Ratings based on 3,435 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lynn, MA.

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Good deal and also clean room. I like it! It's also right in the center of the city. Really helpful! I walk to school only 4 mins, walk to train station for 5 mins ( can go to Time square), only 7 mins to go Korea town and 5 mins walk to my favorite coffee place. Love my New York trip. It's also near by Thai restaurant and American food! Just amazing trip!!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Nice hotel in Midtown Manhattan

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Its staff, cleanliness, and location.
Cons: The elevator is classic, but old-fashioned. I took the stairs to save some time. Hotel staff clearly pointed out the elevator challenges.
Location: Hotel is a 5-10 minute walk to the Empire State Building. Plenty to do near that!
A friendly and helpful staff greeted me, and let me check in early. Accommodations were exactly as described, and even a little better (space and view).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Excellent location, excellent price

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Rooms were cleaned promptly. My single room was fairly large for NYC, roughly 9x9 feet, with a sink, closet, and A/C. Staff very helpful and friendly
Cons: Most of the window A/C units worked fine, but some of them rattled during the night
Location: The hotel is 5min walk from the Empire State Building and 2 min walk from the 6 line on the subway, which shoots toward Central Park or downtown
Each floor has two bathrooms shared by roughly a dozen rooms, and never were both occupied at the same time. Floors are reached via the stairs or by an old-time elevator with cage (don't pinch your fingers). There is no Internet access but vendors are in the neighborhood if you don't have a smart phone. Rooms are cleaned well daily. TV in every room, some have views of the Empire State Building, but most probably have views of the rooftop water tanks.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

new york

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: very good location
nice hotel, small but comfortable room, veru clean, staff very nice and helpful
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bremen

Gutes Hotelzimmer in zentraler Lage

Posted May 19, 2016
Wir waren 5 Nächte dort und waren total zufrieden. Hatten ein Zimmer zum Hof und konnten bei offenem Fenster schlafen. Die Nähe zum Zentrum und die Anbindung ist optimal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Goede prijs kwaliteit

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Relatief klein, authentiek.
Centraal gelegen zowel te voet als per metro en of bus zijn alle toeristische attracties uitstekend te bereiken. Het hotel is een prima uitvalsbasis.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Günstiges Hotel in perfekter Lage!

Posted May 10, 2016
Das Hotel 31 liegt zentral im Herzen Manhattans gelegen in 31. Straße zwischen der Lexington und der Park Avenue. Die Lage war wirklich genial, denn zur nächsten subway Station der lexington line sind es nur ein paar Meter in der 33. Straße. Von dort aus liegen viele wichtigen Stationen auf einer Linie welche man schnell ohne umsteigen erreichen kann. Viele Sehenswürdigkeiten sind schon in unmittelbarer Nähe. Das hotel selbst ist schon etwas in die Jahre gekommen aber die Zimmer immer sauber. Das Personal war stehts freundlich und hilfsbereit. Dafür herzlichen Dank!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roma

Ottima posizione ma...

Posted May 2, 2016
Stanza molto piccola, vecchio stile, abbastanza pulita. Bagni condivisi puliti ma troppo spesso occupati (solo 2 bagni su un piano con 14 camere). Buona la posizione (dalla camera si vede l'empire) e ben servita dalla metro. Zona tranquilla, con diversi locali per colazione pranzo cena.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England (North West)

Great Hotel near Subway to get around NY sites

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Friendly hotel staff saying hi wether they was front desk staff or cleaners. Safe Woodwork Old style lift with scissor gates Great hotel & price
Cons: Being from Britain I have never used an aircon unit before. It was noisy but I guess in a NY summer no one cares! I put it on twice as a novelty
Location: Vezzo thin crust pizza was tasty with great service Lennwich pastrami & corned beef sandwich. Yummy 5* Burger at Guy & Gallard
Decided Last minute to go NY as I badly needed a holidayI It was my first time on a plane, first time I have left Great Britain. hell of a holiday. Got to see loads of sites and attractions and film locations. Saw most of what I wanted to see in the 5 1/2 days I was there. I was on my feet and walking lots from 10am to midnight everyday. It really was something to actually go and see & experience for itself first person. Am glad to be home now though and resting mostly! Didn't bring a travel adaptor but the Hotel 31 desk staff looked for a usb mini cable and let me leave it with them to charge up plugged into their computer overnight. All the staff were friendly from the cleaners to front desk. There were 2 bathrooms on our floor with 16 rooms I think. I never had to que once but if a lot of guests on a floor went the bathrooms at same time I can see how a couple of reviews mentioned ques. There is a right noisy fan on the roof of a nearby building. fortunately it slows down alot at 10:45 every night so it didn't bother me. I stayed in April (17-22). The weather was like a british summer heatwave. I did wonder if I stayed in the middle of summer would that fan still power down? $30 got me a 7day subway ticket with no zones or off peak times. cheaper than the tube for sure and it works on buses and the cable car to Roosevelt island.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elbeuf

Hôtel très bien placé et très calme

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: La propreté c'est parfait
Cons: une salle de bain privative serait un plus mais cela ne nous a pas dérangé durant notre séjour
Location: Quartier très calme avec toutes les commodités restos, métro
Super séjour à New York hôtel 31 est super bien placé vraiment nous sommes ravis de notre séjour nous reviendrons c'est sûr!!!!