Ratings based on 1,169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers, Fl

A great value, just some small details though.

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, staff, location and price.
Cons: Amenities need improvement
Location: Very convenient midtown location. Less than two blocks to Grand Central Station, subway, Public Library and Chrysler Building.
Overall I was quite pleased with my stay Dylan. However, some minor details need to be worked out to make this a 4 star hotel in NYC. First the good. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are impeccably clean and we'll maintained as well as modern looking. The not so good. No ice available for self service, you have to call down to the front desk for it. On two separate occasions it took over 30 minutes and I had to go down to the front desk for to get it myself. The staff was very apologetic and handled the situation promptly both times, comping me a bottle of sparkling wine on one occasion. The breakfast buffet is very space (by American standards) for the price. Finally, the Television reception is very poor. Not only in the quality of the picture but in the selection of channels. Since I was on a business trip, this wasn't an especially big deal to me, but it is a really simple fix.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Hotel was in a great location one block from grand central station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio USA

Quiet, close to Grand Central Terminal & Ciprianis

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: The people were really nice at the Dylan, I will go back again! High ceilings and space - you didn't feel like you were in a shoe box!!
Cons: Maybe have a doorman stationed at the front door. The front door was heavy to open upon arrival, and to close especially in January and with luggages.
Location: Everything is reachable from the Dylan! Walking distance to Bloomingdales at 59th just to name one place to shop and Madision Ave, 5th Avenue shops
Wonderful hotel, the building was huge, quiet, and close to everything: Grand Central Terminal has a great food court in the lower level, and a open market at street level. Three places that I loved were: Cipriani's Restaurant and The Stout Bar and Benjamin's Restaurant....go to these 3 places and you'll have fun!!! Who doesn't enjoy FUN? The rooms were very spacious, warm and cozy, blankets for on the bed, full of coffee's and teas and the rooms had a safe - which is needed in NYC if you carry cash or have jewelry.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from México

MUY BIEN UBICADO!

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: lo centrico
es un hotel muy céntrico y acorde a mis necesidades por cuestiones de trabajo. lo recomiendo mucho y muy bien en las habitaciones.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Last min. pick of one of an Expedia Mystery Hotels

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Location, quiet room, strong wifi, great linens, heated bathroom, noon checkout (vs. 11am at a lot of hotels).
Cons: The TV had a limited number of channels and not very good quality reception on some channels.
Location: It's Manhattan! One of the few great international cities in the world.
I needed a room at the last minute in the Times Square area of Manhattan and used the Expedia 40% Mystery Hotel box to get this gem of a hotel. Great value at $115 and truly 4 stars! While I had a room designed for the handicapped it was fine for one night. Very quiet, great linens and Wi-Fi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NYC Hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: We like the convenience of the location
Cons: Hotel staff understanding and compassion
Location: We went to Bryant Park and to the MET
The hotel and staff were sufficient. The room was clean, however, the room was so hot, we were sweating all night, both nights. We shut off the heat and had both windows wide open all night (in December) and were still uncomfortable sleeping due to the excessive warmth. We called down for our car to be retrieved and brought back to us from the off-site parking facility. This took well over an hour and we had to leave the hotel without our car and walk to our appointment. There were no apologies for this inconvenience to us. We had to walk back tot he hotel after our appointment to retrieve our car. the only saving grace was one hotel employee has loaded our bags in the car for us. We tipped him well for that kindness. Hotel staff should be more aware of how making your guests wait for over and hour is unacceptable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Unfortunate stay in NYC

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Every year my husband and I travel to NYC in December to see the tree, etc. This year we invited another couple to join us. We booked a room with two double beds and were on our way. We arrived in the city by train at 11 AM and went right to the hotel to drop our bags. We asked if there was any possibility there was an early check in. He said there wasn't. So we said OK I will be back at 3 PM for checking in. We ended up going out sightseeing until 4 PM. Then we went back to the hotel and our room still wasn't ready. When we asked why there was another couple in the lobby that had a similar experience. They explained Expedia overbooked double beds and that they'd provide a queen sized cot to suffice. We aren't hard to please so we agreed. We got up to the room and it was a twin sized cot. We called down for another or a bigger one (4 adults were sleeping in there). They said they were all out of cots and we're not apologetic. Then we asked if they could comp the room at all since it didn't even sleep the amount of guests it said it would in their booking contract. They said all we could have were breakfast vouchers. To make a long story short, "breakfast" that was originally $12 each was nothing short of yogurts and toast. Definitely not worth even close to $12 each and this was the way they made our complaints whole. Unacceptable. We'll never stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Bra läge men väger inte upp då hotellets standard är lägre än vad som anges. Märklig natt/helgpersonal som inte fanns tillgängliga då dörrkortet slutat fungera trots 24/7 reception. Mer ett 2-3* NYC hotell. Levererar inte som 4*.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dylan hotel. manhattan, NY

Thermostat doesn't work

Posted Nov 23, 2015
The room was so hot because the thermostat doesn't work. There was no window net.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from vt

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: everything was satisfactory
Cons: nothing
Location: close to 5th ave shopping, especially the Orvis Store! good eats, Bryant park, library
Easy check in and out, friendly staff, easy access to grand central station and walking distance to where I was working