Ratings based on 2,888 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: the location and accessibility is fantastic. And given how dated the room was, the bathroom wasn't as bad as I would have expected. Cons: everything else. The entire floor smelled like weed (yes, it was close to 4/20, but still, the people should get in trouble and they should ventilate the premises), the toilet made noise every three minutes, and the air conditioning unit was so loud that I couldn't sleep with it running, but it was too hot to sleep otherwise. The elevator was down one night, which meant walking up eight flights of stairs when I was really exhausted. (I knew the room was going to be small, so that isn't impacting my review) Maybe the "higher end" rooms are nicer, but if you're on a budget or traveling alone, I'd recommend going somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Nice neighborhood, good value.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Location, price, staff.
Cons: Get some decent pillows!
Location: Lots of nice little restaurants in the area. The 96th Street subway stop (1, 2, 3 trains) is a block away. Short walk to Central and Riverside parks
I've stayed at the Newton many times over the years. I've always loved the location (Upper West Side, a stone's throw from the subway), the friendly staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. By most New York standards, it's a bargain. The downside is the single tiny elevator to serve all eight floors. And this last time, the pillows in my room were truly awful. I can honestly say it was hard to get a good night's sleep with these dreadful pillowsl The hotel has invested in room upgrades recently, but should seriously replace the pillows!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK.

Ideal Hotel for a visit to New York

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Full of history and gets you into the New York way of life. Good value.
Cons: We were on 9th floor and sometimes the lift took its time to get there but no great shakes.
Location: Great location. Subway station opposite hotel which takes you everywhere.
Ideal for our family of 4 if you don't mind all sleeping in the one room. Kitchen and seating area handy and bathroom good. We would definitely stay again on our return visit to the big apple.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review about your stay. We do hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Have been staying at the Newton periodically for more than a decade -- it's always clean, pleasant, quiet. And given its location and its prices, it is literally the only place of its kind in New York City. I kind of want to keep how great they are to myself, lest it get too popular, and then I couldn't stay there anymore.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for your review and thank you for returning to us over the years. We do appreciate you choosing us over and over. We look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Close to my location , hard beds

Posted Apr 1, 2017
It was okay, I'm happy I got two queen beds because of the size of the room itself ..... the beds were really hard and you could hear the wind right through the walls .... could be a NYC hotel thing but I had an alright sleep because of it ..... also not many tv channelsto chose from and not enough outlets to charge my stuff .... maybe only two available, I had to unplug the lamps and their clock for more charging stations
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Your review is helpful in making the Hotel Newton better and we appreciate that. We do hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location. Nice Staff.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We got upgraded on arrival. Our room was actually a good size for NYC. The staff was nice and recommended places to eat nearby that were open even during the snow storm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your very nice review of the Hotel Newton. I'm happy that we were able to upgrade you and we do hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Broadway in Manhattan

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: value and location
Close to subway; rental bikes; central park; plenty of dining choices within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your helpful review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Conveniently placed hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Convenience and cleanliness
Cons: Stop charging for the poor wifi service
Location: Close to Central Park and all the attractions of Manhattan
Good hotel only two stops from Times Square on the subway. My only gripe is being made to pay for (unreliable) wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
thank you very much for your review and thank you for staying with us. I'm happy to announce that the wifi service has been recently improved.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Beware the perfume!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: While it is outdated and nothing fancy, is a clean, inexpensive bed well-located on the upper west side.
Cons: Use fragrance-free cleaning supplies.
Location: Right on Broadway, across the street from a major subway station. Lots of good restaurants, cafes in the area.
I had a petite single room. If not for my "upgrade" to a double bed, I would have had a twin. There is just barely enough room to walk between the bed and the desk, the bed and the dresser. I am not a chemically sensitive person, but the fragrance from the cleaning products they use is OVERWHELMING! Despite keeping my clothes either in my suitcase or hung in the closet, everything I had with me came home smelling of the fragrance. It was so strong, I could taste it! I asked housekeeping and the front desk to not use the products in my room after my first night. Their solution was to not clean the room at all, not make the bed, not empty the trash. They simply skipped my room. The hotel is very clean. My room was on the back side of the building, away from Broadway, and was as quiet as my home in a very residential neighborhood. The walls are extremely thin. My first night, there were people in the adjoining room talking and laughing (at a normal level) until almost 2 am, keeping me awake. That room was empty the next two nights and it was blissfully quiet. Front desk staff were not warm and friendly, but not unfriendly, and they were accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Hotel Newton and thank you for taking out the time to leave a review about your stay. I do apologize if you were sensitive to the scent of the cleaning supply in your room. I am happy to hear the front desk was able to give you a complimentary upgrade in an effort to make you more comfortable. Thank you again for staying with us and thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Option when family are in the hospital

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Location, charm, quiet
Cons: Beds could be a little softer
Location: The subway is on the corner, there's an abundance of restaurants and it's a $7 cab ride to Columbia University and Mt. Sinai hospital.
This is a really charming hotel that has been at this location for over 100 years. The building is solid and very quiet. We stayed 2 separate times over the past couple of weeks, one room in front and one in back and found both equally quiet. I can't say enough nice things about the staff. Simple things like extra towels or coffee to allowing us to store luggage while we spent a day at the hospital and our last minute need to extend the stay were quickly accommodated. As other reviews stated, the beds are very firm but I slept well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking out the time to leave a comment about your stay. We do love to be referred to as charming. We also love to see returning guests. Hope that you decide to stay with us again.