Ratings based on 5,634 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerset

A Week in New York

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: The door staff were really nice and helpful,ask them to call you a taxi and it would be there in a flash,help with your luggage,no trouble.
Cons: Bathroom needs total update and air conditioning could of been a lot better,as sometimes it felt cooler outside than in.Did report it,but no change.
Location: Great location looking up Columbus and Broadway avenue's.Far enough away from madness of Times Square but only 20 min stroll.Central Park 5min,lovely.
Overall it was a lovely experience.It was a busy time of year to go and it was very hot and humid on most days with the odd couple of thunder storms,which did not last very long,but did help to cool things down for a while.It was only a short walk to many places of interest and plenty of restaurants with every type of food you would like,but try everything! not just Burgers or Hot Dogs.We flew via Bristol,Dublin to new York with Aer Lingus,all very good,plus you can go through US immigration at Dublin Airport so you land as a local in New York,only took a few minutes to pick up luggage and into taxi.Riding the Subway is cheap and a good way to get around as long as you like fun rides.Everyone who goes though must visit Ground Zero and go up Freedom Tower,Wow! what a view from the top,but beware,the lift is fast,1250ft in 45 seconds.Doing a circular tour of the city by boat is a must as well,you get to see just about everthing from the comfort of a large tour boat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Great location, disappointing hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Stayed here for 3 nights in junior suite with 2 double beds (family of 4). Check in delayed by 2 hours as room wasn't ready, no natural light in room, no shower screen, tired decor, no free wi-fi other than in very busy lobby. Pool area unavailable 1 day due to private party.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bajaj

excellent location

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The location and staff are the highlights of the empire hotel. The bathrooms are poorly designed needing ventilation. As long as the price is reasonable that can be overlooked for the excellent location at Lincoln Center with easy access to downtown Manhattan.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good stay, easy to get around NYC

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Lovely hotel, a bit tired in the decor. Very comfortable bed, too many extras in the room at high cost. 24 hour drugstore and Starbucks just outside to use instead. Nice pool area. Close to subway. The area seemed quite safe, good places to eat nearby. Would go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Epic at the Empire

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Location, location location.
Cons: It just needs a review of some of the decor but otherwise all OK.
Location: Great location (as already mentioned) central park a very short stroll away and some nice restaurants on Broadway.
I arrived fairly late but was greeted in a warm manner and was impressed with the look and feel of the immediate public areas. My room, whilst not particularly large (single occupancy) was big enough with a decent and very comfortable bed and clean bathroom. It was a little 'tired' in places (the bathroom door could do with repainting) and the air con was a little noisy. The outlook wasn't hugely impressive in the room I was in, looking into a dark well. The staff were mostly helpful and friendly, particularly helpful (but I think overworked - poor chap) was the concierge (sorry didn't get his name, but a definite find - keep him). Disappointed the roof bar wasn't open and not notified before hand that it was closed. Overall a nice stay and will return as the location is excellent!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington KY

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Comfortable and clean. At 5' 1'' could not reach towels, hooks or Kleenex:(. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Excellent location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

goede uitvalsbasis voor een stedentrip NY

Posted May 30, 2016
Fijn hotel, prima personeel en goede voorzieningen
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal location

Posted May 25, 2016
Location: See above
A great hotel located between Lincoln Center and our favorite restaurant, Fiorello's.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manhatten, New York

Hotel in Manhatten

Posted May 25, 2016
The Empire hotel was terrible. The bathrooms are so small that you can't get dress in the bathroom. The closet has a curtain to pull to hide your belongings. My room had no wash cloths. When I called the hotel had no more wash clothes until the next day. When you ask a staff questions they did not know the answer. For example, when I asked staff the price of breakfast, the staff did not know. Each staff gave me a different price. Staff was unaware of what is served. My room had no information on the hotel's restaurant nor information on the city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2016
Very nice hotel in a great location highly recommend :)