Ratings based on 881 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Short Bed

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Good location for my purposes.
Had a room with two double beds, recommended as fitting for three people. Beds seemed shorter than normal double beds. Rough sleep resulted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, functional, location, price - check!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Location: Empire State Building, Penn Station, Koreatown, Eataly
We stayed in the room with 2 dbl beds and ESB view. Room was very tight but doable (don't even think about that size room for more than two people). Great location. Very generous shower power and volume, almost to the point of wasteful, but way better than the usual shower. Nice staff. Unlike previous reviews, the elevators worked fine for us. Would stay again, but would certainly upgrade to the room with one king bed or the suite/penthouse.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Mediocre at every possible opportunity

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: n/a
Cons: See review - the linens were foul, the sound bleed from the street keeps one up at night, and any notion that this was a king bed is a joke.
Location: work
Frame of reference, I often book out of town employees at this hotel because it is the closest to my office, but after staying here for four nights because I was working 16 hour days back to back, I will never do so again. Facilities: 25 floors and 2 elevators, so you can wait 10+ minutes just to get to your room. They also don't have sound-proofed windows, so if you are below floor 7, just leave. Commercial trash gets picked up nightly around 1am, waking you up with banging and truck noises. Room: I booked a king bed. I am aware of the size of beds because I am 6'2 (74 inches). A king should be roughly 80 inches long (as should a queen) - yet my feet hung off the end. Custom beds to cram more rooms in? The linens (towels, sheets, and quite frankly rug) had the feeling and smell that they had been washed so many times that they should have been retired years ago. The duvet cover didn't close properly, so one finds themselves in the morning in direct contact with the comforter that one cannot speculate when it was last washed. So yeah - one gets one of these bland chain hotels for just that - entirely inoffensive - able to get in/out and on with your life without much hassle. I wasn't anticipating luxury, but it was bad enough that, as I mentioned at the top, I would never feel comfortable booking clients or employees there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice Hotel near Madison Square Garden

Posted Jan 13, 2017
I loved the staff very professional and friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do Not Trust the Staff Here

Posted Jan 10, 2017
I took my daughter to NYC for her 21st birthday. Our stay was great, but when we went to leave, the concierge put us in the wrong shuttle to the airport. We got the airport and the driver would not let us out with making us pay $75.00 by credit card with no receipt. I contacted the hotel while in the car, the did not do anything, asked the driver to contact them, and told me not to pay. The driver would not talk with the hotel and would not let us out without paying. I contacted the hotel on several occasions for them to remedy the situation and reimburse me because it was their concierge error and I have never heard back. I have waited to write this review hoping I would have heard something by now. I paid for a shuttle on Expedia and had to pay Jose's another $75.00. I felt taken advantage of and I am repulsed by the action of the concierge and the no action taken by the hotel management!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to MSG

Posted Jan 4, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at the doubletree, mostly because we were minutes away from MSG. My only complaint was the elevators. They were small and slow and 95% of the time skipped our floor. The day we left, we waited 15 min for an elevator. They both kept going all the way to the top, stopped at EVERY floor on the way down and then wouldn't stop ok our floor. We finally walked our luggage down 11 flights of stairs because we needed to leave.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

The hotel is in a great location

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Although the hotel is a bit dated and rooms small, the hotel is situated in Chelsea. There are many restaurants, bars, and options for tourism in the area. I love walking in New York, and found myself outside of the room more than I was inside the room. I enjoyed the weather, people, and food the most. The hotel was simply in place to allow me to shower, sleep and go again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located!

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Close to MSG, Empire State Building, and subway. Friendly staff--I was impressed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was incredible. Kelvin was the best.

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Will definitely return. Loved the staff and service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel for the money, right near everything

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Nice hotel for the cost. Right near everything! Nice hotel staff Room very clean