Ratings based on 427 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nokomis, FL

Posted May 26, 2017
The Elysee has been a short term haven for my family for many years. Staying at the hotel feels more like coming back to a NY apartment rather than a hotel at the end of a day. The location in mid-town is convenient to shopping, museums and transportation. The staff are always friendly and ready to help. In my limited experience with any problems, they are helpful and efficient with resolution. The decor has not changed since the 80's which on the one hand, I guess is part of the charm but a little updating would only enhance its appeal. Part of the updating it could use would be some convenient charging ports for electronics which in my most recent room involved crawling under the furniture for a plug. For this reason, I have given 4 stars rather than five.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
Missing towels had to get them from housekeeping my Sheets and pillow cases not in such good condition. Television impossible to see from bed. Maintenance hds to move armoir to make tv visable. Other than that room was comfortable and relatively clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bergdorf right around the corner

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The brx and happy hours are convenient for meeting fellow guests and there are some interesting people there. Upper middle class for the most part.
Cons: It's the Library chain, and you can tell this by the antique 780p low def TV cable service. Plus, rooms need more and accessible power outlets.
Location: Neighboring restaurants (upper East side) are very expensive, and not that good. Either get a carryout from Lexington Ave or go elsewhere.
This hotel is great for middle-aged people leading more introspective and sedate lives. The location is relatively quiet, the brx and happy hour are well provisioned by food and by all the main newspapers, and it is easy to strike up conversations. This hotel supplies what almost all others except B&B's do not - a social setting for meeting other people. If bars don't work for you, this is a nice alternative. Very convenient to high-end NYC shopping. Bed comfortable. Room decent size. Staff attentive. Bathtubs! Windows open.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 20, 2017
Very nice staff, very expensive and not very comfortable rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel - excellent location

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Excellent location
Cons: Slippers could have been provided and also the bananas ran out in the fruit display in the lounge on one occasion and that was not replenished.
Location: Central park, 5th avenue.
We were in New York for a long weekend (Friday afternoon until Monday evening). Stayed 3 nights. I travelled from London so was used to the European feel of the hotel. My travelling companion was from the West coast of the US and a bit surprised about the European feel in New York. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from central park, 5 minutes from the shops in the 5th avenue and 5 minutes from several tube stations. The hotel staff were wonderful and service was very prompt. I was downstairs in reception to mention an issue with the television and the repair staff was in the room before I even manage to get back upstairs. Our room did not have a view but we were out most of the day anyway. The restaurant, Cellini (Italian) on the other side of the road on the hotel is good. Hotel more for those who are relatively more well off - middle aged couples. My niece, in her late 20s, commented that she has not seen anyone her age or younger in the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay...

Posted May 17, 2017
Great staff,location; could not have been better! Would stay there again in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Everything about the hotel was great! We loved the location and extra amenities.
5 out of 5
by tyler

Two Suite Nights to Celebrate a Birthday

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
We were here for a few days celebrating my wife's birthday, and I choose a "presidential suite" for the occasion. It was spacious and beautiful. We arrived very early in the morning and the front desk was able to move us into our room early which was wonderful. The breakfast on the second floor was nice and the Monkey Bar next door was a nice plus. All Staff were very friendly and accommodating. A very nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017
Dear Tyler, Thank you so much for your beautiful review. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your wife's birthday celebration and the Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again in the future! Warm regards, Cheryl Golde Director of Sales & Marketing Hotel Elysee
5 out of 5
by Laura from Macon, Ga

Fun weekend trip

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
This is now my favorite NYC hotel. Courteous staff, great breakfast and wine and cheese, nice location. Clean, safe. I will stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Laura, Thank you so much for your glowing review! We're so happy that you enjoyed yourself and that you will make the Hotel Elysee your new New York City home! We can't wait to welcome you back! Warm regards, Cheryl Golde Director of Sales & Marketing Hotel Elysee
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Little classy midtown hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Perfectly located for theater, shopping, banking, dining. Has a great lounge with a generous breakfast spread, great coffee, and all the newspapers
Cons: Our shower control needed tightening - time for a little maintenance. Minor issue.
Location: Banking, shopping, dining, theater. Theater is a short walk, and you need the exercise.
We love this place - our favorite NYC hotel. Comfortable and classy, like my mother-in-law's living room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Director of Sales & Marketing, Hotel Management
Dear Crix, Thank you so much for your feedback! I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and location of the hotel as well as your time spent in Manhattan. I'm sorry to hear about the shower control needing tightening. We will absolutely take a look and fix it for you and our future guests. Thank you for letting us know! We hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Cheryl Golde