Ratings based on 4,594 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: The price and it was very clean.
Great value for NYC. Stayed overnight after concert at MSG.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Good staff
Location: If you know how to use the subway and buses then you can save money getting into where everything otherwise taxi
Great place since you are going to be on the move most of the time seeing the city
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn, AL

Good for budget, lacks polish

Posted Mar 18, 2017
We have stayed at Hotel 17 two times. It is a wonderful hotel for a traveler on a budget, especially given the high rate of any neighboring hotels. It is wonderful because it is only three blocks from a very large metro stop, so even though you're away from the heart of the city, it is easy to get there. The rooms are small, but livable, and the shared bathroom is really never a problem. Our difficulties this most recent time revolved around noise in the room. Our radiator made it clinging noises constantly all through the day and night. We were offered the opportunity to move rooms, but there was no guarantee that the radiator in that room wouldn't be just as loud. It was impossible to sleep with the noise, so we ended up turning off the radiator. There is free Wi-Fi included in your stay, but we were unable to get a good signal either time we visited. When we spoke to staff about the lack of connectivity, they explained that certain parts of certian floors were difficult to get a good connection, and again offered to move us. We noticed small things this time that annoyed us: they were reusing the coffee lids and cups from previous users, the shower in one of the bathrooms had terrible rust in it, one of the toilets down the hall was incredibly loud and you could hear it even in your room with the door shut, and the towels are far too small for any normal sized person. All of this is doable, but did cause us to avoid going there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PNW

Cute small hotel - shared bathrooms!

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Extremely clean!!! Yes there were shared bathrooms but they were immaculate! I would stay again if it were another cheap option. Comfortable beds
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Good, overall. Except the radiator is located at the wrong place in my room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Nice hotel, but staff at the reception very rud

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Why they cannot be more polite???? Very rud and obnoxious!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel central location

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Staff were professional and helpful
Cons: Include tea bags for non coffee drinkers
Hotel was conveniently located near Union Square station, restaurants and supermarkets. The shared bathrooms were clean and there are 2 on each floor so they were available when needed. The staff were professional and very helpful. The hotel is affordable and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Four nights stayed at Hotel 17

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Historical and old fashioned style. Slightly different than when you stayed at a modern hotel.
Cons: Washroom is clean so far. However, if there was another person using same floor washroom and had shower. Then no hot water provided to the other one.
Location: Walking towards E20 street comes to Gramercy Park. A very small park but surrounded by historical buildings. Then on 3rd AVE there is Barney on E17 st
Hotel 17 is built as an historical 200 years building with hotel built in since 1950's. Walking from Union Square only three blocks to hotel is absolutely convenient everyday. Location is quiet and not too from subway. Even room is small but that's how old fashioned hotel would be. With stylish elevator and front lobby, enjoyed four nights stay. You paid what you asked for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great value

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Really nice, pleasant and quiet hotel. Great location in Manhattan. Worth every penny paid and would definitely stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel experience ever

Posted Feb 12, 2017
The shared bathroom is just completely gross. The key that was given to me stopped working and would lock me out of my room at least once a day. I had to go down stairs from the seventh floor to the lobby to ask them to fix my key. The elevator takes forever. This hotel just completely sucks.