Ratings based on 3,743 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Lovely old style hotel.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Close to everything.Friendly helpful staff.Only downside was wifi wasn't great but would definitely recommend and would gladly stay there again ☺
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

Great hotel with loads of character

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Loads of character, wonderful old fashioned lift, quiet, comfortable bed, great maid service.
Cons: Better tea and coffee making facilities, a few biscuits wouldn't go amiss. I know there probably isn't any space but a lounge and eating area.
Location: Wonderful location just a block away from the subway and a few blocks across from the Empire state Building, really central.
We had a tight budget but this hotel had everything we needed, we were en-suite and the room and bathroom were very small but we really only needed it as a base, and although it was a bit worn and scuffed around the edges it was very clean and comfortable with loads of great character. Very American 1970's, all gold, brown and red decor. Great maid service with clean towels everyday. The room was very quiet, with little noise from the street. There was air conditioning but this was very noisy so you wouldn't want it on when sleeping. Would happily go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Can't beat the location! Perfect for sight seeing

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Absolutely fabulous location. You really can't ask for any better. Right in the middle of manhatten with easy walking to to Empire State, Grand Central, Times Square, Chryseller building and Fifth avenue! Jump on the tube at 33rd street (all of 2 mins from hotel!!) to either head uptown to do the museums and Central Park or downtown to do Brooklyn bridge, 9/11 memorial, Wall Street, Statue of Liberty etc. The pizza place at the end of the street- I forget the name (maybe Vezzo?!) that is to absolutely die for! The do a 2 slice and a drink lunch deal. Turn right out of building and it's about 3 building down on corner. Hotel is basic but it is honestly is clean and tidy and does the job. Go for a private bathroom of you can- just easier, but the shared bathrooms were immaculate too! The lift is so cute! And they look after your suitcase for free of you have a late flight. No dramas. Easy!! Offered to book a cab for return trip to airport but just hail a cab outside of hotel- took us about 3 seconds for a cab to drive past and it's a fixed $52 dollar ride no matter what aslong as it's a yellow cab. Don't delay. Book this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MidTown Manhattan New York

Family of Four

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: The hotel was very clean, friendly and comfortable.
Cons: There wasn't anything I can think of where improvements were needed.
Location: We walked almost everywhere we went. Empire State Building, Time Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park.
We really enjoyed our stay in New York and Hotel 31 was a great choice. We will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Location is convenient.

Posted May 21, 2017
Shared bathroom was not in my favor, so we ended up upgrading to a 2 double bed with it's own bathroom at an additional $50 more/night. The hotel was very accommodating and was able to get us the perfect room. The room itself was clean and cozy. Not too thrilled about the small old fashioned elevator. But overall, it was an enjoyable 4 night stay in this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Tx

Great stay, will be back

Posted May 1, 2017
Personally, location couldn't have been more perfect for my needs. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Showed up hours before check in and was welcomed right in with no issue. Had a room with private bath, which was extremely clean and spotless. I don't believe my room had a heater but it was unnecessary during my stay. Also, walls are very thin! Luckily, had no issues with noisy neighbors and the block in general is quiet in comparison to the surrounding areas. Would not hesitate to book another stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great little hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Had a 4 night stay in this hotel a quaint little place that is clean and has friendly staff who are willing to help you if needed. Only a few minutes walk from local attractions and a great price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ideal if traveling alone.

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location. Was a female traveling alone and this location was perfect. Everything in easy reach. Staff very nice and helpful too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location for the price

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: location
Location: Great stay in mid-town.
My stay was good in NYC. The location was great for the price. The bathroom was always available when I needed it. The bathroom was clean every time i went in there.
5 out of 5
by Donna

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels