Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2015
nice place! the key is a bit bulky to carry but the place is awesome! i couldn't find a quiet place for a phone meeting as tmobile didn't have any signals in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Would definately book Hotel Americano again for a only a short stay, as the rooms are very small, but this is to be expected in NYC, the only time we were in our room was to sleep, so the size of the room doesn't matter too much. The bed was quiet comfortable but for some people, they might find it difficult to get in and out of as it a bit low to the ground. If you have a lot of luggage or plan on doing some shopping, your room might get a little congested. The location is perfect and the roof bar has great views of the Highline and some parts of NYC. We stayed on a Monday & Tuesday night, so we didn't have any problems with noise from the rooftop bar as some other reviews suggested. The staff are very polite and accommodating, which is not always the case in some NYC hotels. Our only downside to our stay, was upon returning to our room on both nights, there was a slight sewage smell coming from the drain in the bathroom, I'm not sure if this is the case with all rooms, or because we were on the 9th floor, it wasn't pleasant but we just had to make sure we covered the drain with a towel and closed the bathroom door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Cons: Pool reserved for guests only during the day and lower music at night
Very central.. But also Very noisy at night.. Need ear plugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NJ

Interesting hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Great shower (difficult to turn on), very comfortable bed, adjustable room temp, light blocking electric screen over window
Cons: bathroom light dim (makeup application hard even with magnifying mirror); bed on platform, easy to trip; weird electricity policy; very small sink
Location: Near Highline, walk to Javit's Center, restaurants and shopping
Interesting hotel with screened front of building, unusual first floor with warren of rooms with walls blocking everything, insertion of weird metal dongle required in elevator to get to floors and in room to get electricity, meaning you can't charge your phone unless you are in the room. Felt tag for room key worn and no longer aesthetically pleasing. Some veneer worn off platform for bed. Strange placement of lights and controls, basically under lit though there are a lot of lights. Bed very very comfortable. Lovely shower once I figured out how to turn on. Bathroom lighting very dim, may have left hotel looking like a kabuki actor as a result. Sink is tiny and spout comes out to middle of bowl so impossible to wash face there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from México, D.F.

Instalaciones hotel terribles

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Habitación muy pequeña y totalmente no practico para poder estar en él. El baño nada funcional. No recomendable. Lo único que lo salva es la atención del personal; la cual es muy buena .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

Nice but loud!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Noise and restaurant service.
This is a very hip, trendy hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful, however it had a very party-like environment. I was woken up several times during the night by drunk people in the hall way. I don't know if that was because it was a Friday night, a special event or if that was normal? The roof-top restaurant was again, very hip, but loud with terrible service. The room itself was a perfect size for a single person, however, if my husband had been there it would have been very crowded. The location is great - in the heart of Chelsea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

BEST EVER IN TOWN!

Posted Jun 13, 2015
thats LUXURY for fair price! perfect located, big rooms, big windows with day light, big soft and clean bed, the shower ist clean and modern... ALL IS SO NICE AN WELCOME! thx for the wonderful 10 days in NYC! I'll come back to the HOTEL AMERICANO! ❤️
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Collective a Design Fair

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Overall design & caracter. The restaurant was great! Love the penthouse for drink. Great location. Bathroom finishes & design were very nice.
Cons: The key/elevator probe is really heavy for a guy to carry in his pocket. Lower towel shelf. Put a sheet on the bed & blank in room.
Location: Highline, museums, galleries, restaurants, bars.
Great location. Very difficult to get cabs & not much assistance from bellman, if any. Nicely designed rooms but black finish cabinetry isn't wearing well. I wasn't quite comfortable getting up from the low beds. Would like a top sheet along with a comforter. Not much storage for folded cloths or baggage. Hate that you have to insert probe to turn electricity on. Because of that my devices I left in room were not charged upon my return, very frustrating in the digital world. The towel self in bath was actually a little too high up for me to reach comfortably.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels