Ratings based on 2,281 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2017
Was put into in a handicapped room??? Shower handle was broken, double room had only 1 glass and coffee cup, no bath mat or wash clothes=had to ask for the extras and those only showed every other day. Closet door was broken and wouldn't close.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I wanted

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Location: Time Square was a convenient walk.
I've booked hotels through Expedia and I've never been disappointed as I was with this hotel. Staff was not very helpful, room was musty smelling and curtains were dirty. The AC did not work and we were woken up to banging in the room next door from what I assume was construction. I will never suggest this hotel to anyone as I have with others in the past and I wasn't sure if I could contact the hotel to get a reimbursement. Expedia booking website stated $40 self parking and $55 for valet but they charged me $65 stating because I had an SUV, there was no mention of sur charge3 for SUV. Thank you for any assistance. Evelina Travassos.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wishaw

Not close to Time Square at all

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: It would be OK if it was cheap enough but its not so don't go
Location: Run down location close to several building sites and failed closed restaurants
Rooms are tiny and hotel in general is in need of a refurb. The worst Hilton I have ever stayed in, don't book this hotel, book something else
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Very nice hotel. Close to Times Square

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: The staff were very helpful and friendly
Cons: Refrigerator was broken
Location: Times Square, Madison Square Garden, Empire State Building
Very nice hotel. Close to Times Square, Penn station and Empire State Building! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was small, which is expected in NY, but clean. My only complaint is that you have to wait for the elevator for lengthy periods of time as there are only two.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good stay

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The plugs don't work and if a snow storm happens do not expect any kind of friendliness
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Athens, Ga

NOTE...Hotel was NOT close to Times Square,

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: It was clean, and had been recently upgraded/remodeled.
Cons: Elevators were rather slow, and sometimes there were long waits. Website pics show bathtubs, but apparently there are none in any of the rooms now.
Location: Not much to do close by, but Macy's is about three blocks away, and Penn Station is about two and half blocks away. Times Square?..Take a cab or walk.
First of all... Guests are charged $50 a night on their credit card for "incidentals" automatically. I had prepaid my stay three months before I arrived, for six nights, so I was unhappy when they put a "hold" on $300 of my credit which meant my Visa card had $300 less available credit on it during my visit to New York. Bummer! The room was clean, adequate sized, and on the 22rd floor, facing the back with no view, but it was quiet which was ok with me. My room had no towels when I checked in, and I was told they didn't have any washcloths the whole time of my stay. I had to go out and buy one from CVS drugs (didn't see that coming). Also, I had asked for a room with a bathtub, and when I called the front desk I was told that all the rooms in the hotel had walk-in showers, however, bathrooms with tubs are featured in their hotel photographs, so not sure if front desk manager was telling me the truth...Who knows? The hotel was on a rather shady looking side street with a ton of construction going on all around it and across the road from it, so there was scaffolding and construction crews everywhere. The nearest reasonable place to eat was the Deli on 8th Ave which was about a block away or the Tick Tock Diner inside the Hotel New Yorker two blocks away which was a great place to have breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Friendly staff. Enjoyed the warm cookies on arrival. Elevators were small and often crowded long wait times for elevator at times. Overall enjoyed stay at this hotel. I really have nothing bad to say ........................
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, Pa

Genuinely friendly staff

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Room was very clean, bed was very, very comfortable. Staff were genuinely friendly people. Would definitely recommend to a friend and will definitely stay here again in my next NY trip.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

MEH - NEVER AGAIN

Posted Mar 5, 2017
- Construction noise - THE ELEVATOR WAS BROKEN. RESULTING IN 10-15 MINUTE WAIT TIMES. LITERALLY. - I made two phone calls to my cell phone to locate cell phone. I let it ring twice then hung up. No phone call was made. but i was charged $13 for each call. After much complaint, they finally waived fee. But be warned, using the phone even IF NO ONE PICKS UP ON THE OTHER END, results in exorbitant fees. - Room was so tiny I have stayed at Double tree on lexington and enjoyed it, this location (on W 36th between 8 and 9) i would not return or recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New York Trip

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable bed and clean room
Cons: A fridge that worked, a shower that didnt flood the floor, decor could be updated a bit. Rooms that say city view make sure it is a city view and not
Location: Times square, madison square gardens
When we arrived i was asked for my credit card as they need a deposit of $50 a day. i asked why as we had already paid for the hotel stay and they said it was part of the terms and conditions, Read the small print as it is there but not the amount and this should be made clearer on the website when booking. all it does say on the website is...No hidden extras.... Staff of the hotel were all friendly apart from the two ladies behind the bar at night. you try and have a laugh and joke or even a chat and they are not interested. they are only happy when they are taking your money. rest of the staff were happy and always on hand if you had a problem or just wanted a bit of information. Lifts are slow but you didn't have to wait to long so no real issue with them. We booked a King size room with a city view. Our room was on the 23rd floor so we were very high as the floors only go up to 26. the view that we had was another block right outside our window so no we did not have a city view. We have stayed in another hotel before which said city view and that is what we got. so yes we were dissapointed with that. Our room was comfortable which was a god send as after being out all day walking we were knackered. there was a nice big TV in the room which had a good selection of channels. the bathroom was very nice and clean apart from the shower flooding the floor every time we used it. you had to put a towel down. overall a decent hotel with good staff but dissapointed with the view.