Ratings based on 4,619 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Brilliant spot, ideal for all Manhattan, Brooklyn.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We stayed a week and longed for longer. Visited galleries, book shops and eateries throughout New York for eight days. The Hotel 17 was ideal for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, quiet (by NYC standards) street

Posted Mar 28, 2017
As long as you don't mind sharing a shower/toilet with other guests, this hotel offers a good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden secret in NYC

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: Great staff, fabulous location, truly affordable rates, charming rooms.
Cons: There should be a towel hook or ring next to the sink in the room. I wish there were small refrigerators in the rooms but now I'm fantasizing!
Location: Union Square is full of restaurants, theaters and subways to everywhere -- a 10 minute walk. Many restaurants in the neighborhood.
I found this place via Expedia, offering me a discount for booking my flight with them. I was looking for the impossible: a decent hotel in Manhattan that was NOT a hostel for under $100 a night. Amazingly, I found one! Hotel 17 is probably a renovated old SRO (Single Room Occupancy buildings for the down and out) in Gramercy Park, a pleasant neighborhood with easy subway and bus access. The single rooms are smallish and the bathrooms are shared, but if you can handle that you will be very happy here. Everyone was professional, friendly and helpful. Rooms and bathrooms were homey and very clean. It's on a residential street 10 minutes walk from Union Square, and provides an affordable and very comfortable experience. It feels a little like a European pension, which is high praise as far as I am concerned. Go for it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The price and it was very clean.
Great value for NYC. Stayed overnight after concert at MSG.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Good staff
Location: If you know how to use the subway and buses then you can save money getting into where everything otherwise taxi
Great place since you are going to be on the move most of the time seeing the city
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn, AL

Good for budget, lacks polish

Posted Mar 18, 2017
We have stayed at Hotel 17 two times. It is a wonderful hotel for a traveler on a budget, especially given the high rate of any neighboring hotels. It is wonderful because it is only three blocks from a very large metro stop, so even though you're away from the heart of the city, it is easy to get there. The rooms are small, but livable, and the shared bathroom is really never a problem. Our difficulties this most recent time revolved around noise in the room. Our radiator made it clinging noises constantly all through the day and night. We were offered the opportunity to move rooms, but there was no guarantee that the radiator in that room wouldn't be just as loud. It was impossible to sleep with the noise, so we ended up turning off the radiator. There is free Wi-Fi included in your stay, but we were unable to get a good signal either time we visited. When we spoke to staff about the lack of connectivity, they explained that certain parts of certian floors were difficult to get a good connection, and again offered to move us. We noticed small things this time that annoyed us: they were reusing the coffee lids and cups from previous users, the shower in one of the bathrooms had terrible rust in it, one of the toilets down the hall was incredibly loud and you could hear it even in your room with the door shut, and the towels are far too small for any normal sized person. All of this is doable, but did cause us to avoid going there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PNW

Cute small hotel - shared bathrooms!

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Extremely clean!!! Yes there were shared bathrooms but they were immaculate! I would stay again if it were another cheap option. Comfortable beds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Good, overall. Except the radiator is located at the wrong place in my room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Nice hotel, but staff at the reception very rud

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Why they cannot be more polite???? Very rud and obnoxious!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel central location

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Staff were professional and helpful
Cons: Include tea bags for non coffee drinkers
Hotel was conveniently located near Union Square station, restaurants and supermarkets. The shared bathrooms were clean and there are 2 on each floor so they were available when needed. The staff were professional and very helpful. The hotel is affordable and would stay here again.