Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Magne from Oslo

Kult hotell, men ikke verdt pengene

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Hotellet er passe kult, men allerede litt preget av slitasje. Enkel og fin innredning på rommene, men veldig lite plass til personlige ting. Vi var plaget av aircondition-anlegg som bråkte veldig og ødela en del av nattesøvnen. Det ble ikke gjort noe med dette i løpet av vår uke på hotellet. Dette var ikke helt verdt pengene.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jan from Oslo

Greit hotell med en ok plassering i NY

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Hotellet ligger ok til i forhold til å reise rundt i NY med subway. Det er stille rundt hotellet og det er bra. Rommet er litt spartansk utstyrt. Ingen stoler bl.a. For oss i 60 årene er det ikke ok bare å kunne sitte/ligge i sengen. Ellers var det ok. OK og variert frokost som smakte godt
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amy from Baltimore

Loved it

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great boutique hotel. Good location. Friendly staff. Breakfast was great. The most comfortable small NY hotel room I've stayed in so far. Would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James

Dysfunctional design hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Rooms Pros: Liked Japanese style low mattress, Bed was super comfortable, blackout blinds and 'natural daylight' lightbulbs great if you don't keep regular hours. Cons: Shower bathroom partition wall leaked water on to bedroom floor, bean bag chair in corner of room may be a design feature but was not useable and meant that half the room space was lost which is a shame as room was large by NYC standards. Why are the hotel using keys in this day and age? Was annoying having to carry around / return to reception a key and fob, another dysfunctional design detail. Hotel Overall one can't help but feel that the design features of this hotel do not quite flow, like it it trying to hard to be a 'design' hotel but the design is dysfunctional, like the laughable 'swimming pool' on the roof, the waste of space bean bag chairs and the 'old school' room keys. Also, (and perhaps because we were staying during fashion week and obviously because the hotel is located in Chelsea) the hotel restaurant and bars were overrun with plastic, sour-faced, yuppie fashion hanger-on types which for us made the communal areas feel unwelcoming, and we went elsewhere for breakfast, dinner & drinks. We are not 'Times Square' type people and both work in creative industries in London too, but found the scene around this hotel off-putting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Stylish yet reasonably priced Hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Attractively designed Hotel with open air Bar/Dining on roof. Rooms are compact but well designed. Only issues were a few technical glitches like a sticky door and broken light switch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

I give it a four! I would stay there again!

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: The bed! The bed was so comfy that I didn't like my own bed at home that I loved before I went to this hotel.
Cons: The silverware is in a cabinet with open drawers right by the elevator. Glasses laying out. The furniture needs cleaned or recovered.
Location: Quick walk to Highline, Citi Bike, Intrepid, Beast, Times Square, Subway, Chelsea Market. Central Location in Manhattan.
The bed was the best! Very comfortable; you have to like platform beds to appreciate the bed its low to the floor. Awesome shades; kept out all of the light on one setting for sleeping and another let in some light offering privacy. The bathroom had some quirks! The sink was small and no where to put your stuff in the bathroom except a tiny shelf. However they did have a table outside the bath to put your things. They offered a robe and house shoes but two guests and only one robe and set of house shoes. You could see right through the shower into the bedroom so there was no privacy getting dressed or taking a shower. They had a really nice mirror in the bathroom that lit up and had a flip side to magnify; awesome for make up. The staff is super friendly and helpful! The view from the roof top is great! The location is even better. Quick walk to everything and Citi bike is around the corner as well as the highline. There is a place two doors down and the rooftop has an awesome place for hanging out with drinks. No scenery. Nice Ambiance. The reason why I didn't give a five. They leave their dishes laying out in the elements. The dishes are outside on the roof top among the dirt in the air. Didn't want to eat there because of this. The bathroom had a smell coming from it one day like a sewer. We shut the door. It was just the one day but heck we were outta there seeing the sites anyway. The roof top bar looks much nicer at night. Rooftop furniture could use a scrub.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from Albany, NY

Perfect if you want to pretend you're at a hostel.

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
I chose this hotel for my most recent business trip to NYC based on its locations and its high ratings here. What a mistake. I am a frequent traveler, and I have to hand it to the Hotel Americano: It takes the prize for the least functional, most uncomfortable hotel room I've experienced anywhere in the world. Mattress on the floor? Check. Sink the size of a small plate with no place to set down toiletries or anything else? Check. An actual chair to sit on in the room? No. A weird and giant key chain to lug around the city? Yes. And the inability to have electricity in the room while the metal rod on the keychain isn't plugged into the wall? Check. So, forget about charging your electronics while you are out of the room. If you want to pretend you're staying at a youth hostel, or at the home of a friend who is down on their luck and hasn't gotten around to furnishing the place yet, the Hotel Americano is for you. Otherwise, I encourage you to look elsewhere for someplace that is an actual hotel for not much more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2015
nice place! the key is a bit bulky to carry but the place is awesome! i couldn't find a quiet place for a phone meeting as tmobile didn't have any signals in the room.