Ratings based on 282 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great experience until.....

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Great location. At check in we were given a card for two complimentary drinks at the bar on that day during happy hour 4-7, but were useless since the bar didn't open until 8! Hotel rooms are a little small but have what you need and are beautifully set up. We just needed a bed to sleep in. We were here for a New Year's Eve event. This was a great experience until I got stuck in the elevator with a bunch of drunk people who pushed their way on even though the elevator was already full. We were stuck for about 30min which seemed like forever. It got worse when one of the girls started to throw up in the elevator. Not cool! At this point I was so upset considering I had asked one of the workers if I could just use the stairs to my room since the wait for the elevator was long. She said I wasn't allowed to because the stairs are only for the employees. That should change especially during events with a lot of people. This hotel is great but needs to think more about crowd control and safety when hosting such a big event.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Great location for all tourist attractions

Posted Dec 11, 2016
2nd time visited. Room this time small and tiny double bed poor mattress. Central heating defective so room cold. Complained and resort fees wavered. Bar furniture very uncomfortable. All in all hotel tired and in need of refurb
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Good location, acceptable walk from Penn Station

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: quite rooms. very comfortable beds.
Cons: the breakfast - very disappointed.
We stayed here 3 nights to do some shopping in the city. I was very disappointed by the breakfast offered by the hotel. They charge a $19.00 resort fee and it says it includes breakfast - I don't mind paying $19.00 for a resort fee, but offer some actual resort inclusions. Breakfast was a continental breakfast - that should have been noted in the description. No eggs (except for hard boiled in a bowl), no meat, only dried up bagels, muffins, cereal, coffee, yogurt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Good location

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Great location, small but clean. Nice bar In lobby with live music on weekends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A.

Great option

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Loved the hotel, the location, and the cool extras- TV in the mirror in the bathroom, free wine during happy hour, smart lighting, all for an amazing low price in NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Flatiron Hotel cares about your stay

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Excellent manager/staff; good rooms, funky decor; near Eataly; fantastic live music; felt like we were a part of the neighborhood. Felt safe/at home
Cons: Really, nothing.
Location: Eataly (food spectacular); Madison Square park; Chelsea galleries and the High Line a few blocks west; felt safe;
The manager of the Flatiron Hotel is exceptionally good, she and her staff really, truly, authentically care that you are OK and have a good experience. These young people at registration and in the lobby do a better job than many jaded employees I have experienced at chain hotels. The staff helped me make sure my car was safe; answered all our questions and watched over us for the entire weekend. We will come back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Room was okay. Bedsheets are cheap and bed is made poorly (sheets not tucked in so they're constantly slipping off). Duvet has no cover and who knows if they actually wash that. The curtains are supposed to be controlled via remote but it was broken. And make sure not to touch any snack or anything from the minibar. Everything is on a sensor and will charge you automatically if anything is out of place. On weekends, the bar is really loud and can be heard from our room till all hours of the night. Free breakfast was poor. Better to just run across the street to the Starbucks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Staff was very accommodating and friendly. We enjoyed our visit and would stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Definitely not a 4 star 1 or 2 at the most

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Location, walking distance to almost everywhere.
Cons: The main lobby could use a renovation.
Location: The restaurant Eataly was very good. I would recommend their Tasting Menu along with the wine pairing.
I was in NYC for an exam, I had to get to bed at a reasonable hour, and the music from the lobby was blaring through even though we were several floors away. The room was very small and looked very dated; I was afraid to sit in the lobby/bar chairs which looked filthy and like they have been there from the 80's. The website mentioned that the hotel was close to Mario Batali's Eataly. The front desk never heard about the restaurant and couldn't offer any suggestions as to where to eat. We did find the restaurant, it was right down the street!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

A wonderful hotel to stay when in NYC doing busine

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Everything was hassle free, the staff were engaging an the atmosphere promoted a can do altitude
Cons: Check in could of been earlier, but I understand why it is not.
Location: The location was easy to get to, however I was in NYC for business meetings so I didn't get a chance to do things in the area