Ratings based on 1,133 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't stay here again

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Nothing but the location
Cons: Gut it and start over.
I can't tell if this place is a tacky hotel trying to be upscale or a once-nice place that's fallen a long way. The front desk was useless, didn't answer the phone and seemed more interested in talking to the bouncer that was in the lobby at all times. Really? The maintenance guy who came up twice to fix the TV was excellent, though he and no one else knew why the remote couldn't turn on or off the TV. The room was barely large enough to walk around the two beds, the only place to sit was a creaky chair, no room to do any desk work and no dresser. The drawers were under the old bed frames. The bathroom was tiny, tiny, tiny. I almost hit my head on the sink getting on the toilet. Noise from the hall sounded like it was deep inside the room. On the bright side, the elevators came promptly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Hotel need work no staff to be found heat in room not working properly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

No Heat

Posted Jan 6, 2018
There was no heat in the hotel. I stayed at the hotel Because there was a bad snowstorm and I wasn’t able to drive home from work . The weather outside was in the negatives and there was lots of snow and I was disappointed to find out at the heat wasn’t working. I called at two in the morning to complain about the cold and the Building staff gave me up a space heater. But even with the space heater I was still freezing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: Bathroom shower
Cons: HEAT
Location: Great
New York City is in a cold emergency, and this hotel had NO HEAT, What do you think? I think a refund is in order. Martin Silver
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Very bad, dirty and no services. Not worth the price
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Three stations from Time Square

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: The rooms were nice and the hotel was close to the train station.
Cons: Unfortunately there was a problem with the heat system and I would have like to have the choice to pay for breakfast or not.
Location: Lots of restaurants, Starbucks across the street and pizza place at 3 or 4$ a piece, nice neighborhood, felt safe even late at night.
We went during the Christmas holidays, Nice little hotel but we had to change rooms 3 times in three days because the heat was around 60 degrees in the room. WiFi is not free since we had to pay( no option here) around 20$ a night for breakfast (even if you don't eat it) and other stuff including WiFi! The room were we had breakfast was so cold we had to eat with our winter coats on. I understand it was a problem maybe hard to solve for the staff but I had no reply from the management about the email I wrote to complain. On top of it, I couldn't have the final bill because the system was down and they couldn't print it! The location was good, nice neighborhood, 2 blocks from the train, 15 minutes walk to Time Square.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel, great location, awful breakfast

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Overall we were very pleased with the hotel - it is located in midtown New York, close to everything and yet it is not as busy as on Times Square. The room was very spacious for New York, clean and had everything we needed. For some reason the hotel didn't have our reservation and it took us an hour to check in, which was a bit frustrating. Staff at the reception was very friendly though and very helpful. The only complaint we had was about breakfast - coffee was cold and terrible, constantly missing bread, plates and cutlery. We are usually not picky about these things, but quality of food and efficiency of dining room staff is an area for improvement.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fix the thermostats!.

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: The room had two queen size beds and buffet style breakfast.
Cons: Thermostats (heat) did not work in two rooms / wind blowing through the windows -- DO NOT give customers a small space heater to replace central heat.
Location: Close to subway.
We were VERY disappointed with the hotel. The first room that was provided to us was VERY COLD. The thermostat read "60" degrees. We waited about about an hour -- temperature only reached "63" degrees. I contacted the front desk (Twice) to have someone come to our room and repair the thermostat -- the solution was a "space heater." -- thermostat was never repaired. Also, the electrical outlet on one side of the room was not functioning. :>( We were moved to another room. The first two nights the room was warm. The third night, the room was very cold -- once again "60" degrees, ("24" degrees outside -- one of the coldest nights of the year). I contacted the front desk twice (Again) -- was told an engineer would come to our our room -- engineer NEVER arrived. Housekeeper came to our room with a SMALL space heater -- was told the thermostat does not work (AGAIN). We had to ask for additionally blankets. In the bathroom, the wind was blowing through the window -- we placed towels around the window seal to the keep the cold air out so the bathroom would be warm to take showers. I have stayed in many hotels -- NEVER been so disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

Convenient and affordable

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, convenient location, price.
Location: Transit stops, Eataly, Math Museum, Abbracadabra magic store, Lego store, park
This hotel was very comfortable. Convenient location - close to transit stops and places to eat. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is good. We have traveled a lot both around the world and in the USA and this hotel is excellent in all ways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Business

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: The people, the interesting shape of room made it seem like I was back in time which was really cool. The trim work, and the multi head shower.
Cons: I say this about almost all hotels now, COFFEE in the morning in the lobby.
Location: Madison Square Park decked out for Christmas, Eately, the Smith restaurant was great across the street, and of course three blocks from my meeting.
Great attentive staff. Well located for my purpose, HOWEVER, should explain to people because your marketing makes it look like the hotel is in the actual Flatiron building, its not. When I arrived there, they said don't worry, you're not the only one to make that mistake. Had to walk back 4 blocks with my bags. Thankfully the women at the time of check in were so over the top nice as was the man who checked our bags because we were early and the room was not ready yet.