Ratings based on 2,191 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Watch out for hidden fees

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Staff were very friendly.
Location: Central location - close to MOMA and Grand Central Station
This was a very nice hotel with excellent staff – our one complaint relates to a “resort fee” of $27.22 added to each night’s stay to pay for the “free internet” and “free in-room coffee” as well as fitness center and business center access whether you use these facilities or not. If these are mandatory fees for every room they should be added to the price of the room when booking the hotel, and not added as a mandatory "resort" fee in small print at the bottom of the page. The hotel does not have a “resort”, and when we complained to the manager about this added fee, which we feel was misleading, he explained that it was really a “facilities fee”, and that the term “resort fee” was wording chosen by Expedia. We asked Expedia and they advised that this wording is chosen by the hotel. The hotel general manager, who was very polite, did agree to refund this charge. By all means stay at this hotel – but be forewarned that the price will be US$27.22 per night more then you thought when you booked it on Expedia. We would not have booked this hotel had we known this – it would not have passed our price filter request. On the plus side, the hotel staff was extremely friendly, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Were it not for this misleading mandatory “resort fee” we would consider staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Very nice hotel in midtown east neighborhood

Posted May 9, 2017
Booked the hotel for me and 2 friends. Got a suite that came with 2 queens and a sofa sleeper, so each of us had our own bed. Room includes a balcony and a kitchenette. Great room but the hotel doesn't have a lot of amenities. I wasn't looking for amenities anyway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad business practice

Posted May 9, 2017
Not happy. We made reservation on line and got the price for three nights. We paid in full. Once we check in the hotel state that they charge restore fee which cost us more than $100-which mean the rate was 20% more then the quote online. We got scam, before booking with them check the other "chargers"
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2017
the "complimentary" happy hour and $10.00 per room "free purchases" are anything but free. Got an invoice at end of stay for $25 per day per room ...............
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The staff is so nice and eager to please The rooms are very comfortable and large
Location: The location is great, you can walk to a lot of destinations
This is a lovely hotel, the location is great, the room is comfortable and large, but the bathroom is tiny and there were little to no bathroom items, example no shower caps, no Q tips The staff is terrific
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location not very good hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The room was ok but not great. The shower was small and there was no tub. The housekeeping services were very poor. Otherwise, The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. However there were no barhrobes in the room and no ice bucket. Given the choices in NYC for hotels it is very unlikely that I would come back to this one
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Good location.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff
Location: Many midtown sights within walking distance.
Quiet hotel. Wine hour an extra treat. All staff helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place right in midtown. Good value.

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Rooms are compact but well laid out. Comfy bed. Quiet in the room. There were some infrastructure issues: hot water was turned off for emergency repairs for a while and the wi-fi was out for a while. But otherwise this was an excellent place to stay with a GREAT friendly staff!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Water damage and leaking/clanging pipes!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Water damage and leaking/clanging pipes made for a horrible experience. Couple that with no internet for the duration of the stay (I was there for three days) and it translated to an overall unpleasant experience. Phone in room did not work so when pipes started banging non-stop at 1:30 am, had to go to lobby and report it. Was told I'd be moved rooms while I was at meetings. Packed up all my stuff, yet I returned after being gone for 8 hours to same banging pipes and no room move. After waiting around for another hour, was finally moved. "Wine and cheese hour" is exaggerated...there was nothing other than wine both nights I went down. Better hotels in the area...seek them out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Spacious room and location, social hour, $10 cupboard credit, car service to airport
Cons: Nothing
Location: Rockefeller Center, Bloomingdale's, Empire State Building all within walking distance
I booked this hotel at the last minute, and wasn't sure what I was getting into. This was my first stay in Manhattan. I'm glad I ended up here. I was close to major attractions, and easily got around on foot.