Ratings based on 3,408 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed-bug, no-self parking at all, stay away

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Cons: Bed-bugSSS!!
Got bitten by bed-bugs. No-self parking at all (very limited-street parking...the information provided is wrong.). Have to park in the museum parking lot (10 minute walking)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t

Weekend wedding guest

Posted Aug 14, 2016
In town for wedding - close to park, museum nat history, Zabars and good west side eateries! Usually stay in midtown -- this was A little pricey but a great stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham UK

Great hotel a stone's throw from Central park

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Incredibly friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Tea/Coffee making facilities in rooms
Location: Quiet (relatively) location very close to natural History museum and Central Park and a short walk (10 minutes) to the awesome Metropolitan Museum
I stayed at Excelsior with my 16 year old son with the aim of enjoying the full NY experience and it proved to be ideal for our purposes. Less than 5 minute walk to Central Park (beautiful) and Natural History Museum (amazing) and ideally placed for the subway to all the incredible stuff down town. There are also dozens of great little delis and coffee shops within a very short walk plus a fantastic street market for local craft foods on sundays. Only criticisms - some rooms beginning to look a little "tired" plus (and I think this is a UK thing) lack of tea/coffee making facilities in rooms. But overall very good and the staff, like virtualy all New Yorkers, are so friendly and helpful. A great stay and we both said we will go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New-York

Hôtel particulièrement bien placé

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Vue et emplacement.
Cons: Il faut vite démonter l’échafaudage. Les clims sont un peu bruyantes.
Location: A proximité de Central Park. Tout New York vous attends. Le métro est à moins de 5 minutes à pied.
Sans l’échafaudage installé pour le ravalement de la façade nous aurions eu une vue parfaite sur Manhattan. Le personnel est plutôt sympathique, un membre de l'équipe peu mieux faire. La chambre (Suite) suffisamment grande et équipée. Lits très confortables et hôtel plutôt bien entretenu, mais kitch pour la décoration ce qui n'est pas désagréable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

Very close to Central Park on the Upper West Side

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Definitely the location. We're former Upper West Siders so this was really a terrific location for both Central Park access and West Side
Cons: Welcome at reception as well as the AC in the rooms that was loud and inconsistent. About par for old NYC buildings.
Location: Definitely great for Central Park access and Museum of Natural Science and History. Nice to stay away from the mid-town crazies.
The lobby and reception was so-so at best. No room service was a bit of a headache after flying in and arriving with kids from Europe and the typical mid-night hunger attacks. Rooms are fine though albeit could use a good AC renovation or replacement. Overall, good value for the money and location. Enjoyed the stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for a one nighter

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Fantastic location, great room and staff. Only complaints are no coffee maker and fridge in the room. Great for one night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Great location at a reasonable price!

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Location, style, staff
Cons: Shower head! And instructions on the safe. Free coffee in the morning would be nice, too!
Location: Upper West side is awesome! Museum of Natural History, Central Park, and Columbus Ave with lots of shopping and great restaurants.
I love this classic old NY hotel and the location, which really can't be beat! Right next to the Museum of Natural History, and in between Central Park and Columbus Ave. Lots of great restaurants in the area and great shopping, too. The only thing that was not ideal was the shower. It just dripped...as in no spray whatsoever. The shower head looked really old and even rusted. If they would just swap out the shower head in room 809 for another more modern one and update the illegible and inaccurate instructions on the safe, I would have given the facilities a higher score. Those are small things, but they are frustrating and make a difference. However, I would go back for all the other reasons I stated, and hopefully next time, the small issues I had will be resolved!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location - lovely old classic.

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Cons: We got woken two mornings in a row by the housekeeping staff (at about 8:30 am with loud knocks followed by opening our door).
The hotel was under renovation so covered in scaffolding and I think that's why we got a really good deal by NYC standards. Given what we paid, it was a great stay. Location is excellent (three block walk to the 79 Street 1 Train) and just a two minute walk to Central Park. Air conditioning worked nicely and we slept well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too Dated

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Location and Calle Ocho
Cons: Everything! Needs huge overhaul
Location: Natural History Museum, Great restaurants, shopping, walking, Central Park, movies on Broadway Lincoln Center area
Hotel is too dated and old for my taste. It needs a huge overhaul within each room internally and externally. In fact they are working on the external portion now. My room was soso and bathroom was dirty. I was cleaning the bathroom myself. Location is great and Calle Ocho Restaurant is wonderful. I will not stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced and terrible service

Posted Jul 31, 2016
We have stayed at the Ecvelsior before because of its location but each time it seems the price goes up and the service gets worse. We walked in with our bags and despite two porters standing at the desk, no one came to help is with them. The room was on the third floor facing a dark, unattractive courtyard. The staff gave is three different answers about the cost of late check out and they were engaged in very unprofessional behavior at the front desk with patrons all around. How they get away with charging so much for this is beyond me.