Ratings based on 2,213 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: Location. Offered fruit and water in the mornings.
Close to subways, easy walk to Time Square, Rockefeller, MoMA. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Convenient place. Most of all staff are kind.

Posted May 31, 2017
A door man was terrible. We had a trouble because of him. Our room is very small, but it's comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Short of expectations

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Refer above
Cons: Refer above
Location: Refer above
I made the booking on behalf of a party of 6 (mostly over 70) based on earlier experience with Affinity on 7th Avenue. Reactions from our friends were 'shabby', 'cramped' and 'noisy'. Our experience. Location not ideal, but anywhere in NYC is close to somethings and far from others. Rockefeller Centre close; subway within a couple of blocks. Initial impact - great design and décor. A really positive 'vibe'. Evening gathering a positive and we found the Continental Breakfast welcome change to the local café fare. Room was spacious enough but some of the detail - we need facilities to access more that 1 suitcase; why provide only1 hook for wet towels when we are 2 people; why is 1 elevator always out of service with consequent long waits; many people would have difficulty on accessing the shower between the door and the sharp corner of the vanity unit. When was the last time the bathroom had a thorough clean? Bed was great! New York is a noisy town and we heard it all, despite being on the 9th floor. Traffic, sirens, construction noise, even noisy pedestrians. The glazing has very poor acoustic performance and I guess we should have realised this when we found ear plugs in one of the drawers. Suspect that it may be rather cold in winter because of low standard glazing. Staff are the saving grace. All were excellent. Responsive, friendly, efficient. Loved many aspects of the hotel but would certainly look wider if we needed NYC accommodation in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Watch out for hidden fees

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Staff were very friendly.
Location: Central location - close to MOMA and Grand Central Station
This was a very nice hotel with excellent staff – our one complaint relates to a “resort fee” of $27.22 added to each night’s stay to pay for the “free internet” and “free in-room coffee” as well as fitness center and business center access whether you use these facilities or not. If these are mandatory fees for every room they should be added to the price of the room when booking the hotel, and not added as a mandatory "resort" fee in small print at the bottom of the page. The hotel does not have a “resort”, and when we complained to the manager about this added fee, which we feel was misleading, he explained that it was really a “facilities fee”, and that the term “resort fee” was wording chosen by Expedia. We asked Expedia and they advised that this wording is chosen by the hotel. The hotel general manager, who was very polite, did agree to refund this charge. By all means stay at this hotel – but be forewarned that the price will be US$27.22 per night more then you thought when you booked it on Expedia. We would not have booked this hotel had we known this – it would not have passed our price filter request. On the plus side, the hotel staff was extremely friendly, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Were it not for this misleading mandatory “resort fee” we would consider staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Very nice hotel in midtown east neighborhood

Posted May 9, 2017
Booked the hotel for me and 2 friends. Got a suite that came with 2 queens and a sofa sleeper, so each of us had our own bed. Room includes a balcony and a kitchenette. Great room but the hotel doesn't have a lot of amenities. I wasn't looking for amenities anyway.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad business practice

Posted May 9, 2017
Not happy. We made reservation on line and got the price for three nights. We paid in full. Once we check in the hotel state that they charge restore fee which cost us more than $100-which mean the rate was 20% more then the quote online. We got scam, before booking with them check the other "chargers"
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2017
the "complimentary" happy hour and $10.00 per room "free purchases" are anything but free. Got an invoice at end of stay for $25 per day per room ...............
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The staff is so nice and eager to please The rooms are very comfortable and large
Location: The location is great, you can walk to a lot of destinations
This is a lovely hotel, the location is great, the room is comfortable and large, but the bathroom is tiny and there were little to no bathroom items, example no shower caps, no Q tips The staff is terrific
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location not very good hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The room was ok but not great. The shower was small and there was no tub. The housekeeping services were very poor. Otherwise, The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. However there were no barhrobes in the room and no ice bucket. Given the choices in NYC for hotels it is very unlikely that I would come back to this one
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Good location.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff
Location: Many midtown sights within walking distance.
Quiet hotel. Wine hour an extra treat. All staff helpful.