Ratings based on 8,121 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for seeing the city

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Brilliant, every run close by and accessible subway close
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Posted Feb 8, 2016
The hotel itself was nice, aside from the uncomfortable bed. The staff was not the best. At check out they tried charging me extra money claiming there was a "rate change" since I checked in. It was promptly adjusted when I presented my confirmation number and booking price. Also, at one point in our stay the sink and shower water turned yellow for a solid 5 minutes. When I told the front desk about it they had no response other than, "it doesn't usually happen". I probably would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel but not the decorationd

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Decorations was expecting of higher standards. Very low lights in the rooms, no view, and shower did not have a stand to be higher than my head (I am 5.7 or 1.73cm hight).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Mediocre at best!

Posted Feb 5, 2016
It was nice to have parking, the location was great and by New York standards the room was a decent size. However, I booked a room with a queen size bed and received one with a double size bed. The bathroom had a bunch of black hair in the sink, the room in general was not terribly clean, the electricity zapped the television out at one point, when I called about it the staff asked if I wanted them to send someone to look at it, and then the phone disconnected and they never called me back. When I checked out they never even asked how my stay was. I have stayed and a Double Tree before and had a much better experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Not a lot of sleep.

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Good location for what I needed to do in town.
Cons: Independently operating HVAC units and complimentary WiFi. In the year 2016, no reason anyone should have to pay for WiFi at a hotel anymore.
Location: Plenty of good quality, nice atmosphere, inexpensive places to eat on 51, 52, and 53.
Older buildings operate on a master HVAC, which means that once the bldg has switched from A/C to heat (or vice versa) the individual room unit may not produce what you want. The only other way to cool it down is to open the windows, which means police sirens and garbage trucks all night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super Hotel und total zentral

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Es war wirklich super, sauber und guter Service. Mit der ubahn vor der Tür ist alles schnell erreichbar, aber auch zu Fuß kommt man schnell überall an. Gerne wieder. Winzigster Kritik Punkt ist das WLAN für 14$ am Tag. Das finde ich meines Erachtens etwas frech.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northport, NY

Can't wait to come back

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: mostly all
Cons: The elevators took awhile and luckily we were on the 5th floor so we walked the stairs a couple of times
Location: Great location
This is the second time we have stayed at the hotel. We were happy both times and can't wait until we come back to stay again. We live on Long Island , When we want to get away we run to this hotel. It is in a great area. The restaurants surrounding it are all good and plenty of places to walk to for sightseeing or just to explore. Everyone is friendly and professional, and the rooms are clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, comfortable, reasonable price

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Nice location in midtown Manhattan near many tourist locations. The room was decently sized and the beds were very comfortable. Fee for WiFi, which I think should be free with any room. The bathroom was small, but clean and with a big and comfortable shower. I though the wait for the elevators was a bit longer than should have been. Hotel staff was knowledgeable and courteous. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was easily accessible to many nearby places

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Had a nice stay while visiting the City for the weekend. Staff was helpful as while we were there NYC was hit with a major snow storm.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was ok

Posted Jan 25, 2016
The hotel was clean but there were a lot of unexpected charges. The bar and breakfast cafe automatically charges 15% gratuity so be careful not to double tip the parking is almost 50 a day. For my experience we were stuck in a blizzard and my heater broke. I called down and someone came and took a look and said it will be taken care of. It never was our room was freezing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2016 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your thoughts. It's unfortunate to hear we were unable to efficiently solve the climate control issue in your room. Obviously, this is of incredible importance, and we'll be looking into your concerns in great detail. We hope we'll get to display our ability to improve significantly to you in the future. We'd love to make you a true fan of DoubleTree. Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We hope you have an excellent day.