local amenities. According to Google the nearest alternative restaurant was over a mile away
from the minute I walked in it was disappointing. The reception area was a mess, for which the receptionist apologised, the property was run down in a 1970's style, we couldn't get served in the restaurant so eventually gave up and got the shuttle bus to the Marriott at the airport for dinner. The shuttle bus driver was helpful, dropping us off and giving us his cell number so he could pick us up as well. It was the cheapest hotel according to the agent who booked us so I guess it proves you get what you pay for!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Dave M., Hotel Management
Hello Andy, Thank you for staying with us and for writing your review. We are sincerely sorry that you were unsatisfied with your stay with us. Our team works hard to ensure that each guest that stays with us is happy and we use feedback like yours to improve our hotel. We are sorry about any miscommunication regarding local attractions. We actually have a sports bar the parking lot next to us as well as several Portuguese restaurants that are a short drive away. We also apologize about the inability to get service at the restaurant. This is certainly an uncommon occurrence and your feedback will be passed along to the restaurant manager. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back! Sincerely, Dave M. Guest Services
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Front desk and the admin suck

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Was not given the room that was reserved. I reserved a King bed but was given 2 queens. I was told by the front desk that the room I reserved was given away and there was no King size available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Dave, Hotel Management
Hello Traveler, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review! We are sincerely sorry you were unhappy with your stay. We would appreciate the opportunity to look further into your reservation details. If you have the opportunity please reach out to the front desk with your reservation details. It is very unusual for a guest to not be assigned to the room they reserved. We look forward to hearing from them. Sincerely, Dave M. Guest Services
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to airport

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Good hotel close to the airport - prices changed - one price paid on a Monday and different price on a Friday - the hotel was not full, next time I will stay at a lower price hotel for Friday night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Foreign traveller.

Near the airport, which makes it convenient.

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: It was close to the airport; the personnel were polite; it has a restaurant on-site; it has a free airport shuttle.
Cons: Do repairs before the guests have to complain.
Location: 5 minutes from Newark airport. Close to major highways to NYC.
I rated the hotel at a 4 instead of a 5 because the first room they gave me had a cracked bathroom sink. This was not a little crack; it ran across the entire length oh the sink in the form of an X. It clearly was there for a while (the crack was black meaning that they were cleaning the sink while it was cracked). However, when I refused to stay in the room, they immediately gave me a different room ; ie, one with a good sink. This could have been fixed before guests were subjected to this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Dave M. , Hotel Management
Hello Rex, Thank you for staying with us and for leaving your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us to be convenient. We apologize about the room condition issue, but we are glad to hear our staff was able to accommodate you in a timely manner. Our team works hard to resolve any issues as soon as possible. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future! Sincerely, Dave M. Guest Services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Portland, ME

Not a bad hotel! Friendly staff...room dated.

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: proximity to the airport. Friendly staff.
Cons: Rooms could be updated.
Location: nothing within walking distance. McDonalds if you dare!
I was pleasantly surprised with the Crowne Plaza. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Room was comfortable but a little dated. Shuttle was very convenient from and to the airport. Restaurant was good. Breakfast buffet was mediocre. Overall, if you need a hotel close to the airport, this is the one. Be prepared that there is nothing within walking distance of the hotel. You are relegated to being at the hotel and that is it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Dave M. , Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly. It's great to hear when a guest found their stay to be pleasant and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future! Sincerely, Dave M. Guest Services