Ratings based on 6,403 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, comfortable place to stay

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Location, overall feel, quietly elegant
Cons: Fix air conditioner noise in our room
Hotel staff was great. Bed was awesome. Room was compact but well designed and had everything we needed. The only reason it wasn't a 5 star rating was the noisy air conditioner that went on and off during the night. It wasn't the worst but slightly irritating. Other than that, hotel was all thumbs up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable upper west side NYC

Posted May 26, 2017
Perfectly adequate accommodations. No-frills, just a decent place to stay for the night
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great area. Disappointing room.

Posted May 25, 2017
This was our third stay at this hotel and probably the last. Room was a small box off a dark courtyard. Room was not clean. Toilet had funky pellets on seat. Handle fell off shower water faucet. Lights blew out in room and bathroom. Left bulb on desk. Were not replaced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location Bad hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Some basic services like free wifi that most hotels offer or free morning coffee
Location: Centrally located, I highly recommend Coppola restaurant. Not overpriced at all but excellent food and you can actually sit down.
Don't be fooled by the pictures. Room is tiny. And I mean jammed.There is No microwave, Tv gets about 4 channels, if you want cable the hotel charges for that you must call the front desk, if you want wifi it's not free the hotel charges for that too! Only 1 roll of toilet paper provded, only 2 towels until we asked for more. The tiny fridge was jammed full of the hotel products like water and soda. If you drink the water bottle it is $10.00! We did not. The elevator broke down trapping my 2 kids inside on the 5 th floor for over 20 minutes until staff and elevator engineers got them out! Oh and this is nice (there is no free continental breakfast, they charge 12.00 for a pastry and coffee. There is nothing complimentary about this hotel. It is set up to charge you for oxygen if they could. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.. They did refund us 1 night for the elevator incident, but initially offered us a "FREE hotel breakfast of a cup of coffee and donut!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Very good location. Nice hotel.

Posted May 17, 2017
Nice hotel in a very good location. Staff were friendly. The rooms was on the dusty side. Dusty table, blinds, cabinet tops etc. Tried to adjust the blind to let in more sunlight and instantly regretted, dust flying everywhere. No tea/coffee making facility. Good sized and comfy bed. Will stay again if I visit NY. Very convenient. 2 streets from subway.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by Hotel Belleclaire, Hotel Management
Thank you Khloe for your note. We are looking into your feedback and apologize for any inconvenience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Getting tired.

Posted May 16, 2017
Walls near the 9th floor stairs by the elevator are peeling/crumbling badly. Wi-FI was horrific for my 3 day stay. Totally unreliable and sporadic Wi-Fi service. I love the charm off this place, but it may be time to go across Broadway to the NYLO next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by Hotel Belleclaire, Hotel Management
Thank you for your note. We did recently upgrade our wireless service and I am sorry to hear you had a challenge with it. Can you contact the hotel when you have an opportunity and ask to speak with Robert?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Convenient location with public transportation available to all areas of Manhattan. Excellent restaurants nearby. Outstanding courteous staff. We stay here at least several times a year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very helpful staff and great location

Posted May 9, 2017
Great location on Upper West Side with excellent transport links. The staff were incredibly helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by r, Hotel Management
Great review glad to hear the staff were helpful visit us again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

BEWARE THE VALET PARKING

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: The location is great.
Cons: Obviously, the security of the valet parking. The air conditioning was a window unit, which was not ideal.
Location: Only a few blocks from the Museum of Natural History. Lots of stores and restaurants in the neighborhood. Easy to get to from Rt. 9A.
My family and I stayed overnight at the hotel on 5/5/17. We chose the hotel due to the location, which was great. The overall hotel experience was ok - fine for an overnight. I valeted my car upon arrival, which turned out to be a huge mistake. My car was apparently rifled through and money was stolen. It was bad judgement on my part to leave money in the car (in a birthday card in an envelope), but one should not have to worry about the valet stealing from you. I contacted the hotel, but they have done basically nothing. Apparently, the valet parking is outsourced and they have only passed my complaint along to the garage and have taken no responsibility whatsoever. This is very disappointing after a decent stay at their hotel. I would not stay there again just out of principle. Also, I agree with a lot of the reviews online - noisy rooms, poor a/c, and unresponsive hot water.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by robert, Hotel Management
Good afternoon Mark, I do apologize for any inconvenience. We did speak the next day regarding your issue and the manager of the garage did contact you that day. Please contact me to discuss further and my sincere apologies for any inconvenience. Sincerely, Robert Holmes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dependable Belleclaire!

Posted May 4, 2017
The hotel is on NYC's Upper West Side and is convenient to many places and sights: Central Park is a nice walk from here, the 1/2/3 lines' subway stop is close by, and there are many restaurants of great quality within a few blocks. Belleclaire staff are friendly, including the man who runs the coffee bar (careful, he's a pusher of croissants!). I've stayed at the hotel many times and rooms are all very different in terms of furnishings, bathrooms, views, and noise levels. If you can swing it, consider an upgrade to a parlor suite.