Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nokomis FL

Lovely Hotel in a great Location

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff, lovely rooms, good lighting in rooms, nice bathrooms, excellent location.
This hotel group does it right and The Giraffe is no exception. I am a return visitor and will make The Giraffe my temporary home again in the future. The staff are wonderful, nothing is too much trouble. This especially includes the breakfast staff, who provide bright and cheery smiles every morning along with great service. The rooms are spacious for a large city city like New York, the bathrooms luxurious.The location is conveniently located in a mixed residential/commercial area. The subway and buses are only a couple of blocks away and there are a number of fine restaurants within walking distance. One recommendation is to request a quieter room on the side street to lessen the city noise. I highly recommend The Giraffe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Ray S, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I appreciate all of your feedback and hope we can welcome you back soon. Please feel free to contact me next time you are visiting, I would be happy to help try to assign you to a room on a higher floor! have a great day! Ray Schum Hotel Giraffe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great friendly hotel with style

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Such an enjoyable stay - and now I have a favorite hotel in NYC. Giraffe is a stylish boutique hotel with real warmth. So nice to have the continental breakfast and wine in the evening, good location that was central but not too hectic ... love it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Ray S, Hotel Management
Thank you so much! We are so excited to read how much you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you again soon! Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

FABULOUS HOTEL IN NY CITY

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: Perfect location. Near a subway but within walking distance to a huge array of NY attractions, restaurants, cafes & bars.
Can't speak more highly of this hotel. One of the best we've stayed in for ambiance & value for money in an excellent location. The staff couldn't be more helpful from the moment we walked in the door until we left 4 days later. Incredibly large room, great bathroom & very comfortable bed. The breakfast selection is very good & the evening happy hour in the pleasant lobby has a great selection of cheese, dips & wine (all of which is included in the tariff). I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to New York.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Ray S, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are so excited you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back 'home' soon! have a great day! Ray Schum Hotel Giraffe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Brilliant location, friendly staff

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, cheese and wine, complementary coffee and pastries, location
Cons: More gluten free options for breakfast.
Location: 5th Ave only a block away, about 30 min walk to time square, Madison square park about 5 min walk away. Tour busses about 15 min walk
Very friendly staff. Helped with airport transfers which were reliable and on time. The breakfast was enough, and the staff remembered what you had. They were cheerful and nothing was too much trouble. The cheese and wine in the evening was a great way to finish off a hard day of shopping/ sightseeing, in a relaxing environment. The rooms were clean, and very comfortable, and slept really well. If you are a light sleeper, they will offer earplugs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Ray S, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. The next time you are visiting please feel free to let us know you gluten intolerant and we would be happy to offer a gluten free option in addition to what is normally served at breakfast. I hope to welcome you back soon. Best, Ray Schum Director of Sales Hotel Giraffe
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Wonderful hotel in a convenient location

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff, comfy bed, spacious room (& bathroom), complimentary breakfast (& wine in the evening), location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Located downtown, 10 min walk from Union Square, 20 min to Times Square, there's a subway station nearby.
Spent 3 nights at the hotel & wouldn't hesitate to recommend. The location downtown close to the Flatiron Building meant it was easy to get to all parts of Manhattan (we walked or used the nearby subway), there were lots of great places to eat very close to the hotel (try the Gramercy Tavern if you can) All the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful, the room was spotless with a very comfy bed and the complimentary breakfast was just right - loved it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Ray S, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I have shared your compliments with all of our staff and they are all so happy to see you enjoyed your stay.I truly hope we can welcome you back soon! Have a great day! Ray Schum Hotel Giraffe Director of Sales
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Great location. Staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Breakfast and snacks were much better than other places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by Ray S, Hotel Management
Hello! Im so happy to see you had such a wonderful time during your stay. I'm also very happy to see you breakfast and snacks. We try our best to ensure the best quality products for our guests! We hope to welcome you back again soon! Ray Schum Hotel Giraffe Director of Sales
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great service!

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel stay. Best thing was the service -- it is clearly a priority here. Also quite convenient to subway stops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017
Hello! Thank you so much for your five star review on your recent stay with us! Our guests comfort is our utmost priority, so it makes me very happy to see you enjoyed the level of service provided! I hope to welcome you back at some point int the near future! Warm regards, Ray Schum Hotel Giraffe Director of Sales
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved It!

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
We loved our stay at Hotel Giraffe! We picked it based on other positive reviews and were not disappointed! We had a family of four in one room and did not feel cramped at all. Nice size bathroom, comfortable beds, great location. The staff could not have been friendlier and the breakfast and wine and cheese happy hour were awesome! Would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017
Hello, Thank you so much for such an amazing review! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We really hope we can welcome you back at some point in the future! Warm regards, Ray Schum Hotel Giraffe Director of Sales
5 out of 5
by Edward Jason

Get those extra ZZZzz's

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Great checkout time. I was working late the night before, the 1 PM checkout let me get some extra zzz's. Decent continental breakfast as well. Good grapefruit juice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017
Hello, Thank you so much for your review! I'm so happy to see our 1pm checkout gave you plenty of time to rest up! I hope we can welcome you back 'home' soon! Warm regards, Ray Schum Hotel Giraffe Director of Sales
5 out of 5
by David

worth a look as a good value high quality hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent value hotel, good room, wine and cheese each evening a nice touch, staff very friendly and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017
Hello! Thank you so much for such a positive review on your recent stay with us. We are so happy to see you enjoyed our wine and cheese reception, but more importantly we are very proud to see how friendly our staff was during your stay. I hope we can welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Ray Schum Hotel Giraffe Director of Sales