Ratings based on 2,468 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas TX

Empire Hotel Review

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Ambiance and friendliness of staff.
Cons: HVAC/Radiator noisy.
Location: Central Park. Ballet. Broadway Shows. Discount tickets in same block/building.
Love this hotel. Not my first stay here. Only thing is that the HVAC is loud and needs work. Bathrooms are tiny. The rest is wonderful and lovely. Great ambiance and cleanliness. Super friendly front desk. Front desk is open 24 hours a day. Fabulous location to the NY Ballet, Broadway shows and Central Park. I will continue to stay at this hotel on my trips to New York.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking your time and writing this detailed review about the Empire. We are very glad to know our staff was accommodating and friendly. Also thank you for compliments on the ambiance and cleanliness. I apologize for the noise the radiator was making in your room. Please reach out to our responsive front desk team with your concern and we will be more than happy to eliminate any issue you may encounter. We are glad you keep coming back to the Empire. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Heaters/AC are old and don't work properly. Room was freezing, fan for heat had to be repaired. Brought up small portable heater so I can shower. Used small heater each morning. Said fixed fan, but only worked occasionally. Had no room to move me to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a feedback about your stay. We apologize that room conditions were unacceptable while you were staying with us. Also please accept our apologies that it was impossible for us to relocate you that night. We really hope you would give us another chance to reverse your first quite unpleasant experience and provide you with an excellent service on your next visit to the Empire. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Older hotel redone.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Trying to make it a hip hotel. Deluxe room with king size bed a nice size but the bathroom was very small. The sink was not of a style to hold water or drain properly. Too flat. Shower too small. Overhead rain style inadequate and no shower door just a small glass fixed wall. Toilet small too. Price of $7.50 for a bottle of Fiji water a rip off! Had a forecasted snow day in NY and room never was made up and no explanation by management given. Hotel overall needs a good scrubbing and brightening up. They must have gotten a deal on wall paper, carpet and drapery throughout the hotel as it is very dark and too busy. Bar area ok but the rest of the colors are black, brown and other awful designs. Otherwise, great location with lots of restaurants nearby and a Starbucks next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time and writing about your experience at the Empire. We apologize for not meeting your standards with design and pricing. Thank you for the compliment on our location and mu apologies on the limited service on the snowstorm day due to the low level of staffing on that night (we tried to place the notice for each guest in the rooms - again we apologize if you didn't receive it). Overall thank you for your feedback. I hope we can reconnect in the future and provide you with a better service. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Good location! I hope I will stay there for next time as well, but the room temperature that I stayed this time was super HOT!!! Even I opened the window, it was still hot... I couldn't sleep well in fact. I should tell hotel staff next time, if the same thing happens.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking your time and letting us know of your experience. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience with the room temperature. It is absolutely unacceptable that you had to stay in such uncomfortable conditions, I would prefer you informed our front desk team of the issue and they would take care of it immediately. We still hope you will give us another chance to provide you with an excellent service and welcome you back to the Empire hotel. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Convenient Location

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: The hotel rates are affordable, and the staff is friendly and helpful.
Cons: Maintenance of rooms. My bathroom sink did not drain properly, and the main light in the bathroom was burnt out.
Location: For opera lovers, the few steps to the Metropolitan Opera are a major advantage, especially late at night after the performance.
The main advantage of this hotel is its proximity to Lincoln Center, to a Metro Station, to a City Bus stop, to Central Park, and to a Starbucks Cafe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Daria Odintsova , Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely feedback and all the compliments on our staff and the neighborhood. We are glad you loved your stay here and please accept our apologies on the little imperfections as clogged sink and burnt out light bulb (we hope our engineering department did assist you with that immediately). We hope to have you staying at the Empire hotel in a near future again! Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lincoln Center Getaway

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The lobby is great for a drink or meeting friends or clients. The staff has always been professional and efficient yet not overly friendly.
Cons: There is some wear that's evident in the rooms. This, in my opinion, is something that should be monitored and remedied.
Location: This hotel is literally at the front of Lincoln Center and a short walk to Time Warner Center. Great location convenient to all of NYC.
I've been staying at the Empire Hotel for a few years and it does not disappoint. I find the interiors and rooms charming in an old New York way and consider it a great escape when I have to be in the city. My stays range from one to three nights and they have been consistent and pleasant each time. The standard rooms are on the small side but there are choices so if you really need more space, pay for one of the larger rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from australia

Trip to USA

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Clean rooms, friendly and relax atmosphere
Location: location is good. fairly close to shopping, Central park and Theater district.
The Hotel is in nice location. Front desk operation is excellent. Front door attendants were friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and Beds are good. House keeping Staff are friendly and work around-you. Overall have a nice experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick and easy stay at a great location!

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: The staff was helpful and guided me through a series of questions with genuine interest and attention. I really appreciated their time!
Cons: Nothing.
The location was great but the hotel was better...The staff was efficient, friendly, and accommodating - what more could I have asked for? Nothing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
What an amazing review! Thank you for "5 stars" and all the compliments to our courteous staff! We are happy to serve our guests and receive such appreciative feedback as yours! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you at the Empire soon again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Decent price for a not-so-decent hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2017
I was excited to stay at the Empire just because of the hype of the overall hotel, however I was not pleased with our stay. It started at check in, they let me know they had no double beds available and "upgraded" me and two friends to the "king suite." I guess the king suite would have been nice if I actually wanted to pay less and not get the second bed. We got to check in early and arrived at the room. It was clean, but we were not impressed with the "pull out" bed that my third friend had to sleep on. As the gentlemen was making the bed he saw her horrified look and brought a "mattress topper." The next morning she said it wasn't too bad sleeping on and things seemed fine until we realized the shower had absolutely no hot water in the dead of winter. All three of us had to take freezing cold showers and we were very unhappy. I called the front desk and let them know it was unacceptable. They told me they would switch us rooms to a double room. When we finally were able to switch rooms our luggage was about 20 minutes late so we literally took matters into our own hands and tried to track them down ourselves. Also - what hotel doesn't have free wifi in the rooms? I feel like a place that charges for everything else (even a bottle of water for $8) should at least provide something free of charge? DO NOT RECOMMEND. Would rather stay at a Marriott.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for the opera

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Great location, friendly staff but our room was uncomfortably hot. We had the air conditioner running all night which didn't help much. Brought it to the bellboy's attention but he didn't know what to do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 1, 2017 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time and letting us know about your experience at the Empire. First and foremost let me apologize for the inconvenience you had with the AC malfunction and the room temperature. You should have brought it up to our Front desk attention so we could send an engineer up or relocate you if the issue couldn't be fixed on the spot. We still hope to reconnect in the future and meet all your expectations next time in order to get "5 stars" from you. Thank you again for the review. Warm regards,