Ratings based on 908 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Longmont, United States of America

I was so pleasantly surprised and happy

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: the room was very clean and the mattresses ( I always check) were spotless. The room was cleaned every morning. They gave us a free happy hour drink. The staff was very pleasant, respectful, and helpful.
Cons: I liked everything. The only thing that could change is the breakfast could be optional.
Location: I walked to several restaurants, went to Madison square park and had dinner at Eataley. All within walking distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Room lovely. The staff amazing and extremely helpful. The lounge area quite tired looking and furniture desperately needs replacing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Grt location! Grt hotel.But NOT in the fall/winter

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Would have had a perfect stay but they had just switched from AC to heating system and since it's an older hotel it can only have one or the other system running. It was this past weekend of October 15th and it was still hot out (60's up to 70) my first room was sweltering so they switched my room and were very accommodating! The second room was better for the first few nights but by the last night there was zero AC system and i was very uncomfortable. Staying here in the summer or spring when they haven't switched to Their heating system yet is definitely best! Love this hotel and the location but just not worth being uncomfortable once they switch to AC to heat. Even in the dead of winter I don't want heat spewing out of my vent with no way to get comfortable inside.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portugal

Good Location, live music in the bar

Posted Oct 17, 2016
The location is good, the rooms are always clean and the hotel facilities are good. At night there are live music in the bar area, it's always fun. The breakfast is very modest and simple. If you want anything especial you need to pay more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

We loved the Flatiron Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: modern, clean, friendly staff, breakfast, access to subways and other tourist interests. The elevators are even fast.
Location: High Line tour, Macys and shopping, subway access, easy access to tour buses
I stayed 3 nights at the Flatiron Hotel with 8 of my girlfriends and we absolutely loved it! The outside of the building is historic and original, but the entire inside of the building has been completely renovated and it's beautiful! The rooms were clean, very comfortable, and had more modern amenities than I have seen at other high end hotels. We will return! Also, the staff and the manager were extremely helpful guiding us to subways and other tourist interests.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, bad experience with the staff.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
The location was excellent, but the staff was less than mediocre. They try to charge me stuff from the minibar that was already empty when I check in and made a big deal when I explain it. They were very rude to attend my concern.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Seek elsewhere

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Nice location.
Charged extra for breakfast which they insisted was "mandatory" but was not included in the Expedia total. This amounted to an additional $19 a day. The hotel staff was ok, but appeared inexperienced and did not go out of their way to make me feel welcomed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from f

Close to subway and msg park

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Very friendly and courteous staff And would return
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Not worth price paid!!!!

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: I truly enjoyed interacting with the hotel staff. They all were very professional and did their best to make everyone feel as comfortable as possible
Cons: Lobby, lounge and rooms could definitely be renovated back to their original standards!
Location: Excellent location, everything that you need is nearby. Transportation, stores and plenty of wonderful places to eat. Can't beat the convenience!
Upon entering hotel I first noticed that the interior furniture and items were outdated and not in very good care. The age of the furnishings was very apparent and obvious. The front desk staff did an amazing job at making my entire stay as carefree and effortless as possible. I actually did not share anything negative about the hotel with any of the staff because working in the customer service industries I knew that they were doing the very best they could with what they had. The furnishings in the room were almost as outdated and not cared for as the lobby. I must point out that the bathroom was extremely modern and very well put together. Although the TV in the mirror did not work any of the days that I was there. Although I live in Brooklyn, NY I rent hotel rooms in the city 6 to 8 times a year so i'm very used to hotel ratings. I paid more for this hotel per night than what I usually pay for a midtown hotel and received the worst conditions. I wish the hotel actually looked as current as the pictures that they use to promote. And on top of everything else I was charged an additional hotel fee per night which I somehow did not notice on my Expedia confirmation e-mail after initial booking. I will probably never stay at this hotel again or ever recommend to anyone. I believe that their hotel star rating should definitely be reduced until proper renovations have be done.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utica, New York

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: The Location.
Cons: Make sure there are no surprise charges upon checkout. Also provide refrigerators in the rooms.
Location: Good restaurants and nearby mass transit.
Very convenient to nearby restaurants and subway. The staff were very polite and courteous. I will definately stay there again when I go to NYC.