Ratings based on 5,696 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santos, SP

Não fique neste hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Nada.
Cons: Atendimento, instalações, Higiene
Location: Proximo ao central park, quinta avenida
Tem tudo para ser um grande Hotel, conteúdo se esforça para ser péssimo. Chegamos no primeiro dia, fizemos o check-in e saímos para as compras, voltamos para o hotel cansados loucos para tomar uma ducha, ao entrar no banheiro nos deparamos com uma família completa de baratas, isso mesmo, a festa das baratas no box do banheiro de nosso quarto. Imediatamente ligamos para recepção, mas o telefone tocou tocou tocou e ninguém atendeu, resolvi descer e fui falar pessoalmente. A pessoa que me atendeu disse que lamentava muito e que iria enviar um técnico do hotel para dedetizar o box e evitar que as baratas voltassem a aparecer, retornei ao quarto e aguardei por 40 minutos, desci novamente para ver o que estava acontecendo e a pessoa que me atendeu já havia ido embora, expliquei novamente a situação para a outra pessoa e solicitei que me dessem outro quarto imediatamente, após alguns minutos, a pessoa me deu um novo quarto de tamanho menor do que eu havia reservado/pago, reclamei no mesmo momento e ela disse que o quarto era do mesmo tamanho e que eu estava equivocado, tentei argumentar sem sucesso, mas desisti pois já estava muito cansado. Fomos ao bar da piscina no terraço do hotel, sentamos na mesinha e após inúmeras tentativas de chamar o garçom, resolvi me dirigir ao bar e comprar minha bebida, pedi duas cervejas e me forneceram um produto QUENTE de uma marca desconhecida pela bagatela de US$ 10,00 cada. No dia de ir embora, minha namorada estava passando muito mal, nosso vo
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The Great Midwest

Nice Hotel. Really poor service.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Great location. Clean.
Cons: Customer service is nonexistent.
Location: It is directly across the street from Lincoln Center and a few blocks from Central Park. What more do you want?
This is a hotel deserving high marks, except for one important thing. The customer service is dismal. We stayed four nights and took cold showers every day - OK, we each got one kind of warm shower one day, 25% of the showers were not freezing. We called the front desk. We sent emails. We were told engineering would be notified, but the problem was never solved and no one ever apologized or followed up with us. This is a very nice hotel in a GREAT location. The Empire Hotel should get straight fives. However, a rating of five is reserved for hotels that, at a minimum, pretend to care about their customers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa on

Meh hotel.

Posted Aug 6, 2016
I'll start with the positve. Great location, there's a Starbucks next door, nice views from the rooftop, nice lobby, super close to Central Park. Negative; Overpriced drinks at the bar in the lobby and rooftop. I paid $24 for a glass of champagne. The rooms are run down. The photos online of the rooftop are deceiving. The pool is more like a large bathtub. Also a huge disappointment was the fact they kept the rooftop closed because of a bit of rain, and even when it stopped for a couple hours. Another thing, room service forgot to leave us any towels, hand towels and face cloths when they came in the room to make the beds etc . Overall, a disappointment and won't come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great location, close to Central Park& restaurants

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Staff, location. Excellent
Cons: Furniture in the lobby bar.
Location: Food everywhere, Central park close, Time Square within walking distance
Great staff, fabulous location. Ed's Chowder house was our best meal of our vacation. Pool, even though small, was nice break. Would recommend this to anyone
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Great location! The room is clean and quiet. Check in and check out were fast; no wait.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Tiny rooms and broken bones

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Bed
Cons: Read my note above on bathroom
Location: Hotel is in midmanhattan !!You get everything in walking distance
Too small for 2 people .bed was fine Shower adjustments were poor. Charges for water in room outrageous
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, Central Park

Cercano a central Park

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Ubicación muy cercana a Central Park y decoración cuidada.
Cons: La limpieza muy justa y que te dejan el aire puesto todo el día. Llegas y está muy fría la habitación, muy al estilo New York.
Location: Ubicación más tranquila que en times square que se agradece, para desconectar un poco y dar paseos por Central Park.
Habitación bastante pequeña pero bonita, las vistas no eran lo mejor, para un hotel de 4 estrellas me esperaba algo mejor en general. La piscina
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near Lincoln Center

Posted Aug 2, 2016
My only complaint was our room smelled strange. I don't think it was a bad smell. It may have even been air fresherner or soap or cleaner, but I just really didn't like the smell of it. The room was clean, staff friendly and responsive and great Lincoln center location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Lots - cleanliness, very worn out everything. Makes you wonder about the sheets, towels, etc and how well they clean everything.
Pluses - great location; great price (but you get what you pay for); TV-show worthy lobby. Negatives - room was dingy; peeling paint on walls; splatters of something (blood? - yuck) all over the bathroom walls; dirty grout in bathrooms; furniture very old, chipped, cheap; odd design in bathroom as you hit your head on mirror when washing your face. I would never stay there again. In fact, would have checked out but it was too much bother as we were only there 2 days.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Excellent location lackluster staff

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: We loved the beds, the view and the room lay out.
Cons: Front desk hospitality.
The Empire Hotel is ideally located and aesthetically charming. This boutique hotel would be a 4+ star if only the front desk staff could up their customer service game beginning with the way they treat each other in front of guests and perhaps smiling and greeting guests when they arrive. The lack or basic cordiality on multiple occasions was almost shocking. The support staff, however - bellmen, bartenders, and housekeeping personnel - were EXCEPTIONAL!