Ratings based on 523 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for short stay n quick trip to city

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Beds very comfortable n act not noisy
Cons: Cleanliness of common areas. Signage for restaurants. General shuttle schedule. Up keep of hotel n bathrooms
Location: Easy access to airport with free shuttle 24/7. Easy Train or bus access to New York or rest of jersey from airport terminals. visit liberty state park
Easy access to airport and New York City using free shuttle back to airport or getting to jersey garden outlet mall from the same place the hotel shuttles stop/pickup ($9roundtrip). Negative is no fridge or microwave in room. Go to ramada next door to eat (better restaurant for lunch/dinner n happy hour n 24 hour cafe). Ramada has fridge in room but no microwaves n neither hotel will heat things for u. Eat at airport terminal A or B n dunkin doughnuts and even a Friday's restaurant in terminal A. better options than doubletree pricey limited hotel menu.Beds more comfy at doubletree. Doubletree has pool in lobby open from 10am -10pm n can be noisy so stay on opposite side in rooms without balcony if noise sensitive. if need travel to city for more than 1 day buy 2 day bus ticket on the bus or at baggage claim in terminal n u also have choice of 3 drop off/pick up spots unlike train
Comment from EPC
Aug 24, 2015 by HotelMgmt, EPC
Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport for your recent trip to the area. Our hotel is conveniently located to many of the NYC and NJ attractions while still providing a quiet place to return to for relaxation. Although we are happy that you enjoyed our convenient location, we do regret any disappointments you experienced during your stay. Your feedback about having a microwave in your guestroom has been shared with our team. The next time you are visiting the area, we hope to welcome you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.C.

Close & Easy commute to NYC

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Location: Location I right off the highway. Easy to get on to go to NYC or other parts of N.J.
Love everything here. Check in and out were painless. The warm cookies are a very nice touch. Getting around the large hotel is easy. Would rather not be charge for parking or have it built into price. Seems to be a penalty for having a car. Would stay again if in the area without hesitation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the warm cookies we offer and comfort of our hotel. Your feedback about our on-site parking has been shared with our team and we regret that you didn’t find it to be of good value. Thank you for your review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in New Jersey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Great experience. No headaches. & great food at the bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We are thrilled you had a wonderful visit and that you enjoyed dining at our on-site bar. Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Good nights sleep. Beds are very comfortable.
Cons: The shower did not work very well and could not adjust the flow. I would like it if they had a good car rental that would be available with free park
Location: The location is close to the Newark International Airport and there is shuttle service to the airport which makes it easy to get access to the hotel.
My husband and I prefer the stay at this hotel because the beds have always been very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We are thrilled to learn we are your hotel of choice and that you enjoyed the comfort and convenience of our hotel. Your feedback about the shower in your guestroom has been forwarded to our maintenance team so that it can be addressed. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT a great experience

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Took 45 min to check in as they had lost my reservation. No apology was given and the front desk manager seemed annoyed with having to deal with the problem. Room was nice but our shower didn't have a shower curtain, housekeeping had forgot to install. Also, neighbors room service trays sat outside our door for the entire time we were there. noone seemed to care that the hallway smelled of old food. Wouldn't stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts from your recent stay as we truly appreciate the honest feedback that you’ve provided for us. We regret any inconveniences you experienced while checking in and your feedback about your overall experience has been shared with our team so that we can address it and make improvements. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel and we hope you'll one day allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back so that we can renew your trust in us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected more from Double Tree

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Parking is extra, wifi extra, breakfast extra, bathroom was worn down. I would not have minded all of this, but I paid more to stay at Double Tree expecting better quality. The staff was kind and helpful, however.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review of your stay. While we are happy to learn you found our staff to be accommodating, we do regret that you didn‘t find us to be of good value. We hope any disappointments were minimal and wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you are in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Close to the airport and their frequent shuttles
The staff is very welcoming and friendly. I must mention the lady's name, Jacqueline. She was very friendly and helped me become a Hilton honors member. Room was very clean. The bed was sooo comfortable.. I enjoyed my stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review of your stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Airport. We are pleased to learn you appreciated the comfort and convenience of our hotel along with the terrific service provided to you by one of our team members. We look forward to seeing you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for.....

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Cookie at registration a nice touch.
Cons: Guest relatioons, free wifi,
Location: No amenities, nothing to do without using an overpriced taxi.
Unpleasant/disappointing. Concierges gave conflicting information and the staff that interacts with the clients should learn to respond with more than one word.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It is always our intention to provide our guests with a truly memorable stay and we regret that your time with us was not reflective of our high standards of service we have set. We appreciate your valuable feedback so that we can make improvements for our future guests visit. Thank you for your review, we hope you’ll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back so that we can truly impress you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wedding in Jersey

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was nice. I've stayed in a lot worse for the money. Bathroom was pretty run down but the beds were really comfy. Staff was friendly and for $100 on a Saturday night you can't complain. Having to pay for parking was annoying but when you're beside a Airport you gotta expect that $12 for parking one night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
We only had a one night stay at the hotel. My daughter had to be at the airport very early the next morning so really we were only there for about 12 hours. I was really impressed. The hotel was really nice. We had dinner in the bar and the food was very good. The room was clean and spacious. I would definitely stay here again.