Ratings based on 1,447 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Doesn't look like picture

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The hotel doesn't look the way the picture shows. Do not be fooled. The room was tiny and the furniture was outdated. The wall paper was peeling off the walls. The elevator was tiny and so was the bed. Ive gotten bigger rooms for the money I spent on This hotel. Not impressed
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Edward M, Hotel Management
Hello, Please accept our sincere apology for managing to fall far below meeting your expectations. Our goal is to exceed all guest expectations and clearly this was not the case based on your feedback and experience. We are very sorry that the room size was not up to your standards. As with many New York Hotels, some of the rooms are on the smaller side because of the age of the buildings. Were you able to talk to the front desk about seeing some other rooms or inquiring about upgrade options? We would kindly request that you do reconsider staying with Hotel Mela in the future and we will ensure your next experience with us is far different and much improved, than your last. Thank you for sharing your feedback with the online community and we do look forward to recovering you to be a loyal guest of Hotel Mela!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, Utah

Great hotel close to Times Square

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, staff, location
Had a great stay and the hotel and staff were very nice. About two blocks from Times Square but far enough away that it was quiet. We took the red eye in and the hotel staff let us check our bags with them even though check in wasn't until 3. Room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was nice. Definitely better then where I had stayed last time I was in New York. Would definitely stay there again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by tthomas@hotelmela.com, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Mela, we're thrilled that you chose to stay with us over the many, many hotels in the Times Square neighborhood. In addition, thank you for taking the time to share your very positive experience with us and the online community. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Mela in the near future and thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends, family and colleagues. Thanks again and all the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location to everything in NYC

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Staff accommodated every need! Clean room! And good location with reasonable price!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by tthomas@hotelmela.com, Hotel Management
Hello, Thanks so much for your recent stay at Hotel Mela and for sharing your experience with the online community. While we would have loved to receive your feedback and learning about a very good and/or perfect experience, we do understand that shortfalls made your experience only average. We do hope and trust that your future travel plans to NYC do include Hotel Mela so we can truly demonstrate what a great hotel this is! Thanks again and all the best!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel in midtown. Period.

Posted Feb 11, 2017
I travel to midtown frequently and have stayed at many hotels. This is the absolute worst experience I've had as a customer. Will never make that mistake again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by John S. , Hotel Management
Hello, Please accept our sincere apology for managing to fall far below meeting your expectations. Our goal is to exceed all guest expectations and clearly this was not the case based on your feedback and experience. It's truly unfortunate that you did not take this opportunity to provide constructive and specific feedback as to how we can improve. We would kindly request that you do reconsider staying with Hotel Mela in the future and we will ensure your next experience with us is far different and much improved, than your last. Thank you for sharing your feedback with the online community and we do look forward to recovering you to be a loyal guest of Hotel Mela!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location, period

Posted Feb 10, 2017
The corridors smell marihuana hotel staff have to take responsibility and put out people who smoke, is really disgusting that smell inside a hotel, the location was great but the service won't , and by the way they charge to much for room cleaning
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by tthomas@hotelmela.com, Hotel Management
Hello, Please accept our sincere apology for managing to fall far below meeting your expectations. Our goal is to exceed all guest expectations and clearly this was not the case based on your feedback and experience. We do our best to investigate whenever there is a complaint about smoking. We charge a penalty fee of $330 to any guest that is caught smoking. There are incidents where we are not able to find out who is smoking until the guest has already checked out. I do understand how this can compromise the enjoyment of your visit. We would kindly request that you do reconsider staying with Hotel Mela in the future and we will ensure your next experience with us is far different and much improved, than your last. Mela! Thank you for sharing your feedback with the online community and we do look forward to recovering you to be a loyal guest of Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener

Great hotel great location service was perfect!

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Highly recommend this great hotel which could not be more centrally located to Time Square and the theatre district!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Edward M., Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Mela, we're thrilled that you chose to stay with us over the many, many hotels in the Times Square neighborhood. In addition, thank you for taking the time to share your very positive experience with us and the online community. we are very pleased that you found the location to be to your standards. Times Square is a great area to visit because there is so much to do in addition to it being centrally located in the city. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Mela in the near future and thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends, family and colleagues. Thanks again and all the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Great experience, clean room, comfortable, excellent location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by tthomas@hotelmela.com, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Mela, we're thrilled that you chose to stay with us over the many, many hotels in the Times Square neighborhood. In addition, thank you for taking the time to share your very positive experience with us and the online community. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Mela in the near future and thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends, family and colleagues. Thanks again and all the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel in a great location.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
This is my second visit and I loved it more than the first.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Edward M, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Mela and for taking the time to share your experience with the online community. We are thrilled that we provided a PERFECT experience and exceeded your expectations in all areas. We are thrilled that you loved this stay even more than the first! We will be sure to pass this message along to all of our team members. We do hope and trust this experience makes you a loyal guest of Hotel Mela whenever your travels bring you to NYC. Thanks again for your feedback and we wish you all the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plattsburgh, NY

Nice affordable hotel near Times Square

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Price, location, cleanliness
Cons: Add a mini-fridge and try to make walls or doors more sound-proof
Location: Hotel is near Times Square so there is plenty to do. We walked to the Empire State Building, Rockefeller Center for ice skating, Grand Central, etc.
The hotel is ideally located just a minute walk from Times Square and is very affordable. The room are very small, but small was expected. The rooms do not have mini-fridges, but other than that the room was very nice and clean. The bathroom was relatively large compared to the room and included nice shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap, shower cap, and blow dryer. Our only small complaint was that we could hear everything in the rooms we walked by and in the neighboring rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Edward M, Hotel Management
Hello, Thanks so much for your recent stay at Hotel Mela and for sharing your experience with the online community. While we would have loved to receive your feedback and learning about a very good and/or perfect experience, we do understand that shortfalls made your experience only average. We are very sorry that you found the room to be on the noisy side. Were you able to alert the front desk about this matter so that we could provide you with some alternative options and show you some other rooms? In turn, we are very pleased that you found the cleanliness was up to your standards. Our team works very hard to make sure that our guests feel comfortable and at home during their stay. In addition, Times Square is a great area to visit because there is so much to do in addition to it being centrally located in the city. We do hope and trust that your future travel plans to NYC do include Hotel Mela so we can truly demonstrate what a great hotel this is! Thanks again and all the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Great location

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: The location and that it was clean and maintained.
Cons: The window did not have a curtain that would totally close and block out the light.
Location: We went to the theater, took a subway to the museum and ate at one of the many nearby restaurants. The TKTS booth is around the corner.
We have stayed at the Hotel Mela several times and have never been disappointed. The location is excellent and is a short walk from Grand Central. The hotel staff are gracious and helpful and welcoming. Our room was small "Superior Queen" but adequate. The Bistro next door has excellent food for breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by Edward M, Hotel Management
Hello, Thanks so much for your recent stay at Hotel Mela and for sharing your experience with the online community. While we would have loved to receive your feedback and learning about a very good and/or perfect experience, we do understand that shortfalls made your experience only average. We are very sorry that you found the room to be on the noisy side. Were you able to alert the front desk about this matter so that we could provide you with some alternative options and show you some other rooms? In turn, we are very pleased that you found the cleanliness was up to your standards. Our team works very hard to make sure that our guests feel comfortable and at home during their stay. In addition, Times Square is a great area to visit because there is so much to do in addition to it being centrally located in the city. We do hope and trust that your future travel plans to NYC do include Hotel Mela so we can truly demonstrate what a great hotel this is! Thanks again and all the best!