Ratings based on 1,275 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Beware the perfume!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: While it is outdated and nothing fancy, is a clean, inexpensive bed well-located on the upper west side.
Cons: Use fragrance-free cleaning supplies.
Location: Right on Broadway, across the street from a major subway station. Lots of good restaurants, cafes in the area.
I had a petite single room. If not for my "upgrade" to a double bed, I would have had a twin. There is just barely enough room to walk between the bed and the desk, the bed and the dresser. I am not a chemically sensitive person, but the fragrance from the cleaning products they use is OVERWHELMING! Despite keeping my clothes either in my suitcase or hung in the closet, everything I had with me came home smelling of the fragrance. It was so strong, I could taste it! I asked housekeeping and the front desk to not use the products in my room after my first night. Their solution was to not clean the room at all, not make the bed, not empty the trash. They simply skipped my room. The hotel is very clean. My room was on the back side of the building, away from Broadway, and was as quiet as my home in a very residential neighborhood. The walls are extremely thin. My first night, there were people in the adjoining room talking and laughing (at a normal level) until almost 2 am, keeping me awake. That room was empty the next two nights and it was blissfully quiet. Front desk staff were not warm and friendly, but not unfriendly, and they were accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Option when family are in the hospital

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Location, charm, quiet
Cons: Beds could be a little softer
Location: The subway is on the corner, there's an abundance of restaurants and it's a $7 cab ride to Columbia University and Mt. Sinai hospital.
This is a really charming hotel that has been at this location for over 100 years. The building is solid and very quiet. We stayed 2 separate times over the past couple of weeks, one room in front and one in back and found both equally quiet. I can't say enough nice things about the staff. Simple things like extra towels or coffee to allowing us to store luggage while we spent a day at the hospital and our last minute need to extend the stay were quickly accommodated. As other reviews stated, the beds are very firm but I slept well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking out the time to leave a comment about your stay. We do love to be referred to as charming. We also love to see returning guests. Hope that you decide to stay with us again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient but the room was real small

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Small size room hot water was an issue and wife claim she saw a roach
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
I do apologize if you had any issues while staying with us. we really do our best to make sure that all out guest are happy. I hope that you decided to speak to the front desk about this so that we could make you comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

It is not what they say it is.....

Posted Feb 2, 2017
I traveled from Florida to New York. We made a reservation based on the amenities, rating, and location. Being that it was in Manhattan, I figured there were certain standards to be held. We had the superior double bed room. When we got there, we were put in a room that was the size of my walk in closet at home. The ad also stated the rooms are climate controlled. The hotel is radiator heated and there are window AC units in SOME of the rooms. The first room they gave us did not have one. We had to be switched to another room that did, because the heat was suffocating without AC to offset. All in all, the rooms are not the size advertised. The rooms are not climate controlled. The only thing the staff said in reference to these things by the staff is that "we don't put up the ads...i just work here".
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad experience

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Elevator was out of service, you have to pay $5 for the very slow internet, room is less than average
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking out the time to leave a review about your stay. I do hope that you were made more comfortable once you spoke to the front desk about any issues that you may have had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ex-New Yorker

Very pleasant and great value.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Great value. Very pleasant hotel.
Cons: The elevator was on the blink more than once. No in-room safe. My room was small. That was ok, but chair or small table should be added.
Location: Great location. Near subway. Not far from Lincoln Center. Upper West Side great district, at least for me.
It's a nice place. Felt at home. Would stay there again!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing to stay at The Hotel Newton rather than any other hotel. I do hope that you decide to give us another chance the next time youre in New York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice Uptown Hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: It's nearness to subway and bus transportation.
Cons: For the price, it was clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. No suggestions for improvement.
Location: 1/2 block from express subway stop and cross-town buses. Good eats nearby and Museum Mile is just a 15-minute ride across the Park.
This is one of the few hotels we found toward the north end of Central Park (west side). Our friends booked an air.bnb. They were a 10-minute walk to the nearest subway stop; we were 1/2 a block. And it was an express stop, so you can get to Times Square in less than 10 minutes. The nearest bus line to get to the east side of Central Park (and the Museum Mile) was also just 1/2 a block away. There were also several nice places to eat--especially for breakfast. The hotel was very clean and, judging from the lobby photos, has been there for 80+ years. The room was small but considering it was cheaper than the air.bnb, to be expected. Ours had a bed, a desk and chair, a refrigerator, tv, and walk-in closet. It was all we wanted. They also have a luggage store room if you have a late flight or train on check-out day and want to use that last day for more sight seeing. We were also able to check in at noon instead of 3pm, but that may not be possible during the busy season. We were there in January.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to stores restaurants and public transportat

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Hotel a great economic choice for quick stays in manhatten
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by landry , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying at The Newton. We hope that the next time you're in New York, you decide to stay with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mediocre, but good location

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Location was perfect and close to major subway stations. Staff was pleasant as well. The bed was absolutly terrible. It was like sleeping on wood and the walls were thin so it was a bit noisy. No glitz ang glam, but a clean and affordable place for our one night stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of The Hotel Newton. I do apologize if you feel that your bed was a bit uncomfortable for your liking. I am happy to inform you that we offer a number of different beds that offer different levels of comfort. If you choose to stay with us again, we will be happy to find a room that is comfortable for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

In NYC, for the price, this cannot be beat!

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Clean, friendly and cheap!
Cons: If you want to watch TV, the selection is ok, but no movie channels.
Location: The location is OK, with subway a 1 minute walk away.
A nice area, 1/2 block from subway. Hotel is very, very clean. Nice staff. The bathroom was small, but more than fine. I had to shower at 4am to catch a train. The shower water was cold. (I imagine from no one using the water during the early morning hours.) Just let it run for a couple minutes and it is very hot! All was perfect! Try it!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by landry, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope that you decide to stay with us again.