Ratings based on 3,237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CLE

Far exceeded expeditions

Posted Feb 1, 2016
I would come back without hesitation. Staff was helpful, happy and accommodating. A trendy and top rated Yelp restaurant and bar in Lobby. Perfect location for walking and subway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2016
clean comfortable beds and easy check in. Staff was fine. Location is great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible room

Posted Jan 19, 2016
The room was dirty, the flush wasnt working and noisy all the time. The heater also was really really noisy. The bath tube doestn work also, the water took só much time to go alway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Great hotel!

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location!!
Cons: Way too hot in room. We turned off the heat and it was still hot!
Location: Museum of Natural History, planetarium, Zabars and great restaurants.
Great hotel with perfect location (for upper west side) and a great parking deal. Parked for $30 a day a Museum of Natural History - which is across the street. They give you a voucher at check in. Quite a bit less than parking elsewhere for 24 hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, quaint feeling, great location

Posted Jan 17, 2016
I was right next to the natural history museum. There are many great places in the immediate area and you are less than a block from the subway that will take you right to Times Square. It's excellent. Staff were extremely pleasant and my room was beautiful. I guess my only "complaint" would be that the windows were clearly very old and therefore the temperature was tough to maintain at a steady level because they let in so much cold air and they did allow some noise in. Still slept like a rock and was very comfortable though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from louisville,ky

Cozy hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Cons: The heater was a little noisy and hot.
Location: Great restaurants, museums and Central Park are all within a few blocks. There is a subway line within a block.
The hotel was very cozy and in a great location. The staff was very accomadating and the room was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Museums and Central Park at your door

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Pros: Location, staff friendliness, room size, everything
Location: American Museum of Natural History, Central Park, Children's Museum of Manhattan, Metropolitan Museum, shopping on Broadway, etc
This is a fantastic New York hotel especially for families travelling with children. They have rooms with a separate sitting area that can be closed off once the kids go to sleep giving the adults some chill out time. Not only that, but the location is all you could ever ask for. Across the road from the American Museum of Natural History, a block from Central Park and the 81st Street subway station. This was our second Christmas family trip to NYC and the Excelsior was even better that where we stayed last time. We were so happy and would stay there again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very comfortable hotel in quiet location

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Pros: Location. Good facilities. Oak panels and warm atmosphere
Cons: Should't charge for Wifi use and Internet.
Location: Great location. Almost opposite natural history museum.
Only two minutes from subway and Central Park. Quiet, safe neighbourhood. Cosy atmosphere and helpful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

bad concierge

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Concierge lady was in a really bad mood. Never been treated that way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Denmark

This is a great hotel close to Central Park

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: Close to Central Park, close to Museum of Natural History, close to many restaurants, close to the Subway. Nice staff and a concierge in the hotel
Cons: Free internet and a fridge in the room.
Location: Many restaurants nearby Visit Central Park and the Museum of Natural History.
This is a great hotel which is close to Central Park, close to Museum of Natural History, close to many restaurants and close to the Subway. We stayed at the hotel from 25th of December to 3rd of January. The room was at the 7th floor and it was nice. We had a Queen bed and it was very good to sleep in. The room also had a desk, TV, air-condition and with a view towards the Museum, which we specific ask for at check-in. The bathroom is nice, specially the bathtube. The only things which is missing, is a small fridge and free internet. We use the hotel as a starting point to see New York and experience this great city. This hotel can without doubt be recommended to anyone who wants to stay in a quit area in New York city, but still close to restaurants etc.