Ratings based on 1,735 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

The Perfect Place To Stay In NYC!!!

Posted Jun 10, 2017
The hotel and its staff are superb! Perfect location and a great value. Thank you to everyone at the hotel for a wonderful stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Tabitha, Hotel Management
We appreciate your positive comments, we hope to see you on your next stay in NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverurie

Nice relaxed hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Quiet, personable and close to transport links. Reception staff and conceierges happy to help.
Cons: Maybe bit more info in room about bars and happy hour timings.
Location: Good location minutes from transport links, midtown attractions and nice walk to Bryant Park..lovely for bit of quiet time.
Great location close to Grand Central and the UN building was at the other end of block...worth a look and walk around. Also near to Chrysler Bldg. Quiet street compared to Times Square and nice to escape madness for a while. Only ate in hotel night we arrived, was ok but plenty other eating places about. Room size was fine as out early and back late so really only used for sleeping. It was clean and comfortable and the bathroom a decent size.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Perfect for one night layover

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Great location, wonderful staff, super Irish pub, remarkable rate considering the hotel's location.
Cons: Not much.
Location: We especially enjoyed the Morgan Museum and Art Gallery, which is just a few blocks away.
We overnighted after an international flight. We wanted to be near a couple of museums we had not previously seen when in NYC and its location near Grand Central Station was perfect walking distance. Getting to and from JFK is always a hassle, but it was worth it to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Good hotel, great location

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: I liked that my room was truly quiet. That is such a rarity in NYC. The location is very convenient -- right across the street from Grand Central.
Cons: AC/fan should run continually. Stopper in tub was broken, so tub would not drain. Breakfast service SLOW and oatmeal cold.
Location: Great location, next to Grand Central. Within walking distance of Times Square. Lots of restaurants.
I recently stayed at the Fitzpatrick Grand Central. I had previously stayed at their sister hotel and liked it. Overall, this was also a good experience. My main concern was QUIET, and I was very pleased to discover that my room really was quiet -- that was a big relief. I asked for a room facing the back, and that's what I got. I gladly sacrificed a view for peace and quiet. That said, the room was quite small. My room at the Fitzpatrick Manhattan had been larger, and was also decorated in a much more charming style. This room was fairly nondescript. It had a nice bathroom, but the main room was so small, it felt like the walls were closing in on me (typical of many NYC hotels). I asked if it was possible to move to an equally quiet room with more space. The front desk clerk showed me another room that was much nicer. He assured me I'd likely be able to move for my last 2 nights. But ultimately, there were none available. One other thing that bothered me was the AC/fan. The night I arrived, it was 90 degrees outside. I wanted to keep the fan on continually (which I also like for white noise). But it turned on and off automatically every 15 minutes. It was very noisy, so I just shut it off (the engineer told me there was no solution). Overall, the staff here is very friendly and helpful. There are a few exceptions - a couple of staff members were not particularly friendly and seemed like they are just going through the motions. Service in the restaurant is slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Holiday in new york

Posted May 22, 2017
Great holiday, hotel good , room not large not to small, if u dont want the coffee maker in the room they will change for a kettle, bed comfterble, they close the outside courtyard where there is a bar & u can smoke if u want for private functions & we were sitting have a drink after a long walk and were told to move as there was a private do, very rude & not a way to treat your guests, many thanks to janice on the front deak you were very good to us also to michel the conciarge also brillent, advice dont acept a room on the front of the hotel as the noise from the loading bays on the building oppsite goes on for most of the night, all in all a nice holtel in a good location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Haven, CT

very convenient hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: clean, comfortable, convenient.
Cons: you could toss in some breakfast, also a small armchair in the room.
Location: Next to GCS, walking distance to the Morgan Library. It's near the subway lines and the bus routes, so: easy to reach the Frick, the Met, etc.
I stayed only one night, just long enough to have dinner and see a show in the Village. The hotel is very comfortable, the staff personable and helpful, but most of all it's convenient: right next to Grand Central Station and the #6 subway line, which took me directly to Astor Place and the Public Theatre. Excellent location on the east side. I didn't try their restaurant, but I'm told the fish & chips are first-rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Comfortable stay in great location

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: A block from Grand Central Terminal and from the Chrysler Building. Friendly staff. Rooms aren't large, but are generous by Manhattan standards. Comfortably furnished. Cons: I got a view of an air shaft, not the aforementioned Chrysler Building or G.C.T.; but that's okay, I wasn't paying top rate. Bathroom floor was badly chipped (how?!). Neighboring room's dirty room-service tray regularly remained in the hallway for many hours before being picked up (I'd leave in the morning and it was still there in mid-afternoon), which was annoying. Design was apparently done by a tall person...the one towel rack and soap holder in the shower were impossible for a short person to reach (I'm 5' tall, but I think anyone up to 5'4" would have trouble). Practical suggestions: These are all modest and realistic. First, install at least one more towel bar or even towel hook in the bathroom. There is absolutely nowhere to hang a towel that you plan to use again. (I actually resorted to hanging it from the wall-mount phone.) Second, upgrade the in-room coffeemaker. The mugs are ridiculously small, more like espresso cups, and the water is barely lukewarm. Third, consider removing the console tables in the upper floors' elevator lobbies. They make a narrow hall even narrower and serve no useful purpose. All of these could be done at little cost and would make a stay more enjoyable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coatesville

A lovely classic

Posted May 11, 2017
Charming but not quirky, the Fitz is a classic small hotel reminiscent of a bygone era. Arriving guests are genuinely and warmly welcomed. The lobby seating area is comfortable and cozy, offering several separate small seating areas. The rooms are well-appointed, up-to-date, and spotless. Bedding is perfect. I'd been looking for a "go-to" in New York; I think I've found it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, nice location!

Posted May 1, 2017
A very nice location and a good place do stay. I recomend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Good location, excellent staff

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Cons: I would have given this all 5 stars, except for some reason the bottom fitted bed sheets didn't fit. My toes kept hitting the bare mattress.
Location: A quick walk to Grand Central and everywhere midtown.
The staff was friendly, professional and efficient. The hotel was clean, didn't seem as old as it probably is.