Ratings based on 2,037 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for short stay

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Very comfy bed and decent size bathroom.
Cons: A little noisy as we had room on front of building and construction work taking place opposite. Having said that it was only a slight issue early morn
Location: Good location for museums, galleries and shopping. Limited for restaurants to our liking.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very good size for reasonably priced mid-town hotel. Facilities limited but then we were not wanting bar, restaranunt etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Brian Gehlich-General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We're delighted you found the staff friendly and helpful. We agree Midtown East location is perfect for exploring NYC. We hope to have you back soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Manhattan Midtown East Chic, Clean Hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: location, room size, staff
Cons: extended the wine bar hour to 2 hours or start it at 6pm instead of 5pm
Location: Ideal location - across the street from Gyukaku - Japanese BBQ Restaurant
Chic, clean hotel that was very reasonably priced, conveniently located in an attractive part of Manhattan with a mood-setting lobby, relaxing, smart-sized rooms with beds and pillows that caress you. Wine bar hour upon arrival with attentive,not over-bearing, staff from check-in to check-out make this place the ideal short stay Manhattan hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Brian Gehlich - General Manager, Hotel Management
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! We agree our daily Social Sips Wine Hour is a great way to unwind at the end of the day. We hope we can welcome you back soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, great service

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Central to everything. The staff make you feel welcome and catered to. Safe area and wine hour is a nice touch. No restaurant but there are several within a block or two, across the street and next door. Spacious rooms and super comfy beds. Great experience
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Brian Gehlich - General Manager, Hotel Management
We're so glad to read you found the room spacious and comfortable. You're correct in noting while we do not have a restaurant on site, we're located near many great local options. We hope to see you back at the Fifty NYC soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice 4 central NYC

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Nice clean bigger-than-average rooms. Easy walk to central park and times square plus subway close by. Nice staff. Overall, very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Brian Gehlich - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We're glad to read you found the rooms spacious and clean. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Brian Gehlich - General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We're glad to read you found the rooms spacious and clean. We hope to welcome you back soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northants, UK

Great location & amazingly friendly staff.

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is well located, close to the subway & a short walk to the Rockefeller Centre and Times Square. We found good placed to eat 2 minutes away.
We enjoyed a week long stay for 2 adults and 3 children and would recommend the hotel to anyone. Our room was well equipped and spatious and whilst it was at the rear of the building with no view this was perfect as the room was very quiet. We found the staff very friendly and accommodating, particularly the Doormen who always welcomed you home and ensured we had directions etc and liked a chat. We enjoyed the Wine Hour a number of occasions and can honestly say we've never stayed at a hotel that provided very nice free wine and snacks every evening. It was a chance to relax before heading out for the evening and catch up on emails etc. The hotel was perfect and next time we stay in New York we will definitely stay at Fifty NYC.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by Brian Gehlich-General Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and our daily Social Sips Wine Hour. It's definitely a great way to mingle with other travelers. We're so excited that we'll be able to welcome you back on your next trip to NYC!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Nice and close to Rockefeller plaza

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Pros: The kitchen
Cons: Double pane windows
Location: Rockefeller plaza Times Square
Hotel was close to everything I wanted to see. Walking distance to Rockefeller plaza , Times Square, and more. We were on the 9th floor and the noise level became a bit loud towards early morning. I'm not sure what was going on but it may have been construction. I did not see any construction going on down the street. Everything was comfortable. I love having the kitchen. That was a plus to cook breakfast in the morning. One day our room was not clean but I think someone turned our sign over (I'm just going to blame it on that). No matter where you stay in nyc you will always hear the cars and the honking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Great Location

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Although thermostat set @ 66 degrees, was very warm in room.
Location: So close to St. Patricks Cathedral, American Girl store, Sacks 5th Ave, Rockefeller Center, Times Square great restaurants.
Lovely hotel in a perfect location in Manhattan. Hotel provided happy hour was a wonderful treat, especially after a day of walking the city. Room was not as large as I imagined. Limited ability to control heat in room and at times it seemed very warm. Room clean. Loved the staircase to 2nd floor. The good news is I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice rooms, excellent staff but NOISY

Posted Mar 13, 2016
The hotel is nice, very conveniently located, rooms are large for New York and very clean. Beds are comfortable but not incredible. The staff however, was incredible - helpful and friendly. Only complaints- our room faced 50th street and it's noisy- all night! Also it was unusually warm for March while we visited and they did not turn on air conditioning- you couldn't get your room cool. So , at night it was warm and noisy - but otherwise an excellent place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sympathisches Hotel in super Lage

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Schönes, großes Zimmer, sehr bequemes Bett, ganz nah zur Subway 51St Street
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

mid town

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Welcoming helpful staff The good folks went out of there way to accommodate me even after checkout I checked my bags and had to wait for a friend who also checked a bag after checkout and was welcomed to wait in the lounge area where refreshments were provided Thanks again!