Ratings based on 1,438 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location & Character, but...

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Location and style.
Cons: It was incredibly noisy when the pub band played.
The door wouldn't stay closed in the first room given to me so I had to move. The second room was secure, but both evenings the room was incredibly noisy -- the band in the bar was right below. On a positive note, the place is charming, and the food in the attached pub is terrific.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mt Airy, MD

Great hotel! Wonderful staff, great location!

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: Everything, especially the Irish railroad theme in the Wheeltapper.
Cons: Cant think of anything.
Location: The best location in NYC! Across the street from Grand Central, so all forms of transportation are at your doorstep. Restaurants and bars nearby.
We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay at the FitzPatrick Grand Central. Everything exceeded our expectations, and we will be staying nowhere else for all future trips to NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: bed was really comfy
We went for 5 days. it was a good location the wheeltapers bar was a bit pricey but it was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Plymouth UK

Made the right choice

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Pros: Everything, but those beds are to die for.
Cons: Greener laundry policies, only replacing towels if they are not hung up. Clean towels and bedding everyday I think is lovely if a bit excessive.
Location: Fabulous location, Visit to Grand Central station is a must, lots of eateries, market, bakers, shopping.
We booked the Fitzpatrick Grand Central for our first visit to NYC because of the location and it did not disappoint. Walking distance to a lot of the main sights and right across the road from Grand Central Station for further afield. The beds I have to mention. After a long day pounding the streets, the beds gave us comfort beyond anything I have experienced in a hotel before. Pillow top mattresses, double bed each and sheets changed daily, I was in heaven. It was fab having a bath to soak away the aches and pains of an evening too. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The bar was great for a pre-dinner or post shopping drink. We didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked great. We did have breakfast and dinner room service which was fabulous. Sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries on arrival was a huge treat and made my 50th birthday holiday go off with a bang. There are lots of little eateries around the corner, from 99c pizza to top end restaurants. We loved Dee Daa noodle bar a few doors to the left of the hotel entrance. The Fitzpatrick is small compared to most NYC hotels, but that is what we wanted, However, the welcome, service and rooms are huge. Well Done everyone, My sister and I could not fault you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wonderful hotel with a great location

Posted Jan 4, 2016
staff was wonderful and very helpful and accommodating. restaurant and bar were excellent as well. definitely will stay when we return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, England

Good hotel in a very good location

Posted Jan 4, 2016
We stayed for 6 nights over new year. Staff on arrival although cheerful gave zero information on the hotel, just signed us in & gave us the room key & we were left to our own devices. The room was plenty big enough, very clean & a comfortable bed, it was also a very quiet room with no traffic noise as we were facing inwards (room 507). It was very hot in the room even though no heating on. The window didn't open & the A/C extremely noisy. Once the temperature outside dropped to around 3 degrees the temperature in the room was just right. We had a couple of drinks the bar & staff were friendly in there. Great location, next to Grand Central Station which is a stunning building with great shops & dining. Only a 5 to 10 minute walk to Rockafella Centre, Saks 5th Avenue & about 15 to 20 minute walk to Times Square, Broadway & Central Park areas. We walked everywhere & always felt very safe. We would stay again at this hotel & recommend it but would not choose this particular room if travelling when warmer weather.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Grand Central

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Stayed here two years in a row. Friendly staff. Great location near Grand Central Station. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Posted Jan 3, 2016
We really liked the Irish interns they brought in!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Nice hotel in a a great location. The room was very nice, and the hotel overall was very good. I'm not sure about the 4 star rating, as there didn't seem to be overall a large amount of amenities and the lobby and bar/restaurant were small. But for the price at this location in NYC, I would definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near GCS

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Check in a breeze,welcoming staff. Rooms small but comfortable only lack was mini-fridge in room. Grrr. Friendly wait staff in bar/restaurant