Ratings based on 1,992 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

THE FURNITURE IS VERY OLD AND WORN

Posted Aug 25, 2016
THE STAFF IS AWESOME. IF YOU CHANGED THE FURNTIURE IT WOULD BE THE BEST HOTEL.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Location: There are lots of Improv Theatres in Chelsea. Reckless Theatre is the best.
I chose this hotel because it was close to where I needed to be and had gotten good reviews. I was pleased with my choice. The room was nice, had space to maneuver in (lots of New York hotels don't), and the bed was quite comfy. They only had ice machines on certain floors which was a bit of a hassle, especially because they were not filled on the night we tried. However, we called room service and they had ice to us in 5 minutes. The shower was great with a nice bathroom in general, but I would have appreciated a door stop to keep the door open for airing out after showering. All in all, I would not only recommend this hotel to others but can see myself staying here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Would not recommend

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Service was good. No issues there.
While the staff at the hotel were very nice the location was not to my liking. There is construction all down the street, a jack hammer going all day next door. The smell of garbage just down the street where it seems all the street vendors carts are stored. One morning there was no hot water! Internet connection was good. I've been to NYC many times and was disappointed with this particular hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cakifornia

Tight Space

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Small space allowance for 2 double beds room. Beds were againstthe walls. Too smallto fit 2 adults and 2 children. Staff was very pleasant and provided good close by dinning recommendations. They kindly moved us too a lower floor as the 26th floor was too hot for the A/C unit to keep up. Carpet seemed to need shampooing and we kept our socks or shoes on.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good location.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Hotel was in a great location. We only had one query for the staff that needed attention and it was dealt with immediately. There was supposed to be a king size bed but it was just a double! We didn't address that though. Environment outside the hotel...as with many of the NY streets in that area was quite smelly although staff seen hosing down the area. It was lovely to walk in after a long day and avail ourselves of the ice cold water at the bar.Would stay there again depending on future prices.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Good base to explore New York. Rooms very comfortable and well equipped.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Hotel name a misnomer

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The hotel was clean and the staff were great. The room itself was smaller than I would have expected for the price, even in NYC.
Cons: The hotel lacks many significant amenities, likely due to space. Not sure if this can be changed.
Location: Madison Square Gardens is close, but Times Square is roughly a 20 minute walk. Check out Supremo's pizza a few blocks away.
The hotel is clean, and the staff are quite friendly. It is a little low on amenities, but is fine for a typical room. The biggest issue is the name of the hotel "Times Square South" - the hotel is a significant walk from Times Square, and other rooms can be had more cheaply more nearby. Adding to the confusion is that there is a DoubleTree hotel INSIDE of times square, which is the hotel I had thought I was booking when I did (which is my fault, I grant you). Neither DoubleTree nor Expedia were willing/able to assist me with changing my booking, adding to significant unnecessary frustration.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico, SJ

Confortable and nearby most iconic places of NYC.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
This hotel is a great deal. The front desk staff is kind and helpful. They received us with cookies and a new York shirt for my little girl. This hotel looks new. The last days of our stay the air conditioner started leaking water. Besides that inconvenient we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york city

Small room,but we had plenty of space. Nice bath.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Price
Cons: Cooling in the room and more lighting.
Location: We walked a lot. Not a bad location. Walked to Times Square every day. Food places all over. The closer to Time Square, lots of restaurants.
Hotel staff was very helpful with directions. We walked to about everything we had to do. Tours were on 47th street. We were on 36 th street. We were fine walking. Got to see more. Room could have been a bit cooler.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid - One Star Accommodations/Terrible Service

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Hotel Staff Training, accommodations, amenities. Hotel staff use the only two elevators further increasing the time guests must wait.
Location: It was near the Javits Center which is the only reason we booked it.
Upon arrival we were advised that the person we had spoken to concerning the room was mistaken as to the size. The room is basically a 10' x 12' box most of which is taken up by the bed. Nothing says welcome more than upon opening the refrigerator in the room you are over powered by a foul odor. The furnishings were old and worn. My wife was taking the bar exam and I immediately tried to find another hotel but everything was booked in the area. We were stuck in this over priced under sized sub standard room for three days. Deciding to make the best of a bad situation we accessed the front desk for a recommendation for food we could order in. They recommended a local Italian Restaurant that charged more than the menu price. The second recommendation was closed for weeks. The elevators were not adequate to accommodate demand. The television did not work properly. The front desk said they would like to give us a partial refund but could not because we booked through Expedia. My advice is to avoid this hotel and be aware that if you book through Expedia that you cannot receive a refund.