Ratings based on 5,831 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent stay in excellent location

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location, style, large room
Cons: Mattress comfort
This was not our first stay at Empire and it was excellent as usual. The location is perfect and convenient to get to, with easy access to the Park and to Lincoln Center. One minor discomfort was that the king mattress had a strange bump in the middle of the bed, but the bed was big enough where it was easy to avoid it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location!

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Centrally located, great atmosphere, beautiful indoor/outdoor lounge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to know you had nothing but positive to say about us! Looking forward to accommodating you at the Empire hotel again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient location, adequate accommodations

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Location, attentive staff.
Cons: Free wifi from room.
Location: Near Lincoln Center and Central Park, easy access to subway.
This hotel is very conveniently located to Lincoln Center and Central Park. Accommodations were adequate, with all amenities except free wifi in room. Space was small, but likely the same at other similarly priced hotels. Staff was helpful and attentive. Restaurant was a little pricey but good, with attentive wait staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking your time and putting such lovely review about us! We are glad to know you liked the location and staff. My apologies for in-room Wi-Fi charge. Despite that we still are looking forward to seeing you at the Empire again! Thank you!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Business as usual

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: The internet service.
Location: Right around the corner from Columbus Circle and Lincoln Center. Plenty of shopping and food. A brisk walk to Time Square and plenty of Subway access.
The staff was accommodating and especially nice. I spent a great deal of my time working in my room. Unfortunately, the internet service was beyond unacceptable and poor. I had to revert to using my TWC Wifi account as even with the paid service I wasn't able to get a strong enough connection to complete my work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback. I truly apologize for all troubles you had with the internet connection, it's absolutely unacceptable especially when you paid for it. I will discuss this issue with our upper management. Thank you for pointing out our great location and staff. Looking forward to seeing you at the Empire again despite of things you mentioned. Thank you again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Great experience but rooms too dark

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Location, convenience, lobby. Not noisy and crowded like the Times Square area.
Cons: see above
Location: Restaurants galore, shopping at Columbus Circle, Central Park, Lincoln Center all within short walking distance. Calm section of Manhattan.
Great hotel for convenience, near Central Park, Lincoln Center, and Columbus Circle. We had a great room rate through Expedia. My only complaint is that the rooms are too gloomy and dark with black-out curtains, dim in-room lighting, and dark wallpaper and interior furnishings. It is impossible to bring in outdoor daylight because windows face directly into other hotel rooms and leave no privacy. I don't know why they didn't opt for the inexpensive and easy fix of hanging sheer privacy curtains that still allow light in. These unusually dark rooms may not deter a guest staying for one or two nights, but would discourage return guests with longer stays. I have had 3 stays in this hotel, two in a single room, and recently in a junior suite and the dim lighting was the same for all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking your time and writing a review about us here. We are glad you liked our location and ambiance. But I am so sorry to hear that room was too dark by your standards and you haven't felt private enough while the curtain stayed open. We have so many rooms facing with a street view where you get a lot of sunlight, and I wish you could let us know about that issue during your stay so we could relocate you to a brighter room. Please come and stay with us again. We'll do our best to meet all your expectations next time. Thank you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Madison, CT

A few issues

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Position
Cons: See above ...
1: no remote control for TV 2: coffee maker didn't work 3: bathroom door locked on its own from the outside and wouldn't unlock
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback. I hope you reported the issue with the locked bathroom door you had during your stay and Engineering fixed it for you. I apologize for the missing remote and dis-functional coffee maker. That's absolutely doesn't match our standards here at the Empire. Please do come back to stay with us again so we could restore our reputation in your eyes. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Accommodating/location

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The hotel staff and housekeeping were very accommodating with extra pillows and the knowledge of New York for my questions. Very clean room. The location of this hotel was perfect for me, close to Subway, and walking distance to Central Park and Time Square.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
We appreciate your brief but lovely review! I will definitely share this with my staff. We are very glad you loved your stay at the Empire and looking forward to seeing you here soon again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Choose your room with care.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
If you want to have a peaceful sleep be sure to ask for an interior room inward racing. The noise from outside is continuous 24-7. On the positive side the room was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful. The subway is max 5 minutes walk from the hotel so great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2016 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking your time and leaving such positive review about our hotel and staff! We are very glad you have a great experience at the Empire and looking forward to you coming back! Thanks again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

best place to stay in whole city

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: This hotel goes above and beyond, 3 days in NYC and I stayed at this hotel for 2. Instead of paying for a third night knowing I wasn't going to be in my room for last day at all. So they offered to keep my luggage in storage, i could check it in and out as I pleased which saved me money and made my NYC experience the best. Plus very clean and helpful staff make you feel at home.
Cons: Can't think of one thing to complain about. They provide and go above and beyond to there best on any request
Location: Very close to everything from the Chrysler building up to top of Central Park. Starbucks feet away from hotel and 24 hour diners nearby
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your great feedback. We appreciate you time and opinion. I will definitely share it with my staff as well. We hope you will be coming back to the Empire soon! We are always here for you to provide as best service as we can.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just wasn't up the scratch

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Firstly,The room was a lot smaller than the pictures led us to believe. The room itself wasn't that great either after that. There was no thermostat, so the heater/AC unit either sprayed very warm. Or very cold air into the room, with the occupants having no choice which. Being a busy city, you'd expect fairly decent sound proofing on the window, or at least some, however, it effectively felt like there was none. If we had thr window open or closed. The noise from the street was just as loud. Considering that New Yorker drive with their horns, it can be quite loud. The bathroom also was missing a door on the shower. This lead to wet floors, and was quite annoying. For somewhere that rates itself as a 4 star hotel, I expected much better value for money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Daria Odintsova, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking your time and sharing your thoughts about the stay at the Empire. First of all let me truly apologize you experienced such inconvenience with AC unit in your room. And I understand how noisy city can be with an open window. And I am also sorry to hear you were not pleased with the shower configuration. I apologize on the behalf of the whole team we didn't meet your expectations. Thank you again for the review, it's important to us.