Ratings based on 3,570 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Excellent location, pleasant staff, lovely room

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Great location, near Central Park and a subway stop, with clean, quiet rooms.
Cons: Spring for air conditioning in the hallways, and do something about the food "smells" in the elevators.
Location: Natural History Museum, Andy's Deli, Unique Boutique Thrift Store, Ray's Pizza, Central Park, Gristedes Supermarket, subway stop 1/2 block away....
I arrived at 6:30a, not expecting my room to be available, but was delighted to be checked in immediately. My room was lovely and quiet, and scrupulously clean. Staff members were pleasant, professional, helpful, whether it was daytime or late at night. Other reviewers have complained about lack of coffee maker and fridge, but you can get coffee (from a machine) on the first floor, or better yet, from Andy's Deli, which is nearby, for super-cheap (they have nice breakfast sandwiches made to order too). But I'd stay at the Excelsior again in a heartbeat because I loved the location so much!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and great location

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Renovated room in fine hotel. Helpful, professional and courteous staff. Perfect for overnight stay with convenient parking across the street and restaurant and shopping around the corner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers Fl

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Great experience. It was right where we wanted to be close to museums and Central Park!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near to many attractive city points.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Very wonderful places around & many people from around the world as well. A unique experience and a very deep feeling near the World Trade Center memorial. The silence there was breathtaking.God bless America.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

Near my daughter's home.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Well located, quiet room.
Cons: Coffee in the room in the morning.
Location: N/A
Esperience was fine. Never saw any of hte staff, so cannot comment above. Only the door man who was cordial.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Convenient

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Perfect place to stay with kids! Very convenient to Central Park, museum and food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Claremont, CA

Always a great stay.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Location, Cost, comfort.
Cons: room temperature control
Location: Only the whole of Manhattan! Central park, Museum Mile, etc...Plenty of restaurants and attractions. Easy to get to and find. A subway stop nearby!
This is our second stay at the Excelsior and they did not disappoint!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Excellent location. Close to Museum of Natural History, Central Park & Subway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to Central Park.

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Cons: The tub drained very slowly.
Location: Central Park, Museum of Natural History, nice restaurants, close to the subway.
Veeey comfortable and convenient location. Nice restaurant/bar in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Hotel was beautiful and very clean . I can not say enough about the staff from the front desk , housekeeping and concerige, all were very helpful and courteous.