Ratings based on 8,220 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Metro D.C.

Great location in NYC

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location, restaurants/bars nearby, close to theater district.
Cons: The rooms could use some slight updates due to wear & tear.
Location: Next to Grand Central, walking distance to Times Square, New York Public Library & 5th Avenue.
My wife and stayed here for the 1st time during our recent trip to NYC (we usually stay in Lower Manhattan) and were pleased with our stay. the check in was easy, the staff was friendly and the location next to Grand Central is awesome. The room itself was nice (not too much noise due to our room facing away from 42nd Street), the bed was a little firm and the pillows were way too soft for my taste. Our sink seemed to have a drainage issue that was fixed by housekeeping during our stay even though we didn't bring it up. The hotel bar is open until 2am and the staff there were very friendly & accommodating with a range of drink & menu items for the late night crowd. Would definitely stay there again if we were doing a quick NYC trip again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Right next to central station

Posted Feb 19, 2017
You pretty much pay for the location of the hotel. I have used the hyatt for many of my vacations around the US but this one mlfave a bad name to the rest of them.When I first booked I was told my room would have a queen bed with a pull out couch, when I arrived I was told my loft has a pull out couch for me to sleep on. Now why would I pay so much to sleep on a pull out couch. Room service is ridiculously expensive. We ordered a side of fries that were $9 the hotel charged me an extra $12 to take me the fries up to my room. Then every time we would enter the hotel we would get asked for our room key and the white people around never got asked once, keep in mind we have 2 rooms booked over our trip ,a deluxe room which we had to upgrade and also the pent house. The only friendly Staff I saw while my entire week stay at the Hyatt was one of the housekeepers. 1 full week. For the price we paid this stay was definitely not worth it..the only thing that was worth the place of the hotel was the fact it is right next to central station. Other than that don't bother. Spend your money at a different hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newtown, PA

Disappointed

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The room is old and simplely funished. Empty refrigerator, no tea-maker, no water bottles. Though I booked "city view" room, there is a tiny window facing another high building, no view at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Very nice hotel

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness and location
Cons: Fluffier pillows, more items on breakfast buffet
Location: Empire state building, shopping in Times Square
Very nice and clean hotel. It was also very quiet despite being on top of/next to Grand Central. Could not hear the trains go by but did hear a few horns from cars below. I did think the evening combo of horderves and breakfast in the morning was overpriced. Not enough breakfast items and cant eat the horderves if you are allergic to fish. Did enjoy the beds. They were very comfortable. Need more pillows. One of the pillows I had was completely flat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Good location Comfortable bed Quiet room Terrible water pressure Room needed a little TLC Food intrstaurant good and service very good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Beautiful hotel and wonderful restaurant and staff!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from grand hyatt manhattan

Bathrooms need renovation

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Toilets are very tight impossible to sit They need to renovate and redistribute furniture and sink Staff said this problem is throughout the hole line of rooms for all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Hyatt Best!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: More rooms with bathtubs
Location: Grand central station is great place to hang out if it rains no need to go outside
Grand Hyatt New York best hotel for the price, hands down. Front desk staff amazing has well house keeping. My room was huge ( corner suite ) very clean but no bathtub seems the trend now. BTW I travel the world so I know hotels.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
I was charged for no reason and told it was a glitch in the system. It happens every single time I stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

GREAT LOCATION BUT.....

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: The food, air control--I froze in the room it got either too cold or too hot.
Location: Close to local trains and bus, great shopping nearby.
I've stayed here in the past and was very pleased but on my most recent stay I noticed a lot of changes, the food: the eggs tasted like powdered eggs, there were no waffles (the first time they had the wafflemaker out so you could make your own waffles) as for the dinner/hors d'oeuvres the first time around there was steak, mini tacos and fajitas, cookies and other pastries, the second time around we were offered California rolls, vegetarian pasta, cheese fajitas and cups with vegetables in it. needless to say, I went out to eat I was shocked because the food was so good the first time and I get you, you want to cut down costs but WOW. For the amount of money the rooms go for I would have expected more.