Ratings based on 2,169 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The staff is so nice and eager to please The rooms are very comfortable and large
Location: The location is great, you can walk to a lot of destinations
This is a lovely hotel, the location is great, the room is comfortable and large, but the bathroom is tiny and there were little to no bathroom items, example no shower caps, no Q tips The staff is terrific
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location not very good hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The room was ok but not great. The shower was small and there was no tub. The housekeeping services were very poor. Otherwise, The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. However there were no barhrobes in the room and no ice bucket. Given the choices in NYC for hotels it is very unlikely that I would come back to this one
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Good location.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff
Location: Many midtown sights within walking distance.
Quiet hotel. Wine hour an extra treat. All staff helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place right in midtown. Good value.

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Rooms are compact but well laid out. Comfy bed. Quiet in the room. There were some infrastructure issues: hot water was turned off for emergency repairs for a while and the wi-fi was out for a while. But otherwise this was an excellent place to stay with a GREAT friendly staff!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Water damage and leaking/clanging pipes!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Water damage and leaking/clanging pipes made for a horrible experience. Couple that with no internet for the duration of the stay (I was there for three days) and it translated to an overall unpleasant experience. Phone in room did not work so when pipes started banging non-stop at 1:30 am, had to go to lobby and report it. Was told I'd be moved rooms while I was at meetings. Packed up all my stuff, yet I returned after being gone for 8 hours to same banging pipes and no room move. After waiting around for another hour, was finally moved. "Wine and cheese hour" is exaggerated...there was nothing other than wine both nights I went down. Better hotels in the area...seek them out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great Location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Spacious room and location, social hour, $10 cupboard credit, car service to airport
Cons: Nothing
Location: Rockefeller Center, Bloomingdale's, Empire State Building all within walking distance
I booked this hotel at the last minute, and wasn't sure what I was getting into. This was my first stay in Manhattan. I'm glad I ended up here. I was close to major attractions, and easily got around on foot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc ny

Dirty

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Dirty bathroom Dirty gym Staff nowhere to be found
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very positive experience

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: It is very clean with modern interior. The rooms are spacious.
Cons: The background noise from the street...there is always traffic of course.
Location: Perfect location. There are lots of restaurants near the hotel. You can walk to Central Park for around 20-30 min depending on how fast you walk ;)
Great location, professional staff, clean rooms. The hotel has been recently renovated. It has a nice ambiance. There is a gym with a shower, but no swimming pool. You can park a car in their garage for $65 or $75 per 24 hrs. The hotel is within walking distance to transportation stops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Grade A service

Posted Mar 1, 2017
From the moment I walked in, I was greeted by the staff warmly. Elvin was the main person I dealt with, and he was amazing. He was very patient and informative. He set the level of expectations high, and other staff members did the same. The concierge lady on the second floor was very helpful as well. And every time I walked to her desk, she stood up and greeted me, I basically begged her to remain seated, due to my constant questions. The wine hour was very lovely, the space is a nice informal setting with a good amount of space. People from different walks of life can communicate if they choose to. Personally, I met a couple from Greece and thanked them for visiting. The staff that poured the beverages were bery welcoming, and even remembered our wine conversation the next day. The room was great, and clean. The pillow arrangement was wonderful, and presentable. My favorite room feature was the headboard lights. The light was bright enough to light the room, amd soft enough to refrain from burning my eyes late. It was also adjustable for reading, eating, or searching. All in all, a great experience, I enjoyed this past weekend, and I'm looking forward to returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Perfect in Every Way

Posted Feb 22, 2017
From the minute we arrived we were impressed! The staff is friendly and attentive, the lobby was warm and inviting. Our room was clean and spacious. The beds were ultra comfortable. Coffee is available in the social space, and wine hour each evening from 5-6!! The location is perfect. We walked to most places, but we took the nearby subway to the Battery Park area and back. I would highly recommend Fifty NYC. We will be back!!