Ratings based on 1,562 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Beautiful hotel in a great part of town

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Really happy with our stay. Big shout out to my bell boy Keenan, cool guy, very knowledgable about the city and extremely helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Nice hotel in Chelsea

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The check in was a little rocky. There were guests in the room! But the staff showed us to a different room. It would have been nice to get "upgraded," but things did get better. The staff was very friendly and answered all questions. This is a nice neighborhood close to Meatpacking District as well as great restaurants and shopping! I will definitely be returning in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your stay at Dream Downtown! With that said, my absolute apologies for the miscommunication between our staff members, We want every moment from the time you step into our door to be perfect! I do hope we get the opportunity to have you stay with us again Warm Regards, The Dream Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv

Great location, good vibe, but uncomfortable

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Views, location, ambience
Cons: Room comfort
This hotel has contradictory aspects. On one hand it has a great Chelsea location, party vibe (dj in the lobby, a rooftop lounge etc.), groovy bar and pool, and wonderful Manhattan view, but on the other hand the rooms are maybe the least comfortable I've ever been to (and I travel quite a lot!): Poor room lighting (no reading lamps!), terribly designed sink, weak and unstable shower pressure, little storage space in the closet, you can't put any stuff in the minibar (like drinks you buy or cheese) and on top of all that, if you're staying on a high floor you will suffer from noisy music every night from the lounge up above... and this speaking oh the gold king room which is one of the more "luxurious" rooms of this hotel. And yet, having said all that, I must admit that I did return to this hotel for the third time!! I guess I was willing to overlook the bad things while watching the Empire State Building every morning fron my window... Not sure though if it will suffice for the next time. Well, now it's your call. I warned you...
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Mallory , Hotel Management
Firstly Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your stay at Dream Downtown! Please allow me to apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay with us. It seems as though you do like parts of our hotel and there are some parts you're not as keen on. I do understand that certain areas of our hotel are a required taste, but the beauty of how large our hotel is that we have many quiet areas in the hotel to accommodate all guest's regardless of what they are traveling for. We are committed to providing our guests with a restful night sleep, as well as a wonderful stay/vacation. I do hope you give us another chance with some of your preferences listed so we can make your stay seamless and restful! Have a wonderful day!
5 out of 5
by Ashmine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great location

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: location, ambiance
Location: lots of restaurants and shopping within walking distance. The hotel's club PH-D had decent crowd and played great music!
Hotel is near all the shops in the meat packing district - really great location and hotel is very modern and very nice.
5 out of 5
by Christopher

Great hotel!

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
New Yorkers definitely like to honk their horns.... at about 3:30am to be exact. That would be my only complaint. I do wish we had a mini fridge in our room that we could use. The one in there was basically a mini bar with no room for personal items. I did really enjoy the stay just those couple of things I didn't really care for. I will be traveling to NYC more often and will definitely choose to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dominican Republic

Beautiful and Trendy Hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Cons: The only problem is the noise from the surrounding rooms and hallways. You can listen to people speak at any volume. Very bad noise insulation.
Location: The location is just perfect, across from Chelsea Market and walking distance to Meatpacking, Soho and Greenwich Village.
The hotel is beautiful and very trendy. The location couldn't get any better. Loved it. The only downside to my stay was the surrounding noise in the room.
4 out of 5
by Sarah

Small but nice rooms

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
My only complaint is very thin walls and it's sometimes hard to get on an elevator to your room in the late hours because of the club in the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Johnny

Great time

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Expensive but good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and Comfy

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel has the comfiest beds! It is right next to Chelsea Market which is so convenient to eat at. The only downside is that if you planned on spending your time in like the Times Square area, then it is a little far away. It just depends on your purpose for being in the city.