Ratings based on 5,182 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from sacramento, ca

It is an ok hotel in a good location.

Posted May 11, 2017
The hotel was ok, but in an excellent location to good restaurants, subway, and theatre. The rooms are too cold, and the bathroom door needed replacement.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Great place centrally located

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Elevators and staff training
Location: Theatre district, Starbucks and late night pizza at Fluffys
The hotel is dated and now called the Watson. It is located in a great place but the rooms were too warm with no a/c available. So we opened the window but wow it was noisy. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Staff seemed somewhat lost in their responses at times, when asked about things. The property is now owned by BD properties LLC so I suspect it will get remodeled. I did feel ignored at times when surrounded by lobby staff but that is likely a training issue which should be fixed. Not all elevators were working which was a pain and toilet in room was really loud. But overall it was clean, centrally located and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, Ohio

9-13 Mar 2017

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Fix the carpeting in the lobby
Location: Central Park, 42nd Street, 34th Street (Macy's), Empire State Building and of course One World Trade Center.
The hotel is centrally located and easy access to Central Park, Columbus Circle and the subway system. Hotel was notably clean, albeit it is a bit aged though. Our room was clean and fairly updated, the cable TV was excellent. The shower never had an issue with shortage of hot water! The hotel staff was attentive and any issues that was discovered were quickly corrected. Would certainly stay there again!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Firstly the hotel changed from the holiday Inn to The Watson without informing myself. Secondly the hotel did have dogs and I was not aware that there was any dogs allowed in the hotel. So the hotel had a constant wet dog smell, which was unpleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good, clean location

Posted Mar 5, 2017
This hotel is convenient to get around the city. Rooms are big and comfortable. They are clean. I felt safe walking on the streets, even late at night. All staff that I encountered were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Andrea Carl

Too good to be true for price

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great value for clean, quiet and good location. No frills, easy.
5 out of 5
by Suzanne

Good hotel for a Westminster Dog Show spectator

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
I chose the Holiday Inn Midtown (now known as the Watson Hotel) for its proximity to Piers 92/94, as I made a quick trip to watch Westminster Dog Show judging. Check in was fast and efficient, and my room was clean, comfortable, and much larger than other places I've stayed in the city. The Keurig coffeemaker was a nice amenity and the coffee supplied was pretty good, too. It was a good choice for a quick trip and the location was convenient for where I was going.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

great location

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
easy to drive to and it was perfect for what I needed. If you don't mind walking , you could walk to time square and there are lots of place to eat at and shopping.
3 out of 5
by Richard

Good rice and a good location

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
I got a great price on this hotel for my stay. Great location. Close to theatres and the park.
4 out of 5
by MIGUEL

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
A nice place to stay. Everything nearby! My room was drafty and felt cold during the night even with the heat on full blast.