Ratings based on 6,124 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb location for Lincoln Center.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location and ambience.
Cons: Towels smelled. Glassware and mugs instead of papercups!
Loved the ambience of the hotel and the location. Strange that there was no glassware or mugs only paper cups. A flaw for a otherwise 4 star hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 21, 2017
Super loud; check-in person was fairly unfriendly. Just handed me my key and looked at me. AC also not very good and it was hot. Had trouble with wireless internet as well. Needs more modernization for plugging in devices. I had to unplug the lamp to charge my phone and apple watch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Empire the best for Opera Lovers

Posted May 17, 2017
Cons: Atmosphere is fine but the Empire hotel could use some more lighting.
Location: I already did that
The Empire Hotel has three things going for it: (1) Proximitty to the MET (2) A variety of good restaurants, and in particular a PAIN QUOTIDIAN at 56 West 65th St, for those with a sweet tooth. On this occasion, we feasted for brunch on Sunday morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 16, 2017
Very convenient to Lincoln center- pleasant helpful staff- should have ice and glasses in room
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Daria Odintsova , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback! We hope to see you at the Empire Hotel again. Warm regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Good basic hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
There's nothing special about this hotel it's a good basic room. It would b good on a trip where you're not spending much time at the hotel. The rooms do have a smell of disinfectant but they are a good decent size the bed is comfortable and the amenities are very adequate. Staff is well trained but slightly inexperienced. Remind me of a European hotel you would find in Germany or Belgium.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Manhattan

Posted May 15, 2017
Super location, right by the Lincoln Center and Central Park. The lobby bar and rooftop bar were both incredible. My room was small but tidy, the shower / bathroom could do with some minor improvements but overall a great trip. I would definitely stay at the Empire hotel again on a future visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Across from Lincoln Center

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: very convenient to Lincoln Center. Rooftop bar is nice.
When I checked in, I was notified that I had an "upgrade" to a room with 2 double bed, though I had reserved a room with a queen. I did not consider that an upgrade, but downgrade as I had no use for the other bed, so I ended up with a smaller bed. The room was on the 2nd story with ugly view of HVAC in back alley. Hardly an upgrade there. The room was also adjoining the Housekeeping closet which I could hear banging all the time from people going in and out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

Unparalleled location

Posted May 12, 2017
The hotel has a retro feel, exotic décor, great location across the street from Lincoln Center and a couple of blocks from the park. Bus and subway stops are steps away. Pasquale, at the reception desk could not have been nicer and made us feel welcome. Rooms were clean amd functional. Only recomendation: wi-fi should be free, like in every other hotel in the States and abroad.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear Pasquale could provide a great assistance. Thank you for the tip, we will take it into consideration. We hope to see you at the Empire again! Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, small rooms

Posted May 10, 2017
We had the most basic room which was pretty small, but it's NYC so that was to be expected. The atmosphere was nice. Great decor. Rooftop bar is very elegant. The bed wasn't the most comfortable ever and the pillows were very flat. Shower only has half of a glass door so water splashes onto the floor. All in all a pleasant stay though!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Daria Odintsova , Hotel Management
We appreciate your honest comments and hope that despite all imperfections you mentioned you will be still coming back to us to experience the best we can offer. Thank you for your review, we will take everything into consideration! We hope to see you at the Empire again. Warm regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel that seems to be going downhill.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location and the door people were pleasant, as were the maids and cleaning staff. Complaints were dealt with when asked.
Cons: Hotel needs a major renov. It has a feel of a cross between retro 60s and "Game of Thrones." Everything - carpeting, wall covering, flooring is old.
Location: The one saving feature is that it is near Lincoln Center and the reason it was selected. The Subway is also nearby, as is Central Park.
I have stayed at this hotel before without any major complaint. On this occasion it did not live up to my prior experience. The room was described as a "Superior Double Room, 2 Double Beds. There was nothing "Superior" about it. It was small and had no dresser. My traveling companion had to use the floor for her clothes. The sink had no stopper. The blinds could not be raised or lowered. There was no overhead lighting and the two lamps added to an overall dark atmosphere - almost impossible for reading. When the hairdresser was plugged in the TV and a lamp shorted. We thus had a plumber for the sink and an electrician to fix the tripped switch or fuse. I asked concierge for an umbrella as it was raining heavily, I was told it was in the closet. Not true. I asked again and was given one somewhat grudgingly as if I were to blame. There was no safe. There was only one comfortable chair. Paper cups. Only one small piece of soap until we asked for more. The shower had no hand grip - bad for elderly guests. Hotel also had a tired look and feel. No Wi-Fi. What was once a desirable hotel felt old and cheap.