Ratings based on 2,901 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB, Canada

Ok hotel.

Posted May 23, 2017
Decent hotel, but too expensive. Staff not too helpful, but ok. Good location near subway and good diner next door.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review of The Newton. I do apologize if you found the staff to not be friendly. I do hope that the next time you're in New York that you give us another chance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
The Newton's she AFP was friendly and helpful. The room was clean but small. It just across the street from the 95 the street subway station making public transportation convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
thank you very much for your kind review of The Newton and thank you for deciding to stay with us. We hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kamloops

Great location.

Posted May 10, 2017
Older hotel but quite comfortable. Within a block of subway station. Quite a few decent restaurants within walking distance.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your informative review of the hotel and the location. We hope to see you the next time you're in New York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Nice hotel, conveniently located to subway

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location! And the staff was exceptional.
Location: 1 block from a subway station. Many restaurants nearby.
Hotel was clean and staff was exceptional. I needed a bandaid and the staff actually went to the pharmacy and purchased them when they realized they were all out. Our room was clean and suffiecient in size for our needs. The bathroom was also very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for taking time out of your day to let others know about your stay. I'm happy that you found us to be exceptional and accommodating. Thank you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017
very pleased & convenient, room was clean , the refrigerator & mic
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the hotel and thank you for staying with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: the location and accessibility is fantastic. And given how dated the room was, the bathroom wasn't as bad as I would have expected. Cons: everything else. The entire floor smelled like weed (yes, it was close to 4/20, but still, the people should get in trouble and they should ventilate the premises), the toilet made noise every three minutes, and the air conditioning unit was so loud that I couldn't sleep with it running, but it was too hot to sleep otherwise. The elevator was down one night, which meant walking up eight flights of stairs when I was really exhausted. (I knew the room was going to be small, so that isn't impacting my review) Maybe the "higher end" rooms are nicer, but if you're on a budget or traveling alone, I'd recommend going somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking out the time to leave a review about your stay. I do apologize that things did not go perfectly for you. I do hope that that next time you're in New York that you are comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Nice neighborhood, good value.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Location, price, staff.
Cons: Get some decent pillows!
Location: Lots of nice little restaurants in the area. The 96th Street subway stop (1, 2, 3 trains) is a block away. Short walk to Central and Riverside parks
I've stayed at the Newton many times over the years. I've always loved the location (Upper West Side, a stone's throw from the subway), the friendly staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. By most New York standards, it's a bargain. The downside is the single tiny elevator to serve all eight floors. And this last time, the pillows in my room were truly awful. I can honestly say it was hard to get a good night's sleep with these dreadful pillowsl The hotel has invested in room upgrades recently, but should seriously replace the pillows!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK.

Ideal Hotel for a visit to New York

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Full of history and gets you into the New York way of life. Good value.
Cons: We were on 9th floor and sometimes the lift took its time to get there but no great shakes.
Location: Great location. Subway station opposite hotel which takes you everywhere.
Ideal for our family of 4 if you don't mind all sleeping in the one room. Kitchen and seating area handy and bathroom good. We would definitely stay again on our return visit to the big apple.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review about your stay. We do hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Have been staying at the Newton periodically for more than a decade -- it's always clean, pleasant, quiet. And given its location and its prices, it is literally the only place of its kind in New York City. I kind of want to keep how great they are to myself, lest it get too popular, and then I couldn't stay there anymore.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for your review and thank you for returning to us over the years. We do appreciate you choosing us over and over. We look forward to seeing you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Close to my location , hard beds

Posted Apr 1, 2017
It was okay, I'm happy I got two queen beds because of the size of the room itself ..... the beds were really hard and you could hear the wind right through the walls .... could be a NYC hotel thing but I had an alright sleep because of it ..... also not many tv channelsto chose from and not enough outlets to charge my stuff .... maybe only two available, I had to unplug the lamps and their clock for more charging stations
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 3, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Your review is helpful in making the Hotel Newton better and we appreciate that. We do hope to see you again.