Ratings based on 5,981 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Nice hotel great location

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Great location. Comfortable rooms
Cons: Elevators are unpredictable, will stop when full and skip your floor often.
Location: Near subway stop for many lines and connections, walk to theatres, Times Square, other mid-town attractions
Nice hotel, good simple breakfast, terrible elevators
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice, reasonably priced, and convenient.

Posted May 10, 2017
This hotel is conveniently located for both business and sightseeing trips. It is a short walk to Times Square and multiple subway stations. The rooms are average size for New York, with the bathroom being quite generous (again, for New York). The hotel staff was wonderful. I very much appreciate the extra effort they made to reunite my young son with a beloved blanket that we had left in the room after checkout.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
I booked online for a 3 night stay, but when I arrive around 12:00am I was told that no room available, I was arranged to a sister hotel and Taxi fee was covered, then came back the day after. Apologies accepted by not a good experience. The room was clean and comfortable, and the amenities were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NAIROBI KENYA

Good location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Size or room and bathroom are excellent. Love the option of the kitchenette. Bed was very very comfortable with great pillows and bedding.
Cons: The breakfast was not great, probably a good plan to divide the bagel line into two. Would be nice to have a few hands cleaning tables.
Enjoyed our stay and will be back for sure. Have already recommended it to our friends in Denver.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

small room for family

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: location and nice facilities
Cons: room cleaning, renovating old-fashioned HVAC
Location: convenient to move ground transportation
Location is convenient, and hotel facilities and conditions are very good. My complaint is that the room was so small for a family. I brought my wife and 2 young children. With a baby crib and stroller inside, the room was so narrow that we can't even move. If you are alone, the hotel should be good. If not, please consider alternatives. PS. (three) elevators are EXTREMELY crowded during breakfast time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but awful breakfast

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The people who work in the hotel are generally very friendly and room is clean.
Cons: Breakfast is awful and breakfast staff unfriendly.
Location: The location is great if you like theatre. It is close to Times Square.
We have stayed at the Element on many occasions. It has problems with the elevators so it is not always easy to get down to the lobby quickly. The breakfast is included and used to be quite good. However, the last two times we have stayed there the breakfast had been truly awful. Very little food and no variety. Of course, if you like bagels then this is the hotel for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Good location. Like most other reviewers biggest issue was wait for lifts. Breakfast area also not big enough for number of guests. Room clean and adequate. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from QLD, Australia

Great location - close to everything!

Posted Apr 13, 2017
The hotel is comfortable with good sized rooms. If you are looking for a view - forget it. But if you are looking for something that is close to subways and almost everything else - can't go past this one. Elevators take forever - so just factor that in. Breakfast is very basic but fine. Staff generally fine - however after staying at the hotel for almost two weeks - check out staff handed me the receipt and that was it! No thank you for staying or even ask if we had a good stay. I don't even think they said, have a good day! Although was a little disappointing - I would still recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Clean, friendly, great location to get around the whole city. We had the most amazing view on 40th floor of the Empire State. Only slight negative was waiting for the lift but to be expected given we were the very top!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Just a hotel.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable. It was good have a view of the Empire Stste Building.
Cons: This hotel is tired looking. Needs a huge make over, updating and the carpet in the halls and foyers looked grotty. A better room description.
Location: Pretty close to the action and walking distance to Times Square.
I wanted to book a hotel room,I did not want a room with facilities to prepare meals. The fridge and kitchen took up too much room. No where in the booking process was I advised that this room had these facilities if I had been informed I would not have booked this hotel The breakfast facilities were a joke for a hotel with so many rooms. People sitting or standing in the foyer to try to eat their breakfast. The lift service leaves a lot to be desired 3 lifts not enough and very small. Overall this is a 2 star hotel The photoes on the web site do not reflect reality In short we were very disappointed with this hotel.