Ratings based on 5,331 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4 nights stay

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Great location. Hotel front desk wasn't so prompt and staff was slow and rude. Manager was prompt and resolved issues quickly though. Bedroom windows are old and wind draft coming in. Bathroom was super small. Overall good for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sf calif

Five star experience in older hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Staff is very friendly, definitely ***** ! Beds are super comfortable & well-dressed & seem new. The only "down" note in this older hotel is that bathrooms are cramped & a bit worn. But bathrooms -- and entire rooms -- are so CLEAN it's not really a down-side, at least for me. The Empire is THE MOST convenient hotel to The Met -- I've stayed several times & will return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lincoln Center/the heart of the arts in NYC

Posted Feb 11, 2016
I love the Hotel Empire due to location and convenience of food and coziness. I used to stay here in the 80's 90's when it wasn't so nicely refurbished and I always liked it alongside the old Mayflower Hotel around the corner( no longer there:() The staff at Emilire was cheery and helpful and upgraded me which always feels good. The room was tiny but perfect for my overnight. I loved my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisonburg, VA

Great location, excellent staff.

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Great location, excellent staff. Close to central park and metro stations. Nice updated rooms (but A/C needs to be renovated asap)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Sentralt Hotell med givende omgivelser.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Jeg tilbrakte 6 netter på Empire hotell NY. Svært fornøyd med personalet, de åpnet døren for meg, bar veskene mine og var imøtekommende fra første stund. Resepsjonistene var svært hjelpsomme med alle henvendelser og var generelt sett service mindre fra topp til tå. Spesielt consierge Chris og Yuri. Hotellets plassering er utvilsomt et av manhattans beste alternativer i denne prisklassen, sentralt både til lokale italienske restauranter, times square og svært nære til nærmeste subway. Rommet jeg fikk tildelt var på 5. Etasje og bar preg av slitasje og mye bruk, og med ingen utsikt og en bråkete aircondition som var fjernstyrt gjorde temperaturtilpasning umulig. Vaskepersonalet gjorde det som forventes av dem, og jeg kunne fint legge igjen verdi gjenstander på rommet uten frykt for at det var borte da jeg kom tilbake på rommet. Stort minus var dårlig Internett forbindelse i lobbyen og kun pay to use Internett på rommet, men en starbucks rett rundt hjørnet som hadde godt og gratis Internett. Anbefaler dette hotellet dersom du er opptatt av god service, lokal beliggenhet og relativt god pris.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2016
In-wall heat/AC didn't work, I had window open with 32F temperature outside, but my room was hot, Later I found out that there was AC unit next to my window, I guess It was blowing hot air. Room smelled like Bbq, I didn't request room change. 4Star, but need some fixing, Paint, scratches, etc, Great location by the MET. Staff very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel near Lincoln Center

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: ice machines on the floors
Location: Lincoln Center is across the street. Carnegie Hall, Central Park, Broadway shows many museums are very short walks,
This is a great hotel if you are doing things on the Upper West Side, especially Lincoln Center events. Lincoln Center Visitor Center is around the corner, where you can purchase discounted tickets for the venues like the NY Philharmonic. It is walking distance to broadway shows, Central Park, museums in Mid-Town, Upper West side sights, and loads of restaurants. It is just steps to the subway. The accommodations are fine, not elegant, with comfortable beds, nice bathrooms, and some rooms have a great view of Lincoln Center, and the little park across the street right where Broadway and Columbus Ave cross. The staff were very helpful. Free internet is available in the lobby, and you can purchase service in your room. My only complaint was the absence of ice machines on each floor. Minor complaint. I would definitely recommend The Empire Hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location when going to Lincoln Center

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Location, price
Cons: Enclose the shower. Brighten the lobby
Location is wonderful, near Lincoln Center, Central Park, high quality restaurants, shopping etc. The hotel is a bit shop worn and our room was dark and small. Bathroom shower was not enclosed resulting in a very wet floor. Lobby is uninspiring but the attached Chowder House restaurant is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Across the street from Lincoln Center

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: There was a charge for coffee in the room as well as wifi.
This great hotel is located directly across the street from Lincoln center. It is surrounded by great restaurants. The room was small, but clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

good time in NYC

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: décor was fun - rooms are small but you get used to it.
Cons: Pleas don't charge for in-room coffee...especially when there isn't 'real' cream to put in it. Starbucks next door was cheaper and had real cream:)
Location: everything was easy to get to - we had tickets to the opera so it was a simple walk across the street. Subway was close.
Happily everything went as expected - no surprises. I do wish they had bigger pillows on the bed. I called down for more pillows and they brought me some nice huge fluffy ones ! Bar was nice, staff was nice.