Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls, SD

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Cons: the WiFi does not reach the top floor properly
The hotel is 6 minute walk away from the St George terminal, so you can explore Staten Island and also go to Manhattan using the ferry.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Better towels and pillows
Location: Very close to the ferry.
It's a good value for the price but the towels were terrible. And towels are important. I think they use the towels to dry their cars too. Other then that we got what we paid for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Close to Ferry. Convenient to lower Manhattan.

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: Good location. Comfortable and clean. Nice old house. Paul the owner was nice and helpful.
Cons: Needs coffee in room. Post information about breakfast. Not sure if there ever was breakfast.
Location: Not much nearby. There was a Local bar that we enjoyed. Ferry was close.
Room was nice enough. Loved the old house. Bed was comfortable. A little odd having the shower in the kitchen but was okay. There was no coffee in room which I didn't like although there was a coffee pot. Walked across street to deli to get coffee, it opens at 6am. Never did get breakfast. Asked owner for ground coffee and made coffee in my room on second morning. Owner was nice and accommodating to us. Not sure what time breakfast was supposed to be as I couldn't find any information or a schedule.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!

Posted May 19, 2015
VERY short walk to the Staten Island Ferry! Staff was very attentive and friendly! The ONLY thing was that we stayed on the top floor and did not have air. Thankfully, the weather was nice so it wasn't an issue. Other than that minor issue, everything was wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Pleasing

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Great location, privacy assured.
Cons: Provision of a toaster, and more temperature control for bedroom.
Location: Location has excellent coffee shop in close proximity by name of "Rispoli Coffee shop". Short walk to Manhattan ferry, deli opposite, laundry opposite
Clean, good location, friendly host, heating excessive, however outside temperatures dictate comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vic, Australia

Large room in a lovely old house

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Place with character, large space and light breakfast with fresh fruit provided.
Cons: A sign
Location: Explore Manhattan and Brooklyn easily.
House has a lot of character and the owner was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Very convenient to the free Staten Island ferry, so an easy alternative to staying in Manhattan.
2 out of 5
by SNAPPER from Manchester, England

Expensive for what it is.

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Proximity to free ferry. Continental breakfast. Good host.
Cons: Exterior, interior, cleanliness.
Location: Tired neighbourhood, but great for Staten Island Ferry across to Manhattan.
Disappointed with the cleanliness of the facilities. Our bedroom fireplace was covered in cobwebs, and all the furniture was covered in dust. The bathroom was the same. On the plus side, we had the whole B&B to ourselves, and a good continental breakfast was provided each morning. Paul, the host was very helpful, and the property is only a 10 minute walk from the free Staten Island Ferry. The neighbourhood looks a bit tired, but was surprisingly quiet at night, so had good night's sleep. There's a Deli opposite. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place, if it was given a bit of TLC, as it has many quaint features.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from San Antonio

Excellent place to stay

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: I liked the cost, comfort, owner and free access by ferry 24 hours to Manhattan.
Cons: A little variety at breakfast such as cereal and hard boiled eggs.
Room was very nice and clean. The bed was comfortable. Paul, the owner, was very friendly. The neighborhood seemed a little sketchy but was actually pretty safe. Police station is nearby as is the courthouse, Staten Island ferry, minor league baseball stadium, public library and many cafes and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kerry from NYC

Wonderful accommodation in old worlde charm.

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: Space, privacy and character.
Location: Perfect for those wishing to stay out of NYC but still in comfortable commuting distance on the wonderful Staten Island ferry.
Fort Place is just the sort of accommodation we like - olde worlde building with quaint old furniture and a sense of home about it. Owner was very accommodating - storing our excess luggage whilst we travelled about. Breakfast was adequate, location on Staten Island perfect for the ferry. Possibly many would find the ambience not up to their standards of modernity but we found it perfectly suitable for our requirements - full of character, spacious and "quirky". Fantastic - in fact we will be staying again at the end of our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Pennsville Township, NJ, USA

Charming and convenient to NYC

Posted Mar 27, 2013
Pros: Clean and Tranquil
Cons: None
Location: 10 minute walk to Staten Island ferry and easy to get to by car.
I stay here every time I must go to NYC. It is located a short 10 minute walk from the Staten Island Ferry which is free and runs every 30 minutes to Battery Park in Manhattan. The subway and bus stations are just outside the ferry terminal in Manhattan and the city lies at your feet. The B&B is charming, well kept, comparatively inexpensive, and located in a tranquil neighborhood for relaxing once your day in the city is complete. The proprietor is gracious with his time and advice and very flexible to your schedules. There are a few nice restaurants between the Ferry terminal and B&B if you prefer the tranquility. There is also a convenience store / deli across the street for the travel necessities you forgot or to simply grab a quick snack or soft drink.