Ratings based on 5,079 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient for central park

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Location to central park
Cons: Room cleanliness during sta . Coffee facilities in room. Storage for clothes.
Staff seemed helpful, though hotel room quite small and no where really to put your clothes so lived out of a suitcase. Shame no coffee facilities in room. Although room was clean when arrived, room was only serviced very basic for the duration of your stay. They didn't even chuck empty plastic cups. The floor felt sticky under foot. Location was good for central park and adequate for just sleeping in. Over priced all in all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a good location in Upper West NYC

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Cleaning services
A little disappointed by the cleaning service in the hotel ... room not cleaned all day and when I requested for a clean up the cleaning lady looked at me like I was doing something wrong. Would not expect this from a 3+ star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Belleclaire Hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: staff and location. nice coffee bar in lobby too.
Cons: maybe upgrade the corridors a little and the beds. Mine was ok but is getting a little saggy.
Location: upper westside location was wondeful. close to subway, great restaurants and bars on broadway, amsterdam and colombus.
This was a lovely little hotel in an excellent location. Wonderful staff! Rooms have been recently upgraded I can see. Air conditioner is very noisy if that bothers you but works well as room temp. is great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

Hotel typique sur la rue.

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Son aspect typique et arts déco. La jolie chambre très bien meublée avec une literie parfaite.
Cons: Le bruit et l'isolation entre chambre
Location: Manhattan à coté de central park.
Hotel de caractère , malheureusement très bruyant car sur l 'avenue très passante et isolation phonique entre les chambres insuffisante. Nous avons été surclassés en suite junior à la suite d'un manque de chambre luxe. Personnel sympathique, sans plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Good hotel but a bit tired and showing its age. Staff friendly ang generally helpful. The hotel could do with updating ie light seeps in around the door, no table lamps and plumbing dubious. That said the location is fine and I would stay there again. Overall reasonable value for money, clean and safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with friendly staff, could be cleaner

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, location
Cons: Cleanliness
The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They were able to upgrade me to a suite and made sure that I had everything I needed for my stay. The room was very spacious for a NY hotel and I loved that they provided a complimentary chocolate bar and pretzels. My main complaint was cleanliness. There were a few small stains on the sheets. The sheets seemed clean. They smelled clean and felt well starched, but hotels should really discard sheets with stains even if they are clean as they give guests doubts. Also, there were two bugs in the bathtub when I went to shower in the morning. There was a window in the shower so I imagine they came in through it, but again this is something the hotel should control for. I really liked everything else about this hotel and it's really unfortunate that the cleanliness level wasn't up to my standards because otherwise I would have loved to return here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for "Upper West Side"

Posted Aug 24, 2015
From check-in to check-out, my wife and I couldn't have been happier. Staff was caring, attentive and responsive to our questions. From directions to internet access, they all wanted to make sure we were happy. I HIGHLY recommend!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for couples

Posted Aug 22, 2015
It was great and very appealing for couples. However do not expect a lot of space or luxurious amenities in the room. Overall this is a great hotel that is cheaper than the ones closer to times square, but still close enough, plus its only a few blocks from Central Park and museums.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Claustrophobic city centre vacation

Posted Aug 22, 2015
On arrival hotel looked impressive from the outside, however this was short lived. Check in was quick but on seeing our room we were extremely dissapointed. I have stayed in lots of hotels throughout the world but I can safely say this was the smallest hotel room known to man, barely room for us to turn around let alone fit our suitcases in, no drawers and only three hangers. We could barely open the shower door as the bathroom was the size of a small closet. The wifi would only work if we stood as close to the front door as possible, and even then it was slow. Air conditioning unit was so loud that it drowned out the noise of the traffic outside though the non-double glazed windows (which was actually a plus!) and we got bitten multiple times by Mosquitos in our room which I can only assume came through that 1980's air conditioned unit. When I pointed out my concerns to the staff at the desk I was dismissed and told if I wasn't happy I could pay a fee to upgrade. The ONE positive for this hotel was its location, we were able to walk to Times Square and the subway station was one block from the hotel. Overall poor, would not recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had problems when checking in

Posted Aug 20, 2015
The hotel put as in a room that was not what we booked. We booked a city view and had a view of the rear walls and not even a view. Had to be persistent with the hotel staff that this was not acceptable. After a view discussions, they managed to find a room.