Ratings based on 1,462 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Feb 16, 2017
This hotel was in a very convienent location. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly they even asked if we had any plans for the day so they could point us in the right direction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus

Great Location

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Cons: No coffee available. Breakfast buffet awful. Upside -- very short walk to Starbucks -- fun NYC experience -- nice way to start the morning.
Location: Across the street from Natural History Museum and NYC Historical Society Museum
Great location, very close to subway. All of Manhattan very accessible by subway and bus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Close to Central Park, the hotel is clean and comfortable. The facade is getting an upgrade but that didn't interfere with my stay. The staff was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Weekend stay at Excelsior. It was nice, the location is perfect and pretty much what you pay for. The room is simple but comfortable and the staff is very kind and helpful. We had a very comfortable stay and would do it again. Only warning is that there is no fridge in the room and must be paid for separately. Otherwise, everything was lovely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Dingy and Run-Down

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Our flight leaving New York got cancelled and we had to stay one more night. Since our hotel did not have availability we decided to stay here at Excelsior. It was a complete disappointment. The heater in our hotel room was not working and we wanted to leave but after they sent someone to come and fix it we decided to stay. Although our room did heat up, there's no denying the hotel is run down. The bathroom was not clean and the window did not close all the way. Worst of all, when we got into the elevator to go to dinner there was a huge vomit stain on the elevator door. I would never stay here again and I wouldn't ever recommend it to anyone I know. There's so many great places in New York and this isn't one of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, Friendly staff

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: all
Location: Best location, near subway, as well as central park
Everything was very good, reception, service, clean rooms excellent location next to central park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Delightful hotel.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Great location. Very friendly staff. Immaculately kept. Will return soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Reservations Manager Over-Charged Me $80 and r

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Cons: Stop over-charging people. The reservation manager refused to refund my $80 that she over charged me saying I made a reservation for 4 people, not 2
The hotel reservations manager over-charged me $80 and they refused to credit it back even after multiple phone calls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Staff very helpful, great location and a wonderful experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel for holiday to visit family

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: quaint, quiet, clean, location
Cons: better quality sheets and pillow cases
Location: excellent
very good. sheets not the best. very clean, well maintained. will go back