Ratings based on 5,308 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel near Lincoln Center

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: ice machines on the floors
Location: Lincoln Center is across the street. Carnegie Hall, Central Park, Broadway shows many museums are very short walks,
This is a great hotel if you are doing things on the Upper West Side, especially Lincoln Center events. Lincoln Center Visitor Center is around the corner, where you can purchase discounted tickets for the venues like the NY Philharmonic. It is walking distance to broadway shows, Central Park, museums in Mid-Town, Upper West side sights, and loads of restaurants. It is just steps to the subway. The accommodations are fine, not elegant, with comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, and some rooms have a great view of Lincoln Center, and the little park across the street right where Broadway and Columbus Ave cross. The staff were very helpful. Free internet is available in the lobby, and you can purchase service in your room. My only complaint was the absence of ice machines on each floor. Minor complaint. I would definitely recommend The Empire Hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location when going to Lincoln Center

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Enclose the shower. Brighten the lobby
Location is wonderful, near Lincoln Center, Central Park, high quality restaurants, shopping etc. The hotel is a bit shop worn and our room was dark and small. Bathroom shower was not enclosed resulting in a very wet floor. Lobby is uninspiring but the attached Chowder House restaurant is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Across the street from Lincoln Center

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: There was a charge for coffee in the room as well as wifi.
This great hotel is located directly across the street from Lincoln center. It is surrounded by great restaurants. The room was small, but clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

good time in NYC

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: décor was fun - rooms are small but you get used to it.
Cons: Pleas don't charge for in-room coffee...especially when there isn't 'real' cream to put in it. Starbucks next door was cheaper and had real cream:)
Location: everything was easy to get to - we had tickets to the opera so it was a simple walk across the street. Subway was close.
Happily everything went as expected - no surprises. I do wish they had bigger pillows on the bed. I called down for more pillows and they brought me some nice huge fluffy ones ! Bar was nice, staff was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel walking distance to Lincoln Center

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Location and very clean
Cons: Bathroom shower set up
Location: Columbus circle mall, Lincoln center, many restaurants, central park
Check in was very quick and staff was very friendly. We had tickets to Lincoln Center Theatre and it was less than a five minute walk. Hotel was very clean but a little dark. The bathroom shower was a little odd with only half a door to block the water but other than that the room was clean and neat. Staff was very friendly and courteous.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from The Berkshires

Don't bring your dog without your checkbook

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Location
They advertise themselves as pet friendly with a $25 fee for a dog. But when you get there, they surprise you with a $100 cleaning fee, even if you left the room spotless. Rooms are very cramped. Only good thing about this joint is the location. Expedia is at fault too because their people said nothing about the mandatory cleaning charge. We certainly won't be booking with you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lawrence, Ks

Nice hotel and central to alot of attractions.

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful when our flight was cancelled due to the blizzard and was able to allow us to stay in the same room for the extra night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Location, a Little Funky

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Love the location and the great staff. Rooms are small, but you're not in NYC to be in your room after all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Dette var ingen stor opplevelse. Hotellet var generelt relativt slitent, og rommet vårt var meget lytt. Vi kunne høre hva de på naborommet snakket om.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Great hotel with great transport links to 1 2 3 subways which pretty much go everywhere you need to be in New York