Ratings based on 5,548 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016
Very nice hotel in a great location highly recommend :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location but could you some improvements

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Hotel is in a great location. Staff is friendly. Great shopping access (Century 21) Subway and Lincoln Center right outisde
Cons: Shower door could be added so it does not get wet and slipper in the bathroom A bit kid friendly would be nice. Amenities were non-existing
Location: Great location for shopping, dining, theater. Lincoln Center, Central Park and museum close by.
This hotel requires you to pay for every bit of amenities which are commonly free at most hotels. ($8 for bottled water) Internet connection is $15 per device/ per day, free wifi in the lobby, it is really crowed in the lobby with PC users. $50 to have the mini-bar removed as restocking fee (little kids in the room). The packets of coffee is $3. (Starbucks in same building). Shower has no door, water sprays everywhere, causing a wet bathroom (Shower only in the room). Shower lever to switch to hand held shower was broken. Very easy to mistake amenities for charged items for foreign guest. The location is great for shopping and theater, close to the subway. Safe area and staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devine, TX

Nice hotel close to ABC Studio and Central Park.

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Nice staff and clean.
Location: Nice hotel close to ABC Studio and Central Park. Close to Times Square and Lincoln Center is right across the street!
Nice hotel close to ABC Studio and Central Park. Close to Times Square and Lincoln Center is right across the street! There is a Starbucks next door and also a drugstore a few doors down which is very convenient. Staff was friendly and rooms were clean. I needed to print something and business center was in the lobby and very easy to use.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel buena zona, precio/calidad promedio

Posted May 2, 2016
Cuartos muy chicos, con n aspecto descuidado y por querer ser modernistas tienen dos cajones en todo el cuarto para guardar cosas queno sirven de nada.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Great location

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: The view Helpful staff Quiet
Cons: The air system. It was difficult to turn the nob. The unit was very old, temperature difficult to control, and dirty.
Location: We attended the NYC ballet across the street at Lincoln center. Central Park is super close Great restaurants steps from the hotel
My family and I loved this location. It was close to the park, shopping, subway, and the Lincoln Center. The room was quiet and we loved the view. Just be aware that everything in the room costs extra, including Internet, the coffee for the coffee maker, and even the bottled water.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Empire

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Great location
Excellent location and a lovely view out onto the Lincoln Center. The room did have some peeling wallpaper etc but a great size and reasonably up to date. A good experience
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We Enjoyed Our 1 Night Stay

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: Quiet, hip decor, comfortable room/shower, great price and close to everything.
Cons: If the room coffee and wifi were complimentary I would have given a 5 star review.
Location: Located a short block from Central Park and major subway hub with views of Lincoln Center. Starbucks on the corner.
Booked this room for a friend and I knowing we were not going to be there much but to sleep and it was perfect! Quiet, hip decor, comfortable room/shower, great price and close to everything. If the room coffee and wifi were complimentary I would have given a 5 star review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prime location (if you're an Opera lover!)

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: See text above.
Cons: That is a difficult question. I told them that the king sized be was too much for that room. A queen sized would do nicely.
Location: The Metropolitan Opera. Concerts at Alice Tully Hall. There's "Fiorello's" for fine Italian fare. Columbus Circle and Central Park nearby
I have been to New York in every season, and going back in time for sixty years, I have been to the Met numerous times with a variety of lodging arrangements. This is the first time I have stayed at the Empire. This hotel is truly across the street from the Met. On this point alone, I know that I will stay there, next year when we return to NY for the opera. Let's face it: the staff, up and down the command chain, is friendly and prompt: the first evening we could not make the shower work; within an hour of our call to report it, someone came and fixed the problem. Our room was clean, well served by housekeeping. Two annoying aspects of the room: first, there was a well-stocked fridge, Unfortunately, everything was obscenely expensive. Second, the room was sold as a room for two persons. A king sized bed occupies almost all the floor space. So a person looking out the window while his companion is unpacking, she standing in the corridor to the bathroom running between the wall and the foot of the bed. Now suppose the man at the window wants to use the bathroom. Not having anticipated this problem, his companion has several items from their luggage, littering the floor. She is effectively blocking the passage to the bathroom. Not a difficult problem, but that isn't the point. The point is that we faced little annoyances like one above several times.Way too often. Yet not often enough to keep us from going back to the Empire Hotel for the Opera.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, FL

Nice hotel for the culture lover

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Across the street from Metropolitan Opera and Fordham University campus. Comfortable walking distance to MoMA, Met, and Museum of Natural History. Great affordable food at Hell's Kitchen hip district.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Boutique Hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Quiet doors and soundproofing.
Location: Across from Lincoln Center, close to Central Park, lots of restaurants.
Great location, boutique hotel with nice lobby and bar area. Decor in corridors is strange. Standard rooms are small, but this is to be expected in NYC. Noise was the biggest problem for us. Even though we had an inside room by choice, the doors from other rooms closed with loud bangs. The cleaning staff was not quiet, and conversation in the hallways was easy to hear. In short, soundproofing and quiet closing doors are not priorities at the Empire.