Ratings based on 1,239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small hotel located in NYC hub

Posted Aug 28, 2015
The Fitz was nice small hotel - not at all to be confused with one of the upper tier luxury hotels in NYC. Room was extremely small with few places to store clothes. Also no mini fridge - which is always appreciated for leftovers & also storage of drinks. The proximity to GCT was very convenient, but be advised - this has to be one of the busiest parts of town for foot traffic!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Convenient hotel close to Grand Central & Chrysler

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, nearby eateries
Cons: AC system
Location: See above.
We were in NYC for a short 4 day stay and wanted to make the most of it by booking at a hotel in midtown. This place was conveniently located on the corner of Lexington Ave. and East 44th st., within walking distance to Grand Central, Chrysler building, the Central Library, Bryant Park and Times Square. There is a lovely breakfast place next door called Macchiato, and other eateries, such as the $$ Wheeltapper (try the fish and chips!!!) pub or the $ Pret-a-manger (great salads!!!) . There is also a Walgreens. I loved that they valet parked my car, because parking in NYC is tough and expensive. The reason I give 3 stars only is that the room was very humid and damp. Letting the AC run non stop was not a possibility because it made noise, and you could not sleep at all. As such, we cracked the bathroom window open and slept like this. I know other hotels in NYC are worse, much worse. I only wish their AC system was better. Other than that, I would return here. The staff are nice and helpful and nothing beats the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Doing an ex ternship at mt sinai hospital, closeness to subway was a plus. They were very accommodating when I had to change my departure date. I would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good hotel. Great size room for New York

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Great hotel and staff were very helpful. Central to most things but far enough away for a quite nights sleep. very good for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to all that is needed

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Is a vintage style with a clean aspect
Cons: They may include breackfast
Everything was perfect, no problem with the checkinn, good bar...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Halifax, Nova Scotia

Lovely boutique hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Uniqueness, friendly staff and great location.
Cons: I don't think we should have had to pay for Wifi in the room.
Location: Across the street from Grand Central Station; 10 minute walk to Rockefeller Centre and 20 minutes from Times Square.
We spent 2 nights at the Fitzpatrick and it was great! Close to all major attractions and clean comfortable rooms. Cool Irish pub on site and lots of Europeans were staying there including a flight crew from Virgin Atlantic. Extremely quiet at night considering the location in the heart of Manhatten! We would stay there again when returning to NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Bra läge för att ta sig till centrum av Manhattan

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Bra service och väldigt hjälpsamma
Cons: Lite små rum kanske men fräscht badrum
Location: Väldigt nära till pulsen av Manhattan, samt trevligt att vara så nära Grand Central som alla bör se.
Fick ett väldigt trevligt bemötande då vårt hotellrum inte var klart, men de löste det på mindre än 30 minuter samt vi vart bjudna på middag, utmärkt lösning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cary, NC

Great Hotel, Grand Central Location

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Location and comfort of room were really great.
Location: Grand Central Station gateway to anything in the city. 5th Ave Shopping!!!!!
We had a great weekend stay in NYC. Excellent access to subway and a real quality hotel at a reasonable rate
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashua, NH

Nice, safe hotel in Midtown East

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: A working laptop-sized safe.
Cons: An update, although it's okay the way it is, on the overall look would be greatly appreciated.
Location: Everything. It's midtown; Grand central is near, you can take the shuttle to Times Square, you can take every colored train anywhere.
It's a nice hotel, no bells and whistles but safe and relatively quiet during the night. There will always be that bloke on the street with a fancy car trying to impress sleeping people but that's just the way it is in the city. Very close to the Grand Central, as the name implies, and Wheeltapper is a nice quiet place to get a drink or two. The room, however, isn't the cleanest feeling or the nicest smelling, thus the rating. Nice furniture though, and one of the nicest showers I have seen in a hotel at this level, one of the most spacious for sure. However, that hot water just didn't stay at the right temperature; it was either too hot or too lukewarm. Overall, it was a decent stay--as I said no bells and whistles---but a value stay for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
very nice and comfortable. Great location for access to trains.