Ratings based on 577 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Needs new management.

Posted Jul 28, 2016
This year, the great location of this hotel did not make up for the problems they have encountered since leaving the Hyatt affiliation. Housekeeping issues, rude staff, very noisy water pipes. I truly hope improvements are made since the property itself is nicely appointed and very conveniently located.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bremen, Germany

Modernes Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Gute Lage zu Fuß zu 5th Avenue. Schöne moderne Zimmer. Frühstück überschaubar aber sehr "stylish" aber etwas wenig Sitzplätze. Service kam bei Frühstück kaum hinterher. Lobby wollte Rechnung erneut über Kreditkarte abziehen obwohl bereits zuvor bezahlt. Würde es insgesamt aber wegen der schönen Zimmer und der guten Lage zentral in Manhatten wieder buchen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Very clean
Location: A little far if you are walking from Time Square. It isn't too far if you are only walking there once or twice but to go back and forth is a lot.
The hotel is very clean and the staff are courteous. I was a little disappointed upon arrival when I was advised I was to pay a $40 USD daily charge for breakfast. I booked through Expedia and said that this was unacceptable and I would decline breakfast. I had to show my expedia receipt and luckily I didn't book in the month of May as for some odd reason I would have to pay the $40 on top of the cost of the room (only if I booked in the month of May). The lady at the desk was very nice and waived the charges. The hotel is a little farther from Time Square than I thought it was. We walked everywhere so it would have been nice to be closer. But on the upside we walked a lot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Unorganized

Posted Jun 27, 2016
I booked a room for my boss but as 48LEX overbooked, he needed to move to a different hotel. I will never use this hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Business travelers style Hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: To improve: tourist minded services. ( breakfast hours, water, etc )
The hotel is nice. The staff is wonderfully kind. Cons: the breakfast ending by 9am. it is clear, ain't for tourists. The resort fee ( not optional ) at a rate of USD 40, I expect more for that money. Be careful, Expedia said: the resort fee includes many things, like a in-room bottle of water, it isn't true, they charge you for the in-room bottle about USD 9 + Tax each. The hotel location is perfect, has many stores near.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

New York Stay

Posted May 18, 2016
48 lex is just a great place , although rooms may be not that spacious yet they are well furnished and equipped. Staff is excellent and very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Director of Front Office, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel close to grand central

Posted May 15, 2016
At first we were under impressed with the size of the reception area. One small desk and the lobby was essentially a small bench. The room was nice and clean and fair size for New York (small for other cities / countries) and the shower was modern. noisy street (Lexington ave) but being on 18th floor helped a little. The lounge where we were having breakfast is nice and cozy and breakfast was a small selection of cheese (literally 2) processed meat (2 choices) boiled eggs (which they have ran out of once) and bread and fruits and granola cups. If you like to have a big selection buffet for breakfast this hotel can not provide that. Once we asked for evening cleaning service for the room and the staff readily sent us that. bonus point for that. Overall nice hotel at good central location (on busy Lexington and 1 street away from park avenue and around 12 mins to grand central station), although not overly impressive for around $400/night so we wouldn't personally stay again there. Can't expect too much room size in New York but we would have loved to see other features bigger and more generous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Director of Front Office, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jacksonville, fl

Great nyc hotel in a perfect location!

Posted May 3, 2016
My husband and I went to New York City for a weekend getaway and it was my first time in the city. We loved the hotel and its location! We were able to quickly get anywhere we wanted to go and see all the sights easily. The room was very nice and the staff were phenomenal. The only thing that didn't live up to our expectation was the complimentary breakfast. We've stayed at many places before with complementary breakfast and we know what to expect, but we just didn't feel they had enough options. We're used to simple things like bagels, muffins and diy waffles and this was a little different for our taste. They had coffee, bread, fruit and meat/cheese platters. Just not what we're used to, but still a nice lounge area that was comfortable. If they had a few other selections we probably would've taken advantage of this perk. By no means is this a deal breaker because we absolutely loved the hotel and will definitely return in the future!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

Posted May 1, 2016
Excellent customer service, really nice hotel, plus free breakfast and free wine &a cheese in the evening. I'd definitely go back
5 out of 5
by ANDREW

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Simply wonderful! Loved it.